Refer also to the general news reports.
The Mines and Miners of Oregon.
It is not, as a general thing, known by our citizens that Oregon has beyond question rich gold mines, and that there is a perfect gold fever pervading the whole community there, particularly that of the Willamette Valley. We are informed by Gen. McCarver, who has just arrived from Oregon, that at least one half of the people of the Territory have left the farms and towns and have gone or are going to the mines. These mines are but a continuation of the Californian mines. But little is known, it is true, with regard to the northern boundary line of the state, but wherever it lies, there can be no doubt that the mines of the South Fork of the Umpqua and those of Rogue River are in Oregon.
The streets of Oregon City and Portland are at the present time filled with pack animals and wagons which are continually loading up and pushing off for the mines. These towns present in their bustle and their general aspect at the present time very much the appearance of our Californian supply towns.
The miners on their way pass up the Willamette Valley to the dividing ridge between that and the Umpqua, over the ridge and down upon the South Fork of the Umpqua, or, keeping on, they cross the dividing ridge between the Umpqua and Rogue River valleys and so down on to Rogue River.
At the last advices there were at least a hundred wagons and several hundred miners waiting at the canyon between the Umpqua and Rogue River valleys, on account of the high water. So soon as the stream falls they will pass through.
Such is the feeling in relation to the Oregon mines that the Oregonian comes out in a leading article praying all Californians who have the interests of the Territory at heart to remain upon their farms. The argument it uses is after the style of the proverb "Money is the root of all evil." We imagine, however, if money is the root of all evil, the want of it is a pretty important branch thereof.
Sacramento Transcript, May 8, 1851, page 2
MINES OF OREGON. --The mines of the Umpqua Valley, Rogue River and the other gold mines of Oregon will doubtless have a prompt effect of throwing a heavy population into our neighboring Territory. The benefits that will result from this are great and obvious, for the various agricultural, manufacturing and mineral resources must inevitably be opened up as a result of the increased population. We notice that the Oregon weeklies are beginning to give mining intelligence. The Oregonian of May 3rd says:
"We have at length received late and reliable information from the mines, from which it is certain that those who are engaged in this important business are doing well--making from $8 to $12 per day--while some few are doing much better. Instances have occurred in which men have made $100--these, however, are like 'angel's visits, few and far between.'"
Sacramento Transcript, May 16, 1851, page 2
The Port Orford Gold Diggings.Daily Alta California, San Francisco, September 2, 1853, page 2
For the accuracy of the annexed statements we cannot vouch, the name of the author not accompanying the communication. If the writer furnishes this information for no interested purposes, and it certainly has the appearance of truth, it will be valuable to persons who may have projected a trip to the mines in question.
Messrs. Editors:--As statements in relation to the gold at Port Orford continue to appear in the papers, it may save those who cannot afford the expense of the price of passage there and back by describing things as they actually exist.
The writer returned from the above port on the steamer Columbia, and having resided there about a month, has had a good opportunity of understanding the capabilities of the place.
At the town of Port Orford there are only four or five available claims, and these are already taken up. Gold has been found at Hubbard's Creek, three-quarters of a mile distant. A company of six persons built a dam and turned the stream, but owing to the sandy nature of the soil they were unable to manage the water, and consequently have failed in taking out anything.
The principal diggings are thirty-five miles beyond Port Orford, and six miles above the Coquille River. Seven sluices were at work at the time of my visit, and several more in preparation. Some of these sluices were yielding two hundred dollars a day per man; others as low as thirty or forty dollars. The whole were supplied by one stream of water. The claims on either side of this stream were richest, and of course worked at least expense. The gold diminishes in proportion to the distance from the stream, and the expense of working increases, owing to the necessity of making ditches or troughs to conduct water to the sluices. In this vicinity "the color of gold" has been found several miles along the beach, but there is great scarcity of water. About twenty miners are settled there. They pack their provisions up from Port Orford, on mules, at a cost of ten cents per pound, which, added to the high prices charged at Port Orford, makes living very expensive. A few hired laborers were receiving one hundred and fifty dollars per month, "and found." Cowan Bay is fifteen miles further north, and it would be an advantage to the miners if goods could be landed there instead of at P.O., thus saving twenty miles of land carriage.
There are other diggings twenty miles below Port Orford, near the mouth of Rogue River. Until within two weeks there has been only one sluice at work there, belonging to a man named "French Joe." I retorted twenty ounces of gold for him, which he had "taken out" in nine days, a result so flattering as to cause several persons to go down, packing their provisions upon Indians, but they complain much of want of water, and were about to try the "Jenny Lind rocker," instead of sluices--with what success has not been heard.
A party had also gone out to search for placer diggings. They returned the day the steamer Columbia left, and if they found anything, were very silent about it.
Most of the miners who left San Francisco per Cecil and Thos. Hunt have been disappointed; some have returned. If any others intend going up, I should advise them to take their own provisions. The beach diggings will not be good for more than two months more, after which time the high tides prevent labor.
Yours respectfully, W.W.W.
At Crescent City there is new excitement about the "beach diggings" from the mouth of Rogue River to Port Orford. Big strikes are reported--from $25 to $100 per day, all out of the black sand. Quicksilver, is, of course, in great demand.
"Mining Intelligence," Sacramento Daily Union, October 22, 1853, page 2
JACKSONVILLE, OREGON.--A correspondent writes from this point that new diggings are being discovered on the right-hand fork of Jackson Creek. On the claim of Osborne & Co., among other specimens, one was found weighing 16½ ounces.
"Mining," Sacramento Daily Union, March 8, 1854, page 2
"Late and Interesting from Port Orford."
This is the caption of a letter from Port Orford to the San Francisco Sun, dated June 1st, and if one-half of it was true, there would be no other town between San Francisco and the mouth of the Columbia River. We extract the following paragraph to show how things may be exaggerated:
"Rich and extensive mines have been found on 'Galice Creek,' directly upon the trail which leads from this place to Jacksonville. There are now about six hundred men there, averaging from eight to ten dollars per day to the man, while some are making 'big strikes.' The distance from Port Orford to Galice Creek is about 75 miles, over a most excellent road. . . . The trail from Port Orford to Jacksonville is now completed--entire distance ninety-five miles. It is said to be the best trail on the coast leading to the interior."
Umpqua Weekly Gazette, Scottsburg, June 30, 1854, page 2
(CORRESPONDENCE OF THE HERALD.)
Mining Operations on Althouse Creek--Population, Etc.
ALTHOUSE CREEK, O.T., July 8, 1855.Messrs. Editors:--Having gathered of late a few items that may interest your readers relative to our mining prospects and the "4th's doings," I hazard the attempt of placing them together as material for publicity through your columns.
Mining operations for a few days past have been somewhat suspended in consequence of sports common upon the birthday of our independence, previous to which miners were generally doing a lucrative business, and had been for two months past. It is generally believed by old residents here that mining was never carried on with more tact and ability, nor with more success than at the present time. The water being low enables them to work the most difficult places in the bed of the stream, which usually pay the best and the most "human slugs" [sic].
The high banks, together with high points and several gulches which heretofore have been rejected, are now successfully worked, while almost every week we hear of other similar discoveries within our limits.
We have here a population of about 350 or 500 inhabitants, which were formerly from all parts of both the southern and northern mines, and all seem contented, and many are firmly resolved to take the "desperate chances"--while pursuing the miner's life--in this section of country.
"Deadwood Bar" at present seems to be paying the most regular and contains the most claims of any other bar upon the creek. I believe there are six companies upon this bar, and upon an average I may safely say they are making $10 per day to the hand. Many other places are paying much better, but as a general thing not so regular.
For next winter diggings the prospect is much more encouraging than it has been at any previous time and wages quite as high.
Crescent City Herald, July 25, 1855, page 1
(CORRESPONDENCE OF THE HERALD.)
ALTHOUSE CREEK, O.T., July 28, 1855.Messrs. Editors:--After reading the correspondence of "Gus" in your paper of the 25th ult., I write a few lines which you can use if you like. I have been at Althouse for nearly three years, and am as well posted in matters pertaining to Althouse mining as "Gus," and am well acquainted with every man on Deadwood Bar, and think that "Gus" has exaggerated one half in saying they are making ten dollars per day. As to "Gus" himself, I do not think he has made ten dollars in one day since the woods were burnt. There is no good derived in writing exaggerated accounts of miners doing well, and causing men who have three- or four-dollar diggings to leave them and come where there is no chance of getting a claim without paying more for it than it is worth. The number of men on this creek at this time does not exceed three hundred. Mining is carried on more systematically than ever done here before.
Crescent City Herald, August 8, 1855, page 2
(CORRESPONDENCE OF THE HERALD.)
The Exodus to the Colville Mines--Its Effects upon Present Prospects--
Mining on Althouse--Average Product, Half an Ounce to the Man--
The Sluice Rake--Crops &c.
ALTHOUSE CREEK, O.T., Aug. 5, 1855.Messrs. Editors:--There is considerable talk over the Fort Colville mines, and in some instances men have acted upon the newspaper reports and set out for $100 per day via the Willamette Valley. Others, amongst them some of our best miners, have left, as is supposed on private information received. A great many more intend to go if the news holds out a little longer, and it is most surprising to notice the changes which has taken place in public opinion as to the extent and value of our own diggings for next winter.
It appears that fashion or excitement rules opinion, because nothing is changed in reality, and still, even I myself think that our diggings will be limited next winter compared with what I thought on a previous occasion. Where I had calculated the gold would be found, on high points and underslides, parallel with which gold to the amount of what is termed the lead has never been found, will not in consequence of this excitement be prospected by those who knew the run of the diggings, and upon whose continued stay I had built my castle of "never give out," &c. So much for mining prophecies, when a little general news almost depopulates a thrifty place. In your own little journey of occurrences I have found accounts of mining operations where I was best posted exaggerated one-half, but then for the credit of our creek I would say that with the one-half it was doing well. Now if we are equally liberal towards these reports from Oregon and calculate the exaggeration as the news has passed from Tom, Dick and Harry to the editors it may not be so much after all. From information derived from two men who left the Willamette on the 1st inst., I am inclined to receive the big strike part of the news with great allowance, though $100 per day might be made on the exposed part of the bedrock on high bars with a butcher's knife, and yet the diggings not be so wonderfully rich. One of those gentlemen who has been in the mines since '48 told me that he knew a man who had found gold there in '49 on a creek called Goose, this side of Fort Hall, to the amount of 75 cents which he saw was got in three or four pans; more perhaps was prospected without finding anything, as his company were camped there two days. These mines then were known before and had they been as rich as represented they would not have been left over until now.
Miners are doing extremely well here at present, the production averaging one-half ounce per day at the last calculation, minimum $5, maximum $20; wages $70 to $80 per month and found and inquiry for bands [sic].
I believe that I am the first man here who has used an imported rake in ground sluicing and so far find it is a great advantage, but the article would be more suitable if heavier and stronger, with teeth as at present on one side and half as coarse again on the other, and sufficiently strong that one tooth would stand a stout man's pull. If the manufacturers in the eastern states would send such an article they would be more generally used.
The crops in the Illinois and Sucker valleys have turned out small, the streams not having afforded water sufficient for irrigation, and most farmers have come to the conclusion that nearly all the crops will have to be sown in the fall to make the business pay--volunteer production alongside of spring planting showing a great advantage.
Corresponding has become easy to most of the miners in this neighborhood, through the indefatigable zeal of Messrs. Galbraith and Stone who call at our cabins with, and for, letters which enables us to save much time and expense, compared with the old plan via Jacksonville and trading post.
Yours, respectfully, G. T.
Crescent City Herald, August 15, 1855, page 2
MINING NEWS.--Mr. Hart, to whom we are obliged for a copy of the Jacksonville Sentinel, January 19th, informs us that on the week previous to his leaving, three men took out of a claim on Sucker Creek, known as "Old Man Nat's Claim," $1000 in one day. On a fork of Sucker Creek, called Greenhorn, new diggings have been struck. It is also rumored that "the lost cabin" has again been found by a party, who only await spring for active operations. At Sailor Diggings the dirt pays better than ever, and close to us, in the redwoods, some 40 miners are doing very well. All that is needed for a propitious season is security from the depredations of the Indians, and this we hope will be afforded by the military now in this country.
Crescent City Herald, February 6, 1856, page 2
JACKSONVILLE DIGGINGS.--The miners in the Jacksonville diggings and vicinity have been making good wages and have a prospect of doing well, if it ever rains again. Many of the miners, having stripped their claims to the wash dirt, are anxiously waiting for rain. Some six miles from Jacksonville, near the Willow Springs Ranch, Jim Jones and Smith, his partner, have struck good diggings and have been taking out the filthy lucre at the rate of from ten to twenty dollars per day. Mr. Jones informed us on yesterday that as they progressed the diggings have paid better than at first, and that he had no fears but that they would continue to pay as long as water lasted.
Table Rock Sentinel, Jacksonville, March 22, 1856, page 2
NEW DIGGINGS.--Considerable excitement has prevailed at Sterling and vicinity for the last three or four days, on account of rich gold diggings being discovered some five or six miles above Star Gulch, on Applegate. We are informed that some three men, while prospecting a few days ago, struck a rich prospect, taking out some hundred dollars in a few hours. Many of the miners at Sterling have taken their tools and struck out for the new diggings, regardless of the Indian difficulties. It is supposed that the new diggings are rich and extensive.
Table Rock Sentinel, Jacksonville, March 22, 1856, page 3
DIGGINGS AT STERLING.--Those having water to work their gold claims at Sterling are doing remarkably well. The claims at Sterling pay well when they can get water to work them. There is no diggings in Southern Oregon that will pay better than those at Sterling, when the water ditch company succeed in bringing the water from Applegate.
Table Rock Sentinel, Jacksonville, March 22, 1856, page 3
MINING NEWS.--Within the last ten days, the miners on the left-hand fork of Jackson Creek have been making new and rich discoveries. The deposits yield from one to two hundred dollars per day to the hand. We have heard men say that in some places a thousand dollars to the hand could be taken out. The new discoveries are on the flat, on the left-hand fork, and easily worked. At present the water is not very plenty.
STERLING MINES.--The prospectors at Sterling have made some good strikes in the flat where the town stands, and miners are sinking shafts and literally undermining the town. It is only from 15 to 20 feet to the bedrock and pays well. This new discovery will add much to the prosperity of the miners, as well as the whole country.
Table Rock Sentinel, Jacksonville, May 24, 1856, page 2
AN OREGON NUGGET.--We were shown a letter the other day from Mr. Cohen, written to his partner, Mr. Simonsfeld, of this city, from Althouse Creek, O.T., in which he states that a sixty-four-ounce nugget was taken out of a claim opposite their store on that creek a few days since. This is, we believe, the largest nugget ever found in Oregon. The company also took some four or five ounces out of their claim on the same day besides the lump. As that section of country is now secure from Indian depredations, we may expect to hear of some other handsome strikes being made this summer.
Crescent City Herald, June 4, 1856, page 2
MINING.--One day this week we visited the rich claims on the flat, on the left-hand fork of Jackson Creek. Clark, Overbeck & Co.--five men--took out over 10 ounces in the forenoon, and confidently expected to take out a pound in the afternoon. The claims of Miller, Pinkham & Co., B. Overbeck & Co., and Alcorn & Co. are all paying about as well as the first named. Three of the above companies have each taken out three pounds of gold dust in one day. Many other claims in that vicinity are paying well--from five dollars to an ounce to the hand.
"Later from Oregon," Sacramento Daily Union, August 1, 1856, page 2
THE CHINESE IN THE MINES.--We are informed that from one to two thousand Chinamen are mining on a small creek on the Table Rock Reservation, some two or three miles from the Big Bar on Rogue River. Our informant says they are doing well, washing with the cradle in many places from eight to ten dollars a day to the hand.
There is good diggings on the creek or in the neighborhood. Several miners done well there as early as 1852, since which time little or nothing has been done at mining on the reserve.
JACKSON CREEK.--The miners on Jackson Creek and vicinity are doing well, many of them taking out from two to three ounces a day to the hand. Those who have sunk shafts and drifted on the bedrock, as a general thing, find gold in considerable quantities.
STERLING.--Where water can be had to wash with, at Sterling, the miners are doing very well. Many are drifting and stacking up the dirt until the water comes. As soon as it rains gold will be washed out in great abundance at Sterling. We have seen and conversed with some of the returned party who have been down Rogue River and in the vicinity of the coast. They report that on Galice Creek the miners are doing well, perhaps better than at any former period since the mines have been worked on that creek.
WHISKY CREEK.--We understand this creek is all claimed, as also the gulches making into it, but our informant could not say how well they were doing. From the extent of the claims the natural inference would be that it paid well.
JOHN MULE CREEK.--The gold is coarse, and those having experience say that the prospects are good, yet the prospecting jury only prospected near the surface, and but temporarily.
MEADOWS.--Gold was found and justifies the party in saying that in some places it will pay ten dollars a day to the hand--generally found on the bars in the rivers--the gold heavy and of the best quality.
BIG BEND OF ROGUE RIVER.--The prospects good and coarse gold. The impression of those prospecting is that good diggings will be found in the vicinity of the Big Bend.
ILLINOIS.--At the mouth of Illinois River but slightly prospected. A few miles up the river the miners are doing well when they can work. Many good claims are laying without being worked on account of the Indians, as there are quite a number of hostile Indians in that neighborhood of Old John's band, who have not made peace.
"Later from Oregon," Sacramento Daily Union, August 23, 1856, page 2
DITCH ENTERPRISE IN OREGON.--From the Oregon Sentinel, of the 23rd ult., we learn that a mass meeting of the citizens of Rogue River Valley is to be held at Jacksonville, on the 6th inst., for the purpose of making an energetic move towards bringing the waters of Applegate to the Sterling and Jacksonville mines. The Sentinel thinks there is no other question of so great importance to the whole population of Jackson County as that of procuring a supply of water to miners throughout the year. It has long been well known that the mines near Jacksonville and Sterling are rich and extensive, but the absence of water has prevented their being worked except a short portion of the year. If the proposed enterprise succeeds, it will open a new era of prosperity for Jackson County.--Yreka Union.
Daily Alta California, San Francisco, February 4, 1858, page
The mines on Jackson Creek still continue to yield a fair compensation to the industrious miner. During the past week we have conversed with several of the miners from Jackson Creek, and all say that their claims are paying well.
Sterling diggings, as usual, pay well when there is water, and the miners are busily engaged while the water lasts in washing out the "filthy lucre," and it is our wish that they be furnished with pockets full of the "stuff."
From all the mining districts there is good report. Jackass, Poorman's Creek, Applegate, Evans Creek and particularly the diggings lately discovered west of the Willow Spring ranch.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, April 24, 1858, page 2
Mining News.The mines on Rogue River, Evans, Jackson, Jackass and Poor Man's creeks are paying well. At no former time has the prospect of obtaining gold been more flattering than at present. While it has been almost continuously raining in the valley it has been snowing on the hills and mountains, which will afford water for mining purposes till late in the season, and come on so regular from the melting of the snow as to afford the necessary water, and not stop work by having too much.
STERLING.--These mines, we are informed, are paying well. In fact, the news from all mining localities is good. It is to be hoped that the company who are concerned in the Sterling and Jacksonville Water Ditch may successfully complete their undertaking, which, when done, will afford work for thousands of hands and produce millions of gold annually. Every mile of the ditch from Sterling to Jackson is rich in gold, and only requires the water to work it out.
APPLEGATE.--Col. Keeler visited our office one day this week and informed us that the mines on Applegate were paying well, that at no former time has the prospect of washing out gold been so good as at the present. In many places where the Chinamen have ground sluiced the "dirt," they are panning out from $10 to $16 a day. The mines on Applegate are just beginning to pay well. Messrs. Keeler & Fowler, to whom the charters for water ditches were granted at the late session of the Legislative Assembly, have so far completed their ditches as to afford water to all the mining localities on Applegate which are now being worked below where they tap the river.
COFFEE CREEK AND CANYONVILLE DIGGINGS.--Our information from these diggings is good; some fifty men are at work on Coffee Creek, and making lots of the filthy lucre. These diggings bid fair to rival those of Jacksonville; they were only discovered late last fall and have, when worked, paid well. On account of the great quantity of snow in the mountains, prospecting has been confined to the low country, and but limited; yet we are almost certain that good and extensive diggings will be found in the spring. The Canyonville diggings pay regular and fine wages.
WILLOW SPRINGS MINES.--These diggings have been worked in 1852, and in many places paid well, but at no former time have they paid as they have done the present winter. It is truly astonishing to see the great amount of work that has been done at these diggings, for all of which the miners have received good pay.
SAILOR DIGGINGS.--Reports are flattering; in fact, many say that it reminds them of the days of '49 and '50 to go to Sailor Diggings. The town has improved to be almost a city; business good; everything lively, and has the appearance of goaheadativeness, all from the success of the honest and industrious miners; these diggings pay well.
ALTHOUSE AND SUCKER CREEKS continue to afford employment for a great many miners; in fact, as many if not more than at any former period, and all appear to be doing well.
GALICE CREEK AND FROM ROGUE RIVER.--Our information from these diggings is good; the miners are doing well, and will without doubt be able to continue to do well until late in the season.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, February 19, 1859, page 2
MINING NEWS.--From all our mining localities the news are flattering. The industrious miner has never had better opportunities than the present season to be richly rewarded for his labor. The supply of water and the prospect of its continuance warrants the belief that the mines will be more thoroughly worked than any former year since their discovery. The price of provisions, though comparatively high, are still more regular than heretofore. The severe winter which has made beef tough and poor is about passing off. When the roads become passable, the price of bacon will fall below 30 cents per lb., and butter will be obtained at fairer prices. Our country is still safe, unless winter shall continue three or four months longer.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, February 26, 1859, page 2
The reports from all mining districts are good. Recent news from Williams Creek places that among the very best of diggings. We are told that our old friend J. Layton is taking out about one ounce per day to the hand, and extensive preparations are being made to make this locality pay well. At this place, they have perhaps an advantage over all other gold diggings, that is they can get water at all times at comparatively small expense.
Sterling, as usual, continues to pay well, and those who have remained upon their claims will now reap their harvest, for the prospect of water is better than since the diggings were discovered.
Jackass Creek, Poor Mans Creek and Applegate still continue to pay well.
Willow Springs diggings are paying better than heretofore. In fact, these diggings, whenever water can be had, will pay better as a general thing than any in the country.
Evans Creek and Rogue River pay good wages.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, March 12, 1859, page 2
LETTER FROM SOUTHERN OREGON.
The New Gold Discoveries.
Jacksonville, Southern Oregon,
February 14, 1860.Our usually quiet community was recently thrown on its beam ends by a tremendous quartz furore; mortars and pestles discourse discordant, but yet sweet, financial considered, music from early morn till 10 o'clock at night, prospecting quartz and washing specimens.
The Quartz Era.Some five weeks ago, Mr. Charles Hicks, while prospecting at the head of Posey Gulch, on the south fork of Jackson Creek, some two miles back of town, found a quartz lead which prospected very well, and, by the way, the fact may be noted that then and there dawned the quartz era in Southern Oregon.
Mr. Hicks' prospect induced him to pitch into the lead with commendable energy, followed by magical results, thick and fraught to the last degree with the lever that rotates and agitates the human family, niggers included--glittering gold. Hicks brought down some specimens, and exhibited them to the boys, when the excitement became somewhat intense, and the lead being nearby, the entire town turned out to have a sight. Charles did the honors, much to the credit of the Cherokee Nation, of which he is a member, from one of the first families. It is estimated that he paid out some $500 worth of specimens, on application to his bank of quartz. One of Charley's friends wished to take the pick and dig some in the vein; C. told him to go in; he did so, and at every stroke of the pick he would unearth and increase the metallic currency of the world at the modest rate of $500; when, much excited, he called to the crowd, "No use for the mint, boys; here it is with the eagles already on 'em."
Hicks has already hammered out several thousand dollars with a mortar and pestle. His brother, a partner in the claim, sold out his interest for $5,00 a few days after finding it. The company is now Hicks & Taylor, who own 100 yards on the lead. They have put up an arrastra, and so soon as they get a face on the lead will test its richness and extent before sending for machinery. The effect of this discovery has been electric. Every quartz lead on Hicks' Mountain, whether positive or negative, was staked off. Hicks' lead was traced out some distance, and prospected well. Ten miles south of here, a lead has been found that will pay fifteen cents to the pound; another, twenty miles south, at Williamsburg, that will pay over twenty cents; also, one at the Willow Springs, six miles north of town, said to prospect thirty cents; and still another, at Blackwell Diggings, two miles further north, called the Moran lead, which is very rich, prospecting in the flat where it crops out one dollar to the pound; the two latter claims are supposed to be on the Hicks lead.
More Quartz.One discovery leads to another; developments thicken around us. Quartz has seized the entire public, no time to study politics, or even to read the President's Message. In passing notes, and on reflection, since the Hicks discovery, several men have recollected picking up pieces of quartz with gold in them plain to be seen while riding over the hills and mountains. Among the number was Jimmy Hay, who, while hunting cattle some time ago, on a mountain two miles below old Fort Lane, on Rogue River, dismounted from his mule to fix his saddle, when, by the merest chance he picked up a piece of quartz, mounted his mule and started, whistling, down the mountain after the cattle; on looking at the piece of quartz he found, to his surprise, it contained gold, visible to the eye, almost in the dark. But, strange to say, he went on, never thinking, perhaps, of a quartz lead. But since the Hicks discovery, Mr. Hay, Mr. George Ish and the Emigrant started out to find the place; after hunting some three days, they found the gulch on the east side of the mountain next [to] the river, with fragments of quartz scattered along on the surface, which they followed up the mountain, occasionally picking up a specimen, until they arrived nearly at the summit, where the lead crops out; here they dug up a few quartz boulders, broke them up, and then sat down amazed, ready to believe the hard yarns of Munchausen, or the fictions of Arabia. That evening, Jan. 13th, Jimmy Hay and Mr. Geo. Ish came to town, informed two of their discovery, then went to the Clerk's office and recorded five claims--three hundred yards on the lead; they then reported to the public their discovery of a mountain of gold, with a little quartz mixed with it, and proceeded to show specimens to substantiate the report.
On the Rush.In the autumn of 1848, being on the wing for St. Louis, when, as will happen in the voyage of life, we had to wait for the boat--not the wagon--at Hannibal, a pork and tobacco depot on the Mississippi River, in a corner of the state of Missouri. Now, most everybody knows how nervous people suffer while waiting for a boat--we suffered ourselves to make a tour of the Whole Hog Exchange while puffing rolled samples from the tobacco marts, merely to kill time; we soon voted the boat slow; we adjourned to the hotel for a consultation with spirits concerning the health of the boat's boilers, etc. We found a crowd--heard a buzz--somebody said gold, and we, of course, being mortal, became interested. Then we heard California--rich gold mines, and so on--and became excited--we concluded to mix with that crowd; saw some specimens; forgot the boat, she was too slow. We have been mixing with similar crowds ever since. That evening we commenced rushing westward for California--rushed to Gold Lake, Gold Bluff, Gold Beach, Australia, Peru, Colville, Fraser River, etc., but the most simultaneous get-up-and-bundle-out-to-diggings we ever saw was the rush to Gold Hill the other day. At midnight every stable in town was empty; everything that had wheels had a full freight. Saturday morning, Jan. 14th, Gold Hill looked like an overgrown camp meeting; horses were hitched to trees all round the glittering garden of gold. Like turkeys picking up corn did they pick up rocks loaded with gold.
Gold Hillis a very respectable mountain, sitting off by itself to the northwards of the Blackwell Hills, to which it is related by a low divide; Rogue River, from the east, strikes this divide, makes a bend to the north of Gold Hill, washing three-fourths of its base. The Blackwell Hills are an isolated bunch, left by accident, in the middle of Rogue River Valley. The lead, running nearly north and south, splits these hills, striking the golden peak about three hundred yards east of the summit; here it crops out, and in the course of ages debris quartz rolled down the hill in a gulch at [a] right angle from the ledge; here the crowd picked up about $5,000 worth of specimens, the result of the first day's work. Next day, Sunday, the census of the county could have been taken without much trouble, as everybody was at Gold Hill; the result was about the same; the surface dirt was dug up somewhat like a potato patch just harvested, and boulders of quartz found containing from $10 to $142 each of virgin ore. The crowd have been working on the public potato patch ever since, but specimens are growing scarce.
But the Leadfrom the way it opens is said to be the richest one in the world. Where it cropped out, the company have picked up about three tons of quartz that will average $10 per pound. Two of the discoverers, Jimmy Hay, and the Emigrants sold out within a week after finding it. Jimmy got $4,000 for his interest; the other got $5,000. This company now consists of Mr. Geo. Ish, Thomas Cavanaugh, Jack Long, John Ross & Co., one-fifth, and McLaughlin, Williams & Co. one -fifth. The company have organized, electing Mr. John Ross president, Mr. Geo. Ish secretary and Messrs. Maury & Davis, merchants of this place, treasurers. They have put up an arrastra, and next week will be grinding out gold. Quite a number of claims have been recorded on this, the Ish Lead, but it will take some time to uncover and trace them out.
There is now no doubt of the immense value of our quartz resources, but it will take a year or two to develop them. A gentleman explains the richness of the Ish lead thus: That this country is out of the range of volcanoes, earthquakes, lightning, subterranean fires &c., and hence not burned up so much as California and other portions of the world; so that the gold in the Ish Lead quartz had been permitted to grow free from heat ever since the world was made. He may be right. From the discoveries being made from day to day, there will probably be a heavy demand on your city for quartz machinery this summer.
Washington Monument.Mr. R. F. Maury, of this place, has forwarded to your city lapidaries a quartz specimen from the Ish Lead, Gold Hill, to be cut and lettered with the words: "Jackson Company [sic], Oregon," on the face of it, which is to be sent to the Washington Monument Association. [If created at all, the stone was apparently never installed in the monument.]
Sharesof one-fifth in the Ish Company could not be bought for $20,000 today, as they have no disposition to sell so long as they have $4,000 or $5,000 in sight. They have sunk down on the ledge some five feet, and it grows richer. How long it will continue to pay thus nobody knows, but it is to be hoped they may take out millions.
Rain.Up to this time we have been unfortunate enough to be blessed with the most delightful summer weather; the creeks are nearly dry; mining, per consequence, is a dry business. We have no ditches in the country. Under this pressure the discovery of rich quartz was an opportune windfall--a godsend.
New Diggings.Last Sunday new diggings were discovered on Wagner Creek, fifteen miles southeast of this place, causing quite an excitement. Seven miles of the creek is now staked off. It is to be hoped they prove good.
The best diggings that have been found lately, with plenty of water to work them, are on the upper branches of Applegate River, near the Siskiyou Mountain, thirty miles south of here. Twenty-five miles of one branch will pay good wages. Some of the claims are now averaging $50 per day. There is a rush commencing up that way.
The Mails.We have none up this way at present, as our mail contractor dried up for want of funds. Other parties are, however, about to take the route who have bottom enough to stand the press.
If Congress will not organize and pass the appropriation bills, we can form a little government of our own here on the Pacific, do our own legislation, manufacture our own goods, and dig up our own gold. The great American Republic has got negro wool in its eyes, and is fast going the same road that old Rome traveled, which led to the seaport called Decay, but any port in a storm. We hope, however, she will keep her wings spread on the sea of Progress, and anchor in the harbor of Eternal Empire, and send along her mails.
May she long flutter.
ON THE WING.Daily Alta California, San Francisco, February 26, 1860, page 1
News from Jacksonville, Oregon, says seventy-five thousand dollars worth of rock was taken out on the fifth Saturday from the Ish claim.
On Jackass Creek, a party of Frenchmen and Chinamen quarreled about a mining ditch. A fight ensued with shovels, picks, bars, rocks etc., which resulted in two of the Frenchmen being badly wounded--one is likely to die; also, two Chinamen badly hurt. On Monday a party of Frenchmen repaired to the scene and demolished their cabins, tents etc.
"By the Northern Telegraph Line," Sacramento Daily Union, March 7, 1860, page 2
In Southern Oregon, in the vicinity of Jacksonville, a number of very rich quartz leads were discovered in the early part of the year. The reports as to the richness of the Ish claim for many months equaled anything ever said of our best California leads. Accounts within the last month, however, represent that the lead was lost, and operations were no longer very profitable. Other claims in the vicinity were still being worked with great success.
"Annual Review of the Mining Interests of California," The Mining Magazine, April 1861, page 137
FLUMING ON ROGUE RIVER.--Two companies comprising some twenty-five men are now actively engaged in turning Rogue River from its natural course at Long Bar and Big Bar, for the purpose of working the bed of the stream. A canal is being cut along the Gold Hill side, and those engaged in digging it have found very good prospects. An embankment will be built up against the stream, forcing the water into the canal, and the work is being pushed forward with much energy. They intend erecting two dams across the river, at a distance of about one mile apart. It is quite an extensive undertaking, and will keep the companies hard at it all summer, and probably may not be able this season to operate largely in the river bed; however, the work has been commenced at a more favorable season than might be afforded for years to come, as the recently dry winter has rendered the body of water much lighter than usual.--Jacksonville Sentinel.
San Francisco Bulletin, April 27, 1860, page 2
RIVER MINING.--Two companies, comprising some twenty-five men, says the Marysville Express, are now actively engaged in turning Rogue River from its natural course, at Long Bar and Big Bar, for the purpose of working the bed of the stream.
Sacramento Daily Union, April 30, 1860, page 3
MINING ENTERPRISE ON ROGUE RIVER.--Some mining operations are now going on at Big Bar and Big Bend, Rogue River, which the Jacksonville Sentinel notices at length. The stream is being turned from its natural channel in two places, for the purpose of affording the companies engaged in the work mining facilities in the bed and along the banks of the river. There are two companies employed in this enterprise, one headed by N. Pickle, the other by D. F. Fisher and V. S. Ralls. The first is a stock company of thirty shares, fifteen of which are represented by laboring owners, and the remaining fifteen by persons who furnish capital. The shares are rated at $250 each, cash, as required in the prosecution of the work. Anderson & Glenn own several shares in the enterprise, and the balance are held by good, reliable persons. The other company consists of eight working partners, among whom are Fisher, Ralls, Maltby, Bledsoe and Bruce. It is confidently believed that these enterprises will pay handsomely, if not extravagantly. Several have, ever since '51-2, mined some little along the river banks in the vicinity of Big Bar--some with very indifferent mining appliances--and all of them made good, some of them first-rate, wages.
San Francisco Bulletin, May 22, 1860, page 3
MINING IN SOUTHERN OREGON.--We extract from the Jacksonville Sentinel, of August 25th, the annexed mining news:
The quartz lodes on Applegate are developing very richly. On Tuesday we were shown ninety-seven ounces of gold, the product of twenty-two tons of quartz rock crushed in an arrastra, taken from the claim owned in part by W. W. Fowler, of Applegate.
The Gold Hill Company have again suspended operations for awhile at the hill. The lode will, meantime, be further prospected. The company have now out between five and six hundred tons of quartz rock, and will not resume operations at the hill until most of this is crushed. The steam mill is kept busy night and day.
The Blackwell lode is worked steadily. The main shaft is sunk to a good depth, and the rock taken from it promises to pay fairly.
The Jackson Creek Company's mill is nearly ready for crushing. The quartz on hand promises to pay handsomely, and the lode seems exhaustless.
The great damming operations at Big Bar are progressing. On Wednesday a slight accident occurred at the upper works, which will delay the completion of the enterprise another week, probably.
Sacramento Union, August 31, 1860, page 3
Mining in Southern Oregon.
The Jacksonville (Southern Oregon) Sentinel of the 27th July remarks: The product of the mines of Southern Oregon appears at present to be sensibly interfered with from various causes, the principal of which is no doubt the scarcity of water, and the departures to the Nez Perce mines, the first beyond question producing the second. While we have in this and Josephine counties, as well as in Umpqua, extensive placer mines already known to be paying diggings, as well as a large area of country in the gold range unexplored, we must say that from the scarcity of water they are comparatively profitless during the summer months; though there is [an] abundance of water on Applegate and its tributaries, Rogue River and its tributaries, for the working of which the present is the most favorable season of the year to give profitable employment to twice the number of men now engaged in mining in Jackson County. In Josephine, as a general thing, they are better supplied with water. At Sailor Diggings, Althouse, Cañon Creek and Williams Creek, industrious men have already met with fair success. Galice Creek and lower Rogue River also give good returns to all who follow mining strictly. At the last-named place Witt & Bros.' ditch, most of the water from which they use in their own mining operations, is yielding a good return for labor and investment. In Jackson County, though there is but little water available, aside from the living streams of Rogue River, Applegate and their tributaries, at Buncom, from the waters of upper Applegate, the ditches of Proctor & Co., Gallagher & Co., Spicer & Co. and W. W. Fowler, on the main Applegate, there is a good supply of water at cheap rates, with an abundance of fair diggings, from which any man working attentively and with economy will get a fair reward for his labor. The Gasburg mines are nearly idle at present, from want of water, though they have paid handsomely, some claims extravagantly, when they had the water to work them.
From our own knowledge of the mines of Southern Oregon, anyone without the help of a combination of labor or capital can obtain better return for his labor here than in any section of country on the coasts, while for capitalists it offers great inducements in the construction of ditches and the development of our quartz lodes, some of which, aside from the Applegate Lode of Fowler & Co., which has always paid rich, are prospecting well. Months and even years of perseverance and economy are now required to accumulate what was sometimes acquired in a week in mining in early times. One remove frequently consumes the proceeds of a year's successful mining.
While we would be glad to hear of good mines from one extent of the coast to the other, we would caution all who are thinking of making a change of location, that while they are making wages they had better stick to it, or even add something to their exertions in prospecting and developing the resources of their immediate neighborhood, especially where known, as this is, to be a good mining district, than follow the usual summer excitements--for experience proves that in nine cases out of ten, all such experiments are time and expenses out.
San Francisco Bulletin, August 7, 1861, page 3
HILL MINING.--As we intimated, last week, a mining company has been formed at this place to thoroughly prospect the hills around Jacksonville. The following are the officers of said company: President, Wm. Hoffman; secretary, M. A. Elder; treasurer, James T. Glenn. Messrs. Wm. A. Johnson, Thomas Ord and George P. Funk were elected executive committee. W. C. Hitchcock was appointed superintendent. Any information on the subject can be obtained from the officers.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, August 2, 1862, page 3
An experienced and successful miner belonging to the Joint Stock Mining Company recently formed in this town hands us the following communication for publication. We insert it with pleasure:
MR. EDITOR: By proceedings of the J.S. Mining Company, you will be informed that they believe in the existence of "hill channels" in this vicinity, similar to those so well known throughout California. I think that a critical examination of the surrounding hills will fully establish the truth of the proposition. Being one of the first, in 1852, when hill mining was in its infancy, to examine this subject, allow me, through the medium of your paper, to give to the miners of Jackson County my experience in finding and working these peculiar mines. Throughout California you will find the hills covered with smooth rock, showing that, in some indefinitely past time, large bodies of water must have acted upon them. The question arises, was it the water of rivers or of the ocean which has produced this effect? Accident discovered to me, in 1852, while mining near Iowa Hill, that the different hill mines there discovered were all on a level--hence I came to the conclusion that those channels, running through the hills of California, were made by the ocean. I prospected to this theory, and was successful. Probably the best illustration of my theory on this subject would be to imagine that the ocean had receded from Gold Beach and Port Orford, and let them high and dry. The same indications would present themselves, a thousand years from this time, along those places, as now exist in our hills, and the bars and channels thus exposed would all be on a level, or nearly so.
The Joint Stock Mining Company have started in a laudable undertaking, and should they succeed in finding rich deposits in Union Hill (That's the kind of hill that generally pays.--Ed. Sentinel), it will give impetus to prospecting, direct the attention of capitalists to our beautiful valley, and the waters of Klamath or Applegate will soon be brought in, in well-constructed ditches and flumes, to supply the hardy miners on both sides of the Siskiyou Mountains, and towns and villages will spring up, as if by magic, where at present there is no vestige of civilization.
Yours,All right, go ahead; we want to see that magic worked out.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, August 2, 1862, page 3
NEW MINES IN SOUTHERN OREGON.--We obtain the following from the Southern Oregon Press, published at Jacksonville:
The reports from the new gold regions recently discovered in the northern part of this county continue of the most flattering character. That our readers may be better "posted" in the matter, we will briefly state how the discovery was made. It seems that a German, named Wines, who lived for a short time last summer with Mr. B. W. Griffin, near this place, started in, last fall, to prospect on Jump-Off Joe Creek. He commenced operations higher up the creek than work had ever been done before, and was rewarded for his enterprise by finding that the higher up he went the better the prospects were, till, having struck diggings that would warrant working, without wasting any more time, he commenced operations with a rocker, and the result was so satisfactory that he determined to stick to it. He built a cabin, came to town and laid in a stock of provisions, and after informing Mr. Griffin's family and other acquaintances of his success, started back. Little attention was paid to the reports he made until recently, when it was found out that he had quite a "good thing." A week or two ago several miners from the neighborhood and Mr. Sexton went up and located claims above and below that of Mr. Wines. It seems that Mr. Sexton sank a small hole on his, immediately below that of Mr. Wines, and out of this hole he panned a piece weighing $13, besides several dollars in fine gold. Mr. Wines is said to have rocked out some twenty-six ounces during the winter, only a very small cut on his claim having been worked. The location of these mines is about twelve miles above where the stage road crosses Jump-Off Joe Creek. The formation is a sort of marshy basin, or bar in the creek, the extent of which is not accurately known, but is variously estimated at from four to seven miles long. Claims have been located for about a mile along the basin, despite the great depth of snow covering the ground from three to six feet--in all of which large prospects have been had--fully sufficient, it is reported, to warrant the assumption that they will prove good "ounce diggings." If this is so, and the region should prove as extensive as some think it to be, it will throw Idaho and Montana in the shade, and prove a source of incalculable wealth in this portion of the state. Gold has long been known to exist in this belt of mountains, but the "pay streak" seems to have been lost until this recent discovery; although fabulous stories of immensely rich diggings having been discovered and lost in these mountains have been traditionary among our old settlers. These recent discoveries will probably give increased impetus to prospecting in this region during the coming summer, and we hope the expectations of the prospectors may be fully realized.
Oregonian, Portland, April 8, 1867, page 2
A letter from Slate Creek, Josephine County, Oregon, says that a very rich silver and gold quartz ledge has just been discovered on Rogue River, a few miles below that place. The correspondent is of the opinion that it is the richest thing yet found on the coast, which is hard to believe.
"Pacific Coast Brevities," Territorial Enterprise, Virginia City, Nevada, December 16, 1874, page 2
Wild Excitement Over the New Quartz Mines.
Rock Point, December 15.J. L. Colvig and James Birdseye, just arrived from the new quartz mines some fifty miles below this place, report things lively. The road is lined with men and pack trains going to the land of gold and silver. The great mammoth ledge is about 180 feet in width at the point where Rogue River has worn its way through to the depth of 500 feet. About 200 claims are now taken. It has been traced for about twenty miles through a very rough country. Guides get from $10 to $20 per day to trace the lead. Colvig says he crushed a few pounds of the ore and it averaged ten cents per pound in gold. A town has sprung up in a few weeks; it is to be known as Mammoth City. Hotels, feed stables, shops and other buildings are being erected, and all that is needed now is capital to take hold.
Territorial Enterprise, Virginia City, Nevada, December 16, 1874, page 3
The Jacksonville (Oregon) Sentinel says the Yank ledge, on Rogue River, near the mouth of Galice Creek, is occasioning an excitement about here which grows stronger every day. Visions of unbounded wealth are already haunting the minds of claim-holders. Several parties will start from here soon to visit the ledge.
"Pacific Coast Brevities," Territorial Enterprise, Virginia City, Nevada, December 17, 1874, page 2
MINES OF SOUTHERN OREGON.
From the Jacksonville Sentinel and Times of last week we collate the following items of mining news in the southern part of our state:MINING NEWS.
The late pleasant weather has started prospecting in a way that will soon determine the actual worth of the late numerous discoveries reported by us, as well as extend the field already gone over. Earnest work is begun on nearly or quite all the ledges heretofore spoken of.
A rough test made of ore from the copper mines on Illinois River revealed the presence of silver, copper, iron and a metal which gave good reason to believe it tin. The ore, in its original state, resembles newly cast bronze. Returns from that sent below will be received, it is thought, in about ten days. The vein bearing the ore, where exposed, is about six feet wide, and is itself embraced in a well-defined lead of about 100 feet in width, through which smaller seams of the same ore are apparent at irregular intervals.
The company that was engaged in viewing and surveying the Chetco wagon road had finished its labors and gone. The prospecting party traveled for some distance on the line of that survey and think the real difficulties of that enterprise have been somewhat magnified.
The last and most extensive discovery of cinnabar was made about a week ago. It was discovered near a place known as "The Meadows," on Evans Creek, about 30 miles northeast of here, by a man named Daniel Hodges, who had been prospecting in that region for several weeks, living at times on bread and water, but so sanguine was he of success, notwithstanding the adverse counsel and even ridicule of acquaintances, that he persevered against all obstacles until finally rewarded with the discovery of what promises to be the most valuable lead of that ore yet found. After locating what ground he desired he notified his friends, and soon parties from here were on their way to secure claims. Thus far ten claims of 1,500 feet each have been recorded, and each claim has, or soon will have, miners sinking shafts on them. The ledge crops out in many places for a distance of about three miles, and float ore, panned out of the gulches below it for the whole of that distance, specimens of which we have in our possession, assays as high as 70 to 80 percent. Where exposed, the lead is from 4 to 6 feet wide, and is of the spar and ochre formation.
The party who were down on the Chetco road found some quartz, which, though showing no gold to the naked eye, yielded at the rate of $1,400 to the ton of that ore.
A small but rich gold-bearing ledge was lately discovered by Sam Rath, on the head of Jackass, a few miles west of town. Sam is at work on it.
The Yank ledge is the richest at its eastern wall. As we proceed westerly the quartz gradually depreciates in value until it prospects only moderately in many places at the extreme western wall.
Oregonian, Portland, February 16, 1875, page 1
THE SOUTHERN OREGON MINES.
From the Jacksonville Times of last Saturday we take the following items concerning the mines in the southern part of our state:
Surveying claims is progressing at a rapid pace.
William Bilger is engaged in getting out a ton of rock at Galice Creek, to be shipped to San Francisco for testing.
We learn that from $2 to $5 a foot is being offered for claims on Galice Creek, but nobody seems anxious to sell.
Over 150 claims on various ledges in the county have already been recorded in the clerk's office. Several claims upon which notices have been posted are not recorded as yet. A large number have also been recorded by the clerk of Josephine.
Parties just from Galice Creek report matters in status quo. Improvements are still progressing. S. Harkness is putting up a hotel and feed stable. A sawmill is being erected near the ledges. Comparatively few shafts have been sunk, and those not to any great depth.
Mr. Scott, who has just arrived from the mines, says he has traced the Galice Creek ledges as far as Cow Creek, where a well-defined lead is developed. The ledges all seem to come to a focus here, as the width of the new discovery is over a mile wide, interspersed with strata of apparently different kinds of rock. The leads can be traced no further. Mr. Scott brought several pounds of rock with him, which will be tested in the mill of Brooks & Co. on Wagner Creek.
Oregonian, Portland, March 17, 1875, page 1
THE SOUTHERN OREGON MINES.
From the Jacksonville Times of last Saturday we take the subjoined items concerning mines and mining operations in the southern part of our state:
Some very good rock is being taken from the Hodges ledge on Evans Creek.
Houston & Co., of the Evans Creek district, are working their cinnabar claims with an arrastra pulverizing the ore.
The people of Siskiyou are excited over the quartz discoveries on McCloud River, and the Journal says Galice Creek is nowhere.
C. C. Beekman took 25 pounds of ore from the Elizabeth ledge with him to San Francisco, which he will have subjected to a practical test.
The Emmeline Quicksilver Mining Company, of Beaver Creek, propose running a ditch from the creek to its claims this summer with which to facilitate their development.
The English company, which has invested in Galice Creek placer mines, propose running a ditch from that creek to their diggings and commence operations soon. The ditch will be about four miles long, and it is estimated will cost from $25,000 to $30,000.
During the excitement, Crow & Sanders undertook the building of a sawmill near the mouth of Taylor Creek, some 4½ miles from Sanders' store on Rogue River. Their mill is now completed, or nearly so. The building is a staunch one, and cost about $4,000.
Knight & Co. expect to commence work soon, on Taylor Creek bar, near Crow's sawmill. I believe there is a large bar of some 40 acres that has undoubtedly once been the bed of Rogue River, that prospects well, but has never been worked, except by some Chinamen.
Lige Heard, of Galice Creek, says the ledge discovered by E. R. Scott is one of the richest ledges ever discovered on the coast. There is a great deal of the rock which appears to be half gold, and they have taken rock that you could not see a particle of gold in which panned out very rich after being pounded in a mortar. The ledge where [it was] discovered is a foot wide, and five or six feet down is three feet wide.
Oregonian, Portland, June 28, 1875, page 1
MINES OF SOUTHERN OREGON.
The Galice Creek correspondent of the Jacksonville Sentinel, in a letter last week, says:
The English Mining Company have commenced operations in earnest, and their tools have nearly all arrived at their destination, and the men putting them to use to the best advantages. I believe they now have 160 Chinamen in camp. Chinaman [Gin Lin]'s company of 70 men have been at work a week and have been making ditch very fast. Chinaman Con has 30 men at work for them, and a band of 60 more arrived within the past few days. I do not know the number of white men they have employed, but suppose that with contractors and all there are about 50. From this time forward work will go on lively. When men have good grub at regular hours, and know their money is ready at any time, they can turn off a great deal of work.
I have heard but little about the quartz mines on Rogue River since I last wrote to you. I met Mr. Cox one day this week, who said that they wanted me to pack in 20,000 lbs. of freight for them soon, which would indicate that everything is lovely in that direction. One day this week Mr. Whitcomb showed me some of the best-looking rock that I have ever seen come from the Yank. It was taken from the tunnel being run in by Messrs. Bilger, Thoss, Courtney and others. He also showed me rock from below on the ledge of the same claim, the rock of which assayed $480 per ton. I could see no difference in it and the rock they are now taking from the tunnel. He also informed me that the tunnel was now in from 30 to 35 feet, and the rock getting very hard. This is all I can say at present concerning the mines.
There are now about twenty pack animals running regularly, and have all they can do, which I am confident will continue until winter sets in. It makes one think of old times to see the trains traveling daily to and from camp.
Oregonian, Portland, September 7, 1875, page 1
NEW MINING ENTERPRISE.--A new enterprise has been inaugurated at Willow Springs by the transfer of certain mining property in that locality to Portland capitalists. J. Brandt Jr., superintendent of the O.&C.R.R. Co., is the principal stockholder, and the new company expect to put on about 1,500 feet of hydraulic pipe this season. They have also purchased several water rights and ditches in the immediate vicinity, which they will place in good repair for this winter's work. Al McKenzie, an old and experienced miner, is superintendent of the mines.
A GOOD YIELD.--Dan Fisher last week completed the crushing of 1,500 pounds of rock taken from the mines of the Fort Lane Quartz Company, and realized $216 in gold. This company has some fifty or sixty tons of the same rock in sight, and they are now talking of building another arrastra for crushing it. They also have some placer mines adjoining, and are now making preparations for working them this winter. Thos. Kahler is superintendent of these mines.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, November 6, 1878, page 3
MINING NOTES.Wimer and Co., of Waldo, have completed their ditch.
The miners on Silver Creek, Josephine County, have been driven out by snow, but propose returning next spring.
The "Grand Applegate" have decided on enlarging their ditch now in course of construction. Over two miles of it has been finished by the contractor, Wm. Healy.
Charles J. Howard is still engaged in making the survey of the ditch for Owen, Magruder & Co. It will take some time yet before it is completed.
Kahler, Eckleson & Co. have some fluming to do before commencing work at their mines. With this exception everything is in readiness for this season's work.
Mr. Fitzpatrick, Superintendent of the Grand Applegate, has built a new house at the company's mines. Several teams loaded with pipe for this mine arrived last week.
The mines on Forest Creek, owned by A. A. Hamilton, will soon be ready for this winter's work. They use the old hydraulic formerly used at the Uniontown diggings.
The ditch leading from Star Gulch to the Hamilton mines, owned by Brogan, Robb & Co., will soon be completed. Work on their hydraulic pipe has been commenced by A. Maegly.
Applegate raised about two feet and a half during the rain of last week. A few more days' rain, like that of last, week would give the miners in that locality enough water to begin work.
The Sterling Mining Company, through their efficient Superintendent Frank Ennis, have been engaged for some time past in getting their large derrick in readiness for work this winter.
A portion of the dam on Applegate, belonging to the Beck brothers, was washed away by the break of Klippel, Hanna & Co.'s ditch on Friday last. The damage is only slight and can soon be repaired.
The mines near Steamboat City, owned by Messrs. Bybee, Benedict & Taylor, are being thoroughly prospected, and a drift is now being run. A ditch and hydraulic will be placed on these mines in the spring.
A break in the ditch of Klippel, Hanna & Co., last Friday caused a delay of a day and a half before piping could be resumed, but repairs have again been made and everything progresses finely. The break was caused by mole holes.
The meeting of the stockholders in the Grave Creek Ditch and Mining Company, called for last Monday, did not take place on account of the absence of several of the principal owners. The election of officers has been postponed until December 15th.
A new mining enterprise has just been started in Josephine County which promises to be a very important one. C. C. Beekman, U. S. Hayden, Wm. Turner, Joe Clough and a number of others are the projectors of this scheme, and they feel confident of having a big thing as soon as these mines are once opened. Their gravel bed is on Rogue River, a short distance from Wilderville, and they propose taking water for working the mines from Slate Creek. J. S. Howard, accompanied by Wm. M. Turner, Chas. Schultz, Fred Overbeck and Steve Hubbard, is now making a survey of the proposed ditch, which it is supposed will be some eighteen miles in length. They have a good bed of gravel and an excellent dump, and no doubt of their success is entertained by the owners of the mines.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, November 20, 1878, page 3
From the Southern Oregon exchanges the following news is collected in regard to mining prospects in that portion of the state:
Jos. Saltmarsh reports the miners on Sterling confident of success.
Work is progressing steadily at French Flat, Josephine County.
Fred Baughman will put up a hydraulic on Josephine Creek before long.
John Marshal is preparing to work his extensive mines on Coyote Creek on a larger scale than before.
The Grave Creek company has made arrangements to start a second hydraulic in a day or two.
Parties are returning from Silver Creek, Josephine County, driven in by the snow. Some of the claims have paid well.
The Sterling and Blue Gravel mines on Galice are all ready to commence operations, and are simply waiting for water.
W. A. Hamilton & Co., on Forest Creek, will put up the hydraulic formerly used at Uniontown and carry on operations more extensive than ever before.
The Grand Applegate Mining Company will increase the size of its ditch, now in course of construction, widening it considerably on both the top and bottom.
Bybee, Benedict & Co. are sinking a shaft on their claim near Steamboat City, and will run a drift at once. They propose to do some thorough prospecting this winter.
The survey of Magruder, Constant & Co.'s ditch is being continued by Charles J. Howard. It has progressed several miles, with a prospect of its extending much further.
Beck Bros., who have taken up a mining claim on Applegate, will soon complete their dam, and expect to have their ditch finished in time for the ensuing season's work.
The Coyote company has commenced operations with one hydraulic, and as soon as another arrives it will be set at work. The prospects in this claim are highly encouraging.
J. B. Coates came in last week from H. B. Seybert's ditch, which is designed to take water from Applegate across the country to the Forty-Nine mine diggings west of Phoenix, and on touching various creeks in its route.
The late rains have furnished T. L. Beck, of Willow Springs, enough water to wash up some ground sluicing done last winter, which is paying well. He will engage quite extensively in mining operations this winter.
The Roseburg company, composed of Lee Rodenberger, John Rast and Thomas J. Critzer, have about completed their ditch from Tom East Creek, and are now engaged in getting their hydraulic pipe into position for the winter's work.
I. N. Muncy passed through Roseburg last week, on his way to Portland, to purchase a crushing mill for the Tellurium mine. The mill is of the pattern known as Salmon's patent crusher. Mr. Muncy proposes to ship the mill to the mine before bad weather sets in. He reports work at the mine as progressing satisfactorily to all interested.
Two more wagons heavily laden with hydraulic pipe from Middle Creek went to Abraham & Wills' mines on Applegate last week. All the mining apparatus from that deserted camp is being brought over the mountain and will be conveyed to the Applegate mines in a few weeks, where it will probably be used to a good purpose.
Oregonian, Portland, November 26, 1878, page 1
SOUTHERN OREGON MINING NOTES
The Squaw Lake Ditch Co. received 600 feet more of hydraulic pipe this week.
Beck Bros. have repaired the recent break in their dam and are strengthening the works.
The Centennial Mining Co. in the Willow Springs district has its hydraulic in position and now awaits the winter rains.
The miners are anxiously awaiting water, though many of them have not completed preparations for the winter's work as yet.
Gin Lin has been piping since the rains of a few weeks ago, but the recent cold spell has been quite unfavorable for extensive operations.
J. E. Beggs recently brought the Sterling Company a monster derrick from Roseburg. It weighs over 5,000 pounds and can handle boulders of uncommon size with ease.
Kahler, Robb & Co. at the Palmer Creek mines are now putting in another flume. The pipe is about laid, and when the fluming is completed this company will be ready for operations.
The cold, frosty weather has retarded mining operations somewhat. But little water was afforded by the rains that preceded, though the streams all raised perceptibly for the time being.
The survey on Magruder, Owen & Co.'s ditch has proceeded as far as Henry York's on Applegate. It is estimated that it will bring up near the bridge across that stream. The length of the ditch approximates 48 miles.
The Grand Applegate Ditch Company are pushing their work with commendable energy. Their pipe and giant are on the ground, and as soon as three miles of ditch are completed they will be prepared to go to sluicing.
Rodenburger, Criteser & Rast's ditch from Tom East Creek to their claims in the Grave Creek district, three miles distant, is completed and a fair head of water now running through it. The company is putting on 1,800 feet of pipe and a little giant.
Lawrence Grob & Co., which have extensive placer mines on Elliott Creek, on Wednesday sent out a load of supplies in charge of Jimmy Leslie, also interested. The company will renew prospecting their ground and may do some substantial work this winter.
Messrs. Robb and Brogan, of the Hamilton claim near Uniontown, were in town Saturday. They report work on their diggings progressing satisfactorily and expect everything to be ready when the rains set in. The hydraulic pipe is being put up by A. Maegle, who intends completing the job in a short time.
Wm. Bybee and Isaac Irwin have recently purchased the placer diggings of Henry Wines at the head of Jump-Off Joe Creek and will put up a small hydraulic on them this winter. A ditch one mile in length is now being brought in and will afford enough water for the present, though it is proposed to extent it some farther hereafter.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, December 3, 1878, page 1
From the Jacksonville Times we gather the following news of the mines of Southern Oregon:
The mines of Farmer's Flat are about ready to commence operations.
Considerable mining is going on in the region of Willow Springs this winter.
The mines on Jackass Creek are being worked more extensively than ever before.
The Esther quartz mine is probably to be leased to a company of Nevada miners.
The pipe for Gin Lin's second hydraulic is now in position and almost ready for active work.
The Squaw Lake Ditch Company has ceased piping and is now making a general cleanup.
The Silver Creek excitement is in a fair way to be discouraged for the present by the heavy snowfall in that vicinity.
Miners are of the opinion that but another rain like the one recently experienced will be necessary to furnish enough water for mining purposes.
The Sterling Company will soon build one or more reservoirs, which will enable it to continue operations the year around.
Reports from Josephine County are of a favorable nature. More mining than ever will be carried on in that country than ever before.
The Douglas Independent, Roseburg, December 21, 1878, page 2
No mining notes to report this week, as the late freeze-up has caused a suspension of all work in that line.
"Local Items," Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, January 8, 1879, page 2
MINING NOTES.It is unnecessary to explain that our mining notes are perfectly reliable.
The reports of the nuggets found on Briggs Creek, in the Ferren claim, are confirmed.
The "Dry Diggings" Mining Company have been piping since February with very good prospects, but will not clean up until their water gives out.
Jos. Clough, Geo. Howard and Wm. Nickell started yesterday for Silver Creek. They won't take anybody's word but want to see for themselves.
The troubles of the Squaw Lake Co. with regard to their ditch seem to be over, as they have now been piping over a week without any break occurring.
In the case of the Coyote Gold and Silver Mining Co. vs. Wm. and Walter Ruble, testimony is being taken, and on petition of defendants Garrett Crockett has been appointed receiver.
Frank Ennis, superintendent of the Sterling mine, was in town yesterday and reports everything working satisfactorily. The prospects are splendid, gold being visible and plenty in the gravel.
Tom Kahler's last cleanup at the Fort Lane diggings was $90--for the work of two hands for one day. The week previous he cleaned up $158--for the work of two hands six days, ground sluicing.
Irving & Co. are opening their claims with very good prospects. As the work now being done on this creek is in a newly discovered channel, and as the creek was successfully worked twenty years ago, it will probably be a good camp.
Sturgis and McKee, on Jackass Creek, have just cleaned up two boxes at the end of a two-hundred-foot race and realized $621. Considering the short time they have been at work this is good pay and indicates a cleanup of three or four thousand dollars for the season.
Mr. Henry P. Macnevin, the gentleman who lately purchased a quartz lode near the lower Table Rock, and who has been examining our mines, returned to San Francisco last night. He will return here with his family in about a month and will, we hope, become a permanent resident among us.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, April 16, 1879, page 2
MINING NOTES.From good and reliable authority I am this week enabled to give your many readers mining news that is not mythical. First then about Silver Creek. From S. T. White, Chapman and Thornton, I learn that only two claims have been prospected to any extent, the principal one being that of Redman & Co., who in thirty days work last fall, including prospecting, took out on an average fifteen dollars per day to the hand, the other claim averaging from six to eight dollars per day; and now that the water is getting lower greater results will be shown shortly, and no doubt slugs that will astonish the natives will be taken out. As but little prospecting has yet been done on the main creek, and none on the seven tributaries, except Tod's Creek, the final result, no doubt, will cause such a stir in mining circles that has not been heard of in these latter days. Besides the creeks named and the one partly prospected, there is a territory of twenty or thirty miles square that has never been prospected, and, no doubt, as rich and perhaps, richer mines will yet be discovered in that region. As to the ground to be worked it varies from three to eight feet in depth, but on the flat above the falls and below it is thought to be very deep. The quality of the gold is very fine, as high as $18.25 per ounce having been received for it, besides the gold is all clean and coarse, valuing from 25 cent to $25 pieces. Below the falls of Silver Creek (which are said to be very fine, the water falling 100 feet perpendicular, then 60 feet; from there to level 140 feet rapids), Byers, Mace & Co. are running a tunnel and have already got in thirty feet, but are bothered by the heavy head of water issuing from it. They are very .sanguine of success as they are sure the old channel was filled up by a slide and the creek now is of recent times. There is a large basin of about one section that is without doubt an old lake, and which is underlaid by a body of gravel, perhaps 100 feet in depth. This is immediately above the falls and will soon be prospected.
The Briggs Creek mines are as good and even better than Silver Creek, and I am told by Mr. Thornton that it will be the principal camp. Another prospector tells me that it is by far the best of the two, for the mines will be more permanent.
So far as the country has been prospected the claims are all taken, and it would be well for people going in there to be prepared to board and bed themselves, as provision are quite high. As far as I can learn tramps and loafers are not wanted.
A well-known party, being rather short of means, concluded to go down to Red Dog, a tributary of Briggs Creek, and with but little knowledge of mining worked alone and without sluice boxes, and picked up off the bedrock six hundred dollars. Another man went down on a bar formed by last winter's freshet and worked diligently for a few hours on the clean washed gravel but was not paid for his trouble, which dampened his mining ardor in that region.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, May 7, 1879, page 1
Southern Oregon Mines.
From the Jacksonville Times.
A general cleanup is about to be commenced in this section.
Brown brothers, at Althouse, are now engaged in cleaning up, with good prospects.
Smith & Waisman are prospecting the Shipley lot in the northeastern part of town for paying diggings.
The Josephine mine, situated on Rogue River, below the mouth of Slate Creek, and which promised well, is in litigation.
Much prospecting will be done during the summer and fall, many miners having already purchased their outfits and started for different localities.
A. W. Sturgis & Co. are still engaged in cleaning up and have every prospect of excellent results. They will operate with a "Little Jiant" [sic] next winter.
A nugget of gold worth about $50 was recently found in the claim of A. Koster & Co., Foots Creek. A very fair cleanup has been made there this season.
Gin Lin, the Chinese tyee operating extensively in the rich mines near Uniontown, cleaned up 192 ounces, or over $3100, the other day, the result of a three weeks' run.
Captain H. Kelley, of Leland, is in town; from him we learn that the miners of Coyote and Grave creeks generally are still busily engaged and seem sanguine of the best results.
It is believed that, owing to the increase of scientific mining, the amount of gold taken out this season will be fully up to the average, though the supply of water has been more limited than usual.
Messrs. Egan & Steel, who are prospecting a quartz claim in the Willow Springs district, brought some specimens of rich ore to town Saturday. They will continue operations and thoroughly open up the ledge.
Robb, Eckleson & Co., at the Hamilton diggings, made another partial cleanup last week, from which they realized nearly $1000. This company is now engaged in cleanup for the season and expect to make a good report.
M. O'Hara, of Foots Creek, gave us a call on Friday. He informs us that many of the miners there are now engaged in cleaning up, though several have water enough to continue operations awhile longer. The prospects are generally favorable.
Dan Fisher has disposed of his interest in the Fort Lane ledge, noted for its rich ore, to the other members of the company, who now are Jas. McDonough, Thos. P. Kahler, Robt. Kahler, Henry Klippel and J. B. Lifers. The ledge will be thoroughly opened, the proprietors intending to inaugurate operations before long.
We have been shown two first-class prospects from the Steam Beer placer mine on Grave Creek, made at a distance of five and eight feet by C. L. Rodenberger, which prove the claim to be a valuable one. The banks are deep and the gravel appears to be of an excellent quality. The proprietors intend to make several improvements on the previous modus operandi and expect to be well rewarded for their pains next winter.
Grant County News, Canyon City, June 28, 1879, page 4
OUR MINING INTERESTS.
Speaking of mining information the Scientific and Mining Press remarks:
"It may be very pleasant reading for miner Tom, who has just subscribed for the paper, and wants to purchase a few copies to send East, to read that 'Tom's mine is one of the best in this district and has just struck it rich. Samples assay to the thousands in silver, with a trace of gold. He will probably soon find indications of a true fissure, a mother vein, rapidly widening as he goes down.' Such journalism may induce a few other miners to send in subscriptions, in order to read their own names in connection with big strikes, but it at the same time will most effectually turn aside capital that is carefully scanning the field and gathering facts to decide upon a basis of action. Big strikes, large assays and the best mines have become so common that their announcement has no effect and excites no attention."
This is a strong intimation that local journals are either careless in gathering facts with regard to mines, or dishonest in puffing them up for the pitiful amount of a subscription. We speak only for ourselves when we say that this journal has been scrupulously careful in the publication of mining notes. Our intention is to publish facts only, and if we ever deceive the public it will be because we, ourselves, have been imposed on. With regard to the mines of Southern Oregon we will remark: that singly or collectively, they require no "puffing." They are mostly gravel mines, yielding steadily, according to the water supply, and not depending in the slightest degree upon the state of the stock market. We note the progress of mining industry in order to show the outside world that there is a mining field here of no small extent, worth the attention of capitalists if they choose to look at it. All those who have invested here are perfectly satisfied, at least we presume they are, as there are no mines for sale. So far as "lode" developments are concerned, no one can express an unqualified opinion. Quartz, as rich as ever seen in the richest mines of California, has been found in extensive pockets, and at least one mine, that of the Green Bros., in Josephine County, has been worked for over two years yielding an average of over forty dollars per ton. It is nonsense about capital being easily frightened away. Newspaper puffs do mot sell mines, but we agree with the "press" that there is neither sense, honesty nor profit in saying that which is not true; and puffing a mere "indication" into a "bonanza" is all wrong.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, January 7, 1880, page 2
Quite an excitement was created last week, says the Jacksonville Times, by the reported discovery of gold in large quantities at the Big Bar of Rogue River, which has been only partially confirmed.
"Oregon News Items," San Francisco Bulletin, January 14, 1880, page 4
Hydraulic miners in Southern Oregon are again at work.
Prospecting for quartz mines is going on vigorously in Southern Oregon.
The mining ditch to the Big Bar of Rogue River will soon be completed, some blasting being necessary before it will be entirely free of obstructions.
"Oregon News Items," San Francisco Bulletin, March 10, 1880, page 4
The news from the different mining camps contains nothing special. Miners are generally working with full heads of water and satisfied that the storm is over. Last week the Applegate company cleaned up, having a satisfactory yield, but the last freshet damaged their ditch considerably, but they expect to be piping again soon.
"Local Items," Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, February 12, 1881, page 3
Miners want some more rain.
The Sterling Co. has not commenced piping as yet, but does not need much more water to set both pipes in motion, as the ditch is half full now.
Several of the miners are making good use of their reservoirs.
The ground is well soaked, and not a great deal more rain is needed to set all claims in motion.
The American Mining Code, the best work published, can be obtained at the Times office. Also blank notices for location of quartz and placer mines.
The Coeur d'Alene mines are still attracting much attention, and some of our citizens intend going there in the spring.
Sargent Bros. of Steamboat have enough water to ground sluice with. Caldwell & Sons have started up their giant. J. D. Shearer & Co. are expecting to receive a quantity of hydraulic pipe soon.
Jack Layton is making the gravel fly at his extensive mines on Farris Gulch.
A. Stevens and J. M. Kendrick are about commencing to mine on Jackson Creek.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, January 4, 1884, page 2
MINING NOTES.--The Sterling mining company have commenced cleaning up. . . . The China mines near Uniontown are still piping, but they cannot last long with the present supply of water. . . . All of the Galls Creek miners done quite well this season, if it was a short season, so we are informed by Wm. Blackert, who was in town this week. . . . Mining has generally suspended throughout the county for the season, but considerable prospecting is going on.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, August 2, 1884, page 2
DEVELOPING THE YANK LEDGE.--A force of men is already at work on the Yank ledge, in Rogue River Valley, under direction of H. P. Macnevin, the gentleman referred to in an item published a few days since as having arrived here furnished with plenty of capital for developing this mine. Mr. Macnevin is one of the best gold mining experts on this coast and is confident that a brilliant future awaits the Yank ledge. This vein of ore is one of the most extensive ever discovered, being 240 feet in width. It is cut in two by Rogue River and extends for miles on either side. It is situated in the vicinity of the Englishman claim, Galice Creek and other well-known mines. It has been known for years and ore from it has been worked in San Francisco and Nevada, but owing to its low grade it was not considered profitable to work. It is, however, considered that large returns can be had by working the ore by a lately discovered process. The ledge contains quartz of every variety and is a regular mineralogical curiosity. A cut is being opened across the entire width of the ledge which will show what it really consists of. The work is being done by private enterprise. No stock has been put on the market, and the work is not a prelude to any swindling racket. Should the development of this ledge prove a success it will be a great thing for the Rogue River country, which will then take rank with the celebrated Comstock district as a mining region.
"Local and General," Oregonian, Portland, May 28, 1885, page 5
S. S. Train, editor of the Herald-Disseminator of Albany, Oregon, who paid a short visit to this section a short time since, writes his observations to his paper, from which we make the following extract:
One of the principal interests of Jackson County is mining, and although some of the wonderfully productive localities are comparatively exhausted, there still remain good-paying "diggings," and many of the exhausted claims are being rewashed over at remunerative rates. Jackson Creek, from Jacksonville up, has been completely sluiced out, some places to the depth of nearly thirty feet. The place was pointed out to us where Mr. Shively of Astoria took out two muleloads--about four hundred pounds--of washed gold, in working out his claim. A little farther up the creek several parties, after taking out satisfactory quantities, sold their claims to Chinamen at from three to six thousand dollars each. After working as long as they saw fit to, the Chinamen engaged a teamster to haul the corpse of their "big tyee," who they said had died and whom they were going to take back to China for burial, to Coos Bay for shipment. They surrounded the coffin with burning wax tapers and guarded it carefully all the way, keeping the candles burning constantly and allowing no one but themselves to approach or handle the coffin. But after they had safely deposited their burden on shipboard at Coos Bay, they invited the American teamster to look at their dead comrade; when the lid was raised his astonished eyes viewed sixty thousand dollars worth of shining washed gold instead of the body of a dead Chinaman.
Sailor's Gulch was pointed out to us, where a party of rollicking sailors drifted a shaft sixty feet down the steep hillside to bedrock and "struck it rich." An old gentleman, now partly supported by charity, and who is still digging with all the energy his failing strength with allow, mentioned localities where in '52 he had taken out $4,000, $2,000 and as high as $6,000. These old claims are now reclaimed and being worked, some of them the third time.
New claims are also being opened, but the great drawback for the past three years has been the lack of water to work with. One ditch, said to be ten miles long, which must have cost a large amount of money and labor, has had no water in it for three years. Several of the mines have been accumulating the "pay dirt," waiting for the water to come to wash with. The mines that are beginning to attract attention now, however, are the quartz ledges, of which there are a great many claimed. Indeed, nearly every one of the inhabitants has a quartz claim somewhere in the mountains. The famous Gold Hill ledge, which probably yielded $200,000, set everyone searching for like rich deposits, and many fully as rich will undoubtedly yet be found, for the whole country is rich in gold-bearing quartz, and it only waits for the lucky man to discover the rich "pockets."
Our furlough having expired, on Thursday, under the guidance of the miner, we explored the mountainsides, tops, ledges, deposits and all on a line from the camp to Gold Hill Station. While traveling on the highest ridge back of Jacksonville, we observed a case of wanton destruction that deserves mention. We refer to the cutting down, apparently for the seeds only, of the magnificent sugar pines. Such an act is certainly reprehensible in the extreme.
A magnificent view of the Rogue River Valley is obtained from the mountaintop, including the famous Table Rock, where Gen. Lane outwitted and got away with the Indians in ye olden times. [Not true.] At the hospitable mansion of Mr. John Swinden near Gold Hill we were regaled with a splendid supper, and also with a view of some fine specimens of gold-bearing quartz. And in the night boarded the train for home, being well pleased with our hasty visit to this Switzerland of Oregon.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, June 6, 1885, page 2
Southern Oregon Mines.Jacksonville will have a fine quartz mill soon.
The Medford reduction works are in operation.
Several ledges in Josephine County are attracting considerable attention.
J. J. Brown has the Bybee claim on Rogue River in good shape and is making the gravel fly.
Dick Cook, of Steamboat, has run his tunnel over 400 feet and is taking out some excellent ore.
The miners of Steamboat and Brush Creek districts have plenty of water and are making the most of it.
The recent storms raised the water in Rogue River so much as to wash out all the wing dams in that stream.
The Shooting Star, on the west of the Bonanza, is a good prospect, with a small quantity of high-grade ore.
The Sterling mines are being operated day and night, there being plenty of water. Capt. Ankeny is still there.
D. L. Curtis purchased Mr. Moody's interest in some mines on Jackson Creek, and has since leased them to Chinese.
The late rains have put some of the miners to work. Not a great deal more is necessary to set all of them agoing.
A considerable quantity of snow has already piled up in the mountains for the benefit of the miners later in the season.
Nearly all the miners of Josephine County are busy, and will no doubt make a much better report than for a few years past.
R. Eastman and J. F. Woodward have a promising quartz ledge not far from Grants Pass. They are now prospecting it.
Goff & Co., of Grave Creek, have built a reservoir, enlarged their ditch and made other improvements. They are in excellent ground.
L. L. Oden, of Pleasant Creek, informs us that Carter Bros. have struck a rich channel that was lost several years ago and are likely to do very well.
It is reported that so much is thought of the Gibbs ledge, near Lucky Queen, Josephine County, that a five-stamp mill will soon be put up there.
Frank Davis, who has leased the Brimstone mine in Josephine County, has cleared a large area of ground and will mine on a more extensive scale than ever.
The Silver Rose adjoins the Bonanza on the south, but no work has been done. This claim shows bold croppings, with seams of very rich ore, assaying from $98 to nearly $200 per ton in silver.
Robert Elliott, who has been developing the quartz ledge on Applegate owned by Messrs. Orth and Linn, is in town. He reports excellent prospects, and brought some fine-looking specimens of ore with him.
The Silent Friend lies north of and adjoining the Bonanza. Here a five-foot hole has been sunk, showing the vein sixteen and eighteen inches wide in the bottom, while at the surface it cropped as a mere seam three to six inches wide.
ON WAGNER CREEK.Messrs. Walsh & Bragdon recently sent to the Medford quartz mill a quantity of rock from their mines on Wagner Creek, from which they have received returns as follows: The tailings from the old quartz mill, operated a number of years ago, yielded at the rate of about $170 to the ton, and a lot of inferior rock from the croppings of the large ledge, the "Pilgrim," went $62 to the ton. The "Pilgrim" is an unusually large lead (7 feet) and promises exceedingly well. They are now at work upon it and have gone in some ten or fifteen feet, where they are taking out rock which shows much more gold than did the croppings of which a report is given above. The proprietors believe it will go not less than $100 to the ton, perhaps more. They have sent a ton to Medford, to be run through the mill, and will have the returns in a short time. Their water power arrastra will be ready for operation soon, if the weather does not interfere with work upon it.--Ashland Tidings.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, December 3, 1885, page 3
SOUTHERN OREGON MINES.
A Rich Silver Find Reported--Reduction Works
at Medford Started--News from Various Claims.
Medford, Jan. 1.The Medford reduction works started their stamps today. These works can treat ten tons per day, and have had an offer to contract one year's work ahead from one mine, but refuse to contract, as it would go against the development of other mines.
There was a rich vein of quartz, carrying grey copper and sulphurets, discovered on Applegate Creek last week which promises to develop into something good. Anderson and Walker are the discoverers, and several parties have gone to get the extensions. Prospectors are working on Applegate and Jackson creeks, and although quartz mining here is in its infancy, the quartz compares favorably with that of Nevada and Colorado. The Starr mines, in the Blackwell district, owned by Slagle & McAndrews, shows a large body of good ores; mill run $40 to $50. These parties are pushing work and will commence shipping ore in a few days. The Black Hawk mine, in the Willow Springs district, owned by Cowles, King & Slagle, have eighty tons of ore ready for shipment. Bose mine No. 1 and No. 2, Henry Baker, Scott & Deulson, owners, are pushing work by tunnel, and show a good grade of ore. Kenton mine, owned by Seeleg & Jenkins, shows from eight to ten feet of ore which develops into gray sulphurets. The Florence mine, owned by Chick, Pain & Co., shows a well-defined vein of high-grade ore. The developments are light, but they still continue to prospect the vein.
New locations are made daily, and prospectors coming in from different parts of the mountains with quartz and minerals show that the country is being thoroughly prospected, and if one in every one hundred locations proves good and paying, Southern Oregon will develop into another Helena or Leadville.
In the Gold Hill district the Lucky Strike ledge has been traced to 6000 feet, on which was located yesterday the Queen of the West, owners Howard & Bever. This claim shows the same ore as the Lucky Strike, indicating the vein to be a true and regular fissure vein. The Koehler mine in the Blackwell district, owners R. Koehler and J. Brandt, was located yesterday; no developments as yet.
Our town was thrown into excitement today over a new discovery of rich native silver. The owner and discoverer, Mr. Johnson, from Carson City, Nev., says he was attracted by the looks of ore, similar to that of the Gould & Curry, of Nevada, mine. Mr. Johnson is on his way to Jacksonville to record his rich strike and refused $5000 for his find. What Southern Oregon needs is men who thoroughly understand prospecting for quartz ledges. Many other new discoveries have been made, but none that shows up with the new silver find. From what Mr. Johnson tells us, this is the first silver discovery made in Southern Oregon.
Oregonian, Portland, January 14, 1886, page 5
SOUTHERN OREGON MINES.
Encouraging Reports from Several Districts--Reduction Works Started Up.
MEDFORD, Or., Jan. 18.
The Medford reduction works started up in full blast at 12 o'clock last night, and has run smooth and nice. The superintendent informed us that they could run twelve tons of ore into bullion every twenty-four hours. This is the only works in Oregon taking the bullion from the rebellious ores. The rich strike made by Johnson & Grisley on Rogue River gives returns of $540 per ton. Your correspondent has visited the following mines: Black Jack mine, owned by Ragsdale & Co., developments, 12-foot shaft and 50-foot tunnel, showing from five to eight feet of ore, 25 tons on the dump.
Taylor mine, owned by Taylor & Co., developments, shaft No. 1 20 feet, No. 2 28 feet, showing five feet of ores milling from $15 to $90, about 10 tons on the dump. This is a very valuable mine, showing galena and sulphurets and copper.
Iowa mine, owned by Boyd & Johnson, developed by shaft No. 1 and 2, showing about the same grade of ore in each shaft. Sulphurets sent to Helena give returns, $119 silver, $19 gold.
Little Galena mine, Anderson & Stanley owners, development, 25-foot shaft. Shows very fine gray copper and sulphurets in bottom of shaft.
Old Wallula ledge, E. Penningburns, shows a large body of paying ores, mostly free-milling.
Bunker Hill mine, E. B. Whitney owner, shaft 22 feet, shows large body of gray sulphurets.
Boes No.1 and No. 2, Baker, Kenny & Co. owners, shows 3 to 3½ feet of ores, mostly sulphurets. They intend pushing work forward to get their ores to the works.
Gilt Edge mine, Beatty & Howard owners, developed by 20-foot shaft, shows five feet of copper and sulphurets ores.
Turner & Johnson are shipping ores to the Medford reduction works. This claim has only been located a few days, and after having a mill test they go to work in a way that means business. Prospectors are going into the Willow Springs district and some favorable prospects are reported there, also on Applegate and Sterling, where good discoveries have been made. The hills are being thoroughly prospected, and we expect more rich discoveries ere long.
It is reported that Henry Klippel and Cavanaugh are figuring on putting in a mill at Gold Hill, to work 800 tons of tailings from the old Gold Hill mine. They have also been to investigate the richness and extent of the old Jewett ledge, and we hear they are very favorably encouraged with the ores. Up to this time the placer mining has been good and all have been doing well, but the weather being colder it will check it for a few days.
Oregonian, Portland, January 20, 1886, page 3
SOUTHERN OREGON MINES.
(Extracted from the local papers.)
Jerry Tuller is working a hydraulic on his mine near Glendale.
A contract has been let for a 200-foot tunnel on the Jewett ledge near Grants Pass.
J. Wimer & Sons are running two huge giants on their famous diggings night and day.
Desseles & Connell on Scott's Gulch, near Waldo, are pushing things lively with a giant.
The Medford quartz mill is now running on full time and is crushing ten tons of ore per day.
Negotiations are pending for the transfer of several mines in the vicinity of Jacksonville to Portland capitalists.
What Josephine County now wants is about four feet of solid snow on her mountains for mining in the spring.
Mr. Haverlin on Canyon Creek is also tearing away dirt at a rapid rate with a giant. We are informed this is a splendid claim.
Wm. Bybee's famous claim, producing a fine character of gold, on the head of Allen Gulch, near Waldo, is running one giant.
J. K. Casteel has secured the contract for running a tunnel for the Jacksonville Milling and Mining Company, at $4.50 per foot.
Marrian & Sands have a well-developed claim on Cow Creek, near Glendale. They are running a hydraulic and taking out good pay.
Mr. Henry Smith and E. F. Everitt of this place have a claim on Foots Creek on which they are ground sluicing with good prospects.
John Hall is superintending Hall & Bybee's placer on Canyon Creek. He is running one giant and making the best of the season so far.
All the mines on Althouse and its tributaries are running--some of them night and day. This will be a glorious season for Josephine miners.
Simmons & Ennis, near Waldo, are running a cut from the Illinois River, intended for the purpose of developing their ground and getting into Shelly Gulch.
The Sardine Creek mines, owned by R. F. Miller, were this week sold to parties from Medford at a good figure. A hydraulic pipe will be put in at once.
John Catching and sons, we are informed by a gentleman from that section, are working their claim near Riddle, and up to this time have taken out over $600.
Messrs. Mulkey & Guyer have leased Garven's placer mining claim on Wagner Creek below the Walsh & Bragdon quartz mines, and are preparing to work it extensively.
A San Francisco company have about concluded to take out a ditch from Sugar Creek, leading to a good-paying bar on the Illinois, at the foot of Eight Dollar Mountain.
The hydraulic miners are all well supplied with water now, and are taking advantage of it. At John Miller's mine on Jackson Creek a force has been working night and day since the rain.
Negotiations are pending for the purchase of J. T. Layton's placer claim on Applegate by a Chinese company of Portland. Sixty-five thousand dollars is the amount asked by Mr. Layton, and the mines are well worth it.
Last week Joe Scott, who is interested with N. McNair in the gravel claim on Rogue River near the Big Yank, showed us two ounces of excellent fine gold from that bar, which indicates that if it was worked with a hydraulic it would pay handsomely.
Messrs. Knapp, Brown and Hopwood are now employed on the tunnel in Timber Gulch. It will be 200 feet in length when the old ledge is struck, and a weekly assessment of 1½ percent on the capital stock of the company carries on the work. Twenty-three Jacksonville men are interested.
A Mr. Carter informs us that he has made a good discovery in quartz on Jump-off Joe. The formation is decomposed rock, and as much as twenty-five cents in gold to the plan has been obtained. This find is in the vicinity of the Lucky Queen discovery, and may prove to be very valuable.
Report says that a company of men from Ashland have "jumped" what is known as the Holman ledge, on Jackson Creek, owned by C. C. Beekman, who holds a title on the ground from the government as school land. This is considered one of the most valuable pieces of mining property in the state and we would like to see it worked by someone.--Sentinel.
The Times says a Davis Valley correspondent to the Times writes: The Rogue River Canal Company is organized, and the officers elected are: A. C. Stanley, president; H. W. Shipley, vice-president; F. A. English, secretary; who together with A. S. Moore are the incorporators. The capital stock has been placed at $100,000 in $50 shares. The company propose constructing a canal and ditches for irrigating, milling, mining and manufacturing purposes. The different streams have been higher and their currents swifter the past week than for several years, but no cases of drowning have been reported yet.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, February 3, 1886, page 4
SOUTHERN OREGON MINING NOTES.S. McConnell and T. J. Neff have purchased Neil Bros.' mining claim on Wagner Creek.
H. Klock, of Gold Hill district, has a promising quartz mine which he expects to sell soon.
Portland capitalists are talking of buying several pieces of mining property on Southern Oregon.
Messrs. Cowles, Kenney and Slagle have located the ledge in Willow Springs precinct, formerly worked by Benner & Co.
Now that the quartz mill at Jacksonville is an assured fact, prospecting has been renewed in this vicinity with renewed energy.
Work is progressing favorably at the hydraulic claims of Wimer & Sons, Bybee & Hall, John Haviland and others in Josephine County.
The Dry Diggings, near Grants Pass, are being worked by different parties this season, water being plentiful there as well as elsewhere.
The contract for running a long tunnel, to tap the Jewett ledge near Grants Pass, has been let. It has always been considered one of the best ledges in this section.
Several claims have been located on the extension of the ledge recently discovered by Col. Johnson in Table Rock precinct. An assay of some of the ore showed $550 to the ton, mostly in silver, it is said.
Kenion & Klippel, McKee & Co. and several other hydraulic miners in the Poorman's and Forest Creek districts are working day and night with full heads of water and good prospects. All the others are also busy.
A. Alford and L. F. Willits have located the old Rockafellow ledge on Wagner Creek, and the ledge taken up several years ago by M. Mickelson, in the same district, has been located by a company composed of Messrs. Lyttleton, Powell, Moon and Greene.
W. H. Swinden, who is mining near the summit of Blackwell Mountain, informs us that he has picked up a large number of very rich quartz specimens in his ground sluice, worth probably $500. He has unearthed a well-defined and very rich ledge, although it is not very large as yet.
J. N. Casteel, who has the contract for running the tunnel for the Jacksonville Milling and Mining co. to tap the Bowden ledge on Timber Gulch, is making excellent progress, having already run twenty-five feet with the aid of only one man. As soon as his tools arrive he will put on a larger force and rush matters rapidly forward.
Oregonian, Portland, February 11, 1886, page 8
SOUTHERN OREGON MINES.
Some excellent quartz ledges have been discovered in the vicinity of Ashland.
Hon. S. F. Chadwick has been in Southern Oregon, looking after his varied mining interests.
Prospecting continues at a lively rate in every portion of Jackson County, and many promising discoveries are reported.
Cunnyngham & Co., of Blackwell district, are making preparations to ship ten tons of ore to the Medford reduction works.
It is estimated that several hundred thousand dollars will be taken out of the mines of Jackson and Josephine counties this season.
The miners of Grave Creek, Josephine County, are generally doing well. Goff & Co. have lately picked up some good-sized nuggets.
Water is falling fast, and many of the placer miners are cleaning up. They will, nevertheless, make a much better run than for several years past.
Brown, Simpson & Co. are prospecting a large and promising ledge of quartz, in which gold can be plainly seen. It is situated in the Jackson Creek district.
Thomas Mee was up from Foots Creek a few days since, and informs us the miners of that section are doing well. Some excellent discoveries have been made in the new diggings found last summer.
There is a large scope of country between Thompson Creek and Steamboat, which is, as yet, comparatively unprospected. Some very rich pockets of quartz have been found in that region in early days, and it offers good inducements to prospectors.
A large quantity of ore is being hauled to the quartz mill at this place from different ledges, and no doubt the supply will be kept up steadily. Grob & Braendel have about thirty tons on the dump at the mill, and will have more crushed as soon as they can build a road to their mine.
Jack Layton of Applegate was in Jacksonville the forepart of the week, from whom we learned that work is progressing at his mines. He says that considerable quartz will soon be taken out of the Horsehead ledge, in which he is interested with John Bolt.
Messrs. W. J. Messenger and R. J. Shaw, two Ashland boys, have discovered and located a quartz ledge about three miles west of Phoenix, which is found to contain gold and silver in what may prove to be paying quantities. They have recorded their claim under the name of "Little Daisy."
T. T. McKenzie, Thomas Brown and others have located a ledge on Armstrong Gulch, which was formerly prospected to some extent, but subsequently abandoned. Recent developments show it to be well defined and tolerably rich. Several tons will be tested in the quartz mill at this place soon.
The quartz mill at this place was started up in earnest the forepart of this week and is running day and night, with two sets of hands. The machinery is of the best and latest patterns and runs very well. The mill naturally attracts much attention, as it is one of the most complete ever put up in the state.
J. M. Walsh, of the firm of Walsh & Bragdon, who are extensively interested in quartz mine on Wagner Creek, made our town a visit Saturday. From him we learned the welcome news that both he and his partner had lately returned from Portland, and they had succeeded in making arrangements with R. Koehler and J. Brandt (who have become interested with them in the above mines) for putting in a Huntington quartz mill, having a capacity of twelve tons per day, at an early date. As this machinery will cost upwards of $5,000, this above-named gentlemen no doubt have great faith in the outcome of those mines. They have already sent J. A. Hurlburt, the well-known civil engineer, forward to make the necessary surveys.
Oregonian, Portland, March 18, 1886, page 3
Southern Oregon Mines.A letter from Althouse gives the following items:
Rogue River Courier.
Kline & Thompson are still working their old claim in the left-hand fork.
James Turnbull has struck some good paying gravel in his tunnel, after a year's hard driving through bedrock.
Hansen & Ehman are hard at work cleaning up, with favorable prospects for a good return for their winter's labor.
German, of Walker Gulch, has struck some new diggings on the upper waters, and is taking out some very pretty gold.
Doyle & Crosby, of California Bar, Sucker Creek, have got their claim in first-rate condition for a long summer's work.
Water drying up fast and most of us miners are laying plans for the summer's work. Some of us are going to prospect for new fields of operations, the old ground being pretty well worked out.
Joseph Trimbey [sic] has, I am told, sold out his claim to a China company for $3000. I hope the report is true. Friend Trimbley [sic] is well advanced in years, has been mining for a long time, and should lay down the pick and take his rest for the remainder of his days in this world.
Your correspondent has just returned from a prospecting trip through Josephine and Canyon creeks. He found that there was some new ground being opened on the south fork of Canyon Creek, also that there is some excitement about the mines on Chetco and its tributaries. Stewart & Co. are on one of the southern prongs, and have struck a fair prospect. They have built for themselves a cabin and got out lumber for sluices, and will be all ready to commence washing this week.
John Hale, with a company of three others, will soon go over and commence operations at the same point. This gulch lies in the Coast Range, and about twenty-four miles southwesterly of Kerby. The trail runs up Canyon Creek to Lightning Gulch, and crosses the mountain down to the waters of Chetco. I was told that some coarse gold had been found in the Tin Cup Creek. This is another tributary of the Chetco River, but lies much further west and is situated in a much rougher country. The best and most direct route to the Tin Cup Creek is by the Illinois River, thence up Rancherie Creek across the mountain on the trail to the springs. Here you will have to leave your horses, for you will not find any grass after you leave this point. If anyone is seeking for a rough and rugged road, with mountains of rocks and canyons of darkness, this is the country that will suit them. Yet, there is plenty of game, such as deer, elk, bear and cougar seem to abound, though many of them are not companions of my taste. I therefore leave them for hunters of the wilderness.
GOLD HILL.Oregonian, Portland, June 15, 1886, page 2
The quartz mill belonging to L. D. Brown & Co. has commenced crushing rock.
Work is going on at the lime quarry of Burrage & Pomeroy. These gentlemen are also developing their iron ledge.
The machinery of the new quartz mill works satisfactorily, and it will be set at work upon a regular run of ore today.
The owners of the quartz ledge on Wagner Creek discovered by Bragdon and Roach have refused an offer of $20,000 for the property, it is reported.
Strangers are coming to Jackson County to investigate the quartz mining prospects here, and mining capital will undoubtedly be attracted in this direction more strongly this year than ever before.
SOUTHERN OREGON MINING NOTES.
Considerable prospecting is going on in Josephine County, and several good placer mines will be opened there in the near future.
J. C. Ruck is still engaged in rocking at his diggings in Willow Springs precinct. He has abandoned his quartz mines for the present.
Chris. Kretzer, who has a good mine on Shively Gulch, recently found a nugget, containing gold and silver, worth about $60.
B. F. Miller, who owns excellent placer mines on Sardine Creek, has been written to by Portland parties, who talk of purchasing them of him.
John Haviland, who has a hydraulic claim near Kerbyville, is crushing the cement which is abundant there, with good results. He has done well during the past season.
The California company which proposes running a ditch from Sucker Creek to the Illinois River, with the intention of working some rich mines, commenced operations a short time ago.
B. A. Knott, of Willow Springs precinct, has about 200 tons of ore from his mine on the dump near L. D. Brown's mill, which is now being crushed. It is much harder than that obtained from Swinden's ledge, but is said to prospect fully as well.
L. D. Brown is now in Portland for the purpose of purchasing a five-stamp mill, which will be put alongside the one at present working at the Swinden ledge, in Rock Point precinct. The ore is so rich and easily obtained that the full capacity of both mills can be taxed.
A company, composed of William Naucke, William Bybee, John Hall and A. Brown, have inaugurated a new enterprise and will engage in mining on Canyon Creek on a large scale. A ditch will be dug, hydraulic pipe and a giant purchased, and nothing left undone to make their diggings pay.
C. C. Beekman is having his quartz mines on Jackson Creek surveyed, and will probably have tunnels run and shafts sunk on them before long. We believe that good ore exists there in paying quantities and hope to see the matter thoroughly tested soon. B. B. Beekman and Frank Huffer are engaged in making the survey.
Oregonian, Portland, July 15, 1886, page 2
SOUTHERN OREGON MINING NOTES.
Considerable prospecting is still going on in Southern Oregon.
Most of the miners of Southern Oregon are now ready for the winter's run.
It is not likely that work will be resumed at the Blue Gravel mines on Galice Creek this season.
A great deal of placer mining will be carried on during the coming season, if it is at all favorable.
It seems as if the cold snap will this time precede the rains that the miners are so anxiously looking for.
Illinois River has raised enough to enable Wimer & Sons to resume piping at their hydraulic mines near Waldo.
Brown Bros. have again rented Wm. Bybee's placer mines on Rogue River, and are engaged in rigging them up.
Work is still progressing on the tunnels which will tap Green Bros.' ledge on Galice Creek, and it will be two months before it is completed. There is every probability that good results will ensue.
Brown & Co.'s mill in Rock Point precinct, on the site of the Swinden ledge, which has lately been enlarged and improved, was started this week and is said to work well. The crushing of a large amount of excellent quartz is next in order.
E. S. Smith & Co. have commenced running a tunnel to tap their quartz mine on Grave Creek, which will probably be 500 feet in length. The ledge is already defined and the ore of a promising character. It is believed that it will prove both extensive and remunerative.
Oregonian, Portland, November 9, 1886, page 3
Jacksonville Times, Dec. 10.
Ingram & Baker of Willow Springs are busily at work and have a fair supply of water.
Baumle, Klippel & Co.'s mill on Shively Gulch is still busily at work and making good reports.
Most of the miners of Josephine County have plenty of water now and are making the most of it.
Nearly all of the hydraulic mines are being worked, and some ground sluicing is also going on.
Wm. Huggins and Phil. Miller will operate John Miller's extensive diggings on Farmer's Flat during the present season.
John O'Brien has rigged up his mines in the Steamboat district in first-class shape and will operate them on an extensive scale.
Ennis & Cameron have rented one of their gulches on Galice Creek to Chinese, who will work it the coming year. It is supposed to be rich.
The past week has been a very favorable one for the miners. A great deal of rain has fallen, as also a considerable amount of snow on the mountains.
The Sterling company has been doing some piping each week for a short time past, but now has an ample supply of water and is running two pipes on full time.
M. Eggleston has bonded J. K. Patton's ledge at the head of Wright's Creek, Ashland precinct, and Hopkins & Moon will prospect the northern extension, located by Wm. Patton.
Brown & Co.'s mill at the Swinden ledge in Rock Point precinct has not been running much of the time, owing to repairs being made and for lack of harmony among the managers.
Several parties in this vicinity are about letting contracts to take large quantities of quartz from different ledges and thoroughly prospect the same, which is the best method possible for ascertaining the value of those lodes.
If the present weather should continue much longer, the miners will be able to make an extended run, and money will consequently be more plentiful next spring than for some time past. We hope that Jupiter Pluvius will continue hostilities.
Burrage & Pomeroy, who are engaged in prospecting their iron mines near Rock Point, are now cutting through a large vein of what appears to be stratified diorite, and which is thought to carry a considerable amount of silver. Ben Haymond has favored us with a specimen of the ore, which can be seen at the Times office.
Medford Monitor: Caldwell & Son have their mine on the head of the Applegate ready for operations. If we have a good mining year there will be more gold dust taken out than for any corresponding year in twenty, for the reason that all the mines are in good shape for work, and many new giants have been added to the different camps.
Ashland Tidings: Mr. O. Ganiard reports that a large ledge of excellent coal has been discovered at Daniel Runnel's place on "the meadows." The ledge is located some twelve or fourteen miles from the railroad, but on or near a good wagon road. It is reported to be eleven feet wide and to give evidence of being an unbroken vein of large extent. The locators have gone down upon it some thirty feet in the prospecting already done.
Oregonian, Portland, December 14, 1886, page 8
The Emeline Cinnabar Company have again commenced work on their mines in Southern Oregon. The company put men to work this week getting out ore, and are making preparations for a big run of quicksilver.
"News of the Northwest," Oregonian, Portland, July 12, 1887, page 6
SPRING MOUNTAIN LEDGE.
The editor of the Grants Pass Courier has recently paid a visit to the Spring Mountain silver ledge in Josephine County. Amongst other things he says:
From eight inches on top of the ground it now measures twenty-two inches of a well-defined ledge, having, as a well-known mining expert says, every indication of a permanent and a rich ledge. It assays as high as $75 per ton silver from some of the average rock. The ledge rock is very much honeycombed by decomposition. There are frequent cavities in it which are filled with a solution as black as ink, in the sediment of which glittering particles of silver are plainly visible to the naked eye. The workmen are now about twelve feet underground with an open cut. Another prominent feature of this ledge is that for a mile large springs rise out of it at frequent intervals. The largest one is at the time and is pretty strongly charged with arsenic, which is said to be a favorable indication of silver. Messrs. Keenan and Strickler have taken some of the rock to Portland for another test.
Oregonian, Portland, July 12, 1887, page 6
Mines of Southern Oregon.
The rock taken out of the Bill Willis claim down near Merlin took the eye of P. Lyttleton, who is an old miner, and is familiar with the character of the rock which has yielded the big returns in the Nevada mines, and he declares that it is the first rock he has seen from any ledge yet discovered in this part of the country which has excited him and led him to expect large developments. Consequently Mr. L. sent a sample of the rock to Portland by C. W. Ayers, and on his return Mr. Ayers made a report so encouraging that the two gentlemen went down to Merlin last Monday and each located an extension upon the claim of Willis, Martin and Miller. This makes five extensions already located. Not satisfied with their locations, Mr. Ayers has bonded the half interest of Mr. Willis in the original claim. He has gone to Albany and Portland, and expected to interest parties there in the enterprise within ten days. The ledge located appears to be a continuation of the old Lucky Queen ledge, which is well known in the mining history of Southern Oregon.
A renewal of beach mining may be looked for shortly. A company is now being formed in San Francisco to work this beach with a patent invention of their own.--Crescent City Record.
The Medford Mail reports that Francis Fitch and the mining man who joined him in bonding the Emmeline cinnabar mine in the Siskiyous have made about $30,000 in the transaction, having sold the property to a new company for $35,000. They bonded the mine for a year at $2500, it is said.
Oregonian, Portland, December 4, 1890, page 9
The Alex. Watts mine in Josephine County is being worked by W. M. Richards, who is making a good showing.
There is an abundance of snow on the highest mountains, which augurs well for a protracted mining season.
Crawford & Co. of Medford have their five-stamp mill at work at the Willow Springs mine, and will make a long run during the next few months.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, January 29, 1892, page 2
The frosty weather of the past fortnight has diminished the water supply considerably.
John Ralls and Jas. Dodge, who have rented the old Ralls diggings in Willow Springs precinct, not long since unearthed a nugget which weighed 17 ounces. There was some quartz in it.
Green Bros. of Galice Creek district have struck a four-foot ledge of rich quartz in their new tunnel. Their perseverance deserves success.
The Sterling Mining Co. is running on half time, the freezing weather having almost shut off the supply of water.
Two brothers, who are strangers in this section, have made an important discovery in Sardine Creek district, Rock Point precinct. The quartz is said to be very rich in free gold.
C. B. Watson has bonded the old Forty-Nine mines above Phoenix, together with a large area of other placer ground in the vicinity, and will endeavor to place it advantageously in the hands of capitalists, who will develop the rich property during the coming months.
The five-stamp mill which Messrs. Crawford, Oviatt and Baker have put up at their ledge in Willow Springs precinct, known as the Oregon Comstock mine, is kept steadily at work. The ore prospects well, and there seems to be every indication of a paying and permanent vein.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, February 5, 1892, page 3
MINING NEWS.Democratic Times, Jacksonville, February 12, 1892, page 3
Signorelli, the "Lucky Barrel" of the Nevada country, has made a rich strike on the divide between the Sardine section and Evans Creek. The ledge on which he is now down some distance has an average width of over three feet and shows free gold in every part. The find will attract a large amount of attention to the mines of this section.
The Jacksonville Milling and Mining Co. held its annual meeting this week and elected J. Nunan, D. Cronemiller, Chas. Nickell, E. J. Harris and J. G. Birdsey as directors for the ensuing year. The directors afterward met and elected J. Nunan as president, S. J. Day secretary and T. J. Kenny treasurer. The company intends to patent its lands at an early day.
Dr. Braden's quartz mill at Gold Hill has been busily engaged for some time past, and with good returns to the owner, it is said.
The present dry spell is discouraging to placer miners, as the supply of water has been exhausted in some places. A wet spring would help matters materially.
If people discover placer mines in a stream they are not at liberty to cut timber from adjacent public lands, as they might do for quartz mining. This is a recent decision of Commissioner Carter of the general land office.
Operators on the Comstock mine of Oregon (which is located in Willow Springs precinct) have been suspended for the present, owing to dissensions among the owners. A run was made on low-grade ore recently and proved satisfactory. The mine and mill have been closed by an attachment instituted by the employees of the company.
A late Gold Hill dispatch says: On account of the scarcity of water many of the miners have abandoned their placers, and are putting in their time prospecting for quartz. "Lucky" Bart's find on Sardine Creek is attracting great attention. The extent and richness of this mine is no longer doubted. Prof. Hughes, vice-president of the Chetco lumber company, made careful examination of it, and pronounced it a first-class property.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, February 19, 1892, page 2
Geo. Rowland and Jordan Brown have located a promising quartz ledge in Willow Springs precinct.
Green Bros. of Galice Creek have commenced crushing excellent ore from their ledge, and the best of results are promised.
Ed. Schieffelin, the well-known miner, recently struck a pocket near Gold Hill which yielded about $900 before giving out.
Archie Taylor is engaged in putting up a mill at the Griffin mine in Slate Creek precinct, Josephine County, which prospects well.
John Loftus and J. W. Rogers last week located a quartz claim inside the city limits of Ashland, and have excellent prospects for a fine body of ore.
Chas. and L. C. Bayse of Missouri Flat have struck a rich and most promising quartz ledge, averaging over two feet in width and assaying $72 per ton.
An extension of Lucky Bart's mine on the Sardine Creek divide was last week struck by Munden & Eaton, who think they have as rich a ledge as the original strike.
More quartz mining is under way and prospective in Josephine County than ever before known. It seems quite probable that some good ledges have been discovered.
Carson & Bryden, mining experts from San Francisco, last week made a thorough examination of the Lucky Bart mine, and express themselves as highly pleased with the prospects so far.
A large amount of ore is taken out in the preliminary work being done at the Patton mine, and the prospects are said to be so flattering that the owners will soon put [in] a mill to crush it.
Messrs. Dyer, Dunlap & Carlisle, who have bonded the old Hope mine on Wagner Creek, are getting their mill in order for a long run. They anticipate success, as the mine is undoubtedly a rich one.
John Bolt of Applegate, who is interested in mining on Galice Creek, showed the editor of the Times some handsome specimens of asbestos from a deposit which had lately been discovered near the Green ledge.
J. T. Flynn brings good news to the miners of this section, as he has obtained assurances from J. B. Hagin, the millionaire, that due attention will be given by him to any legitimate mining enterprise of promise in southern Oregon.
Wm. Bybee has leased his mine on Canyon Creek, Josephine County, to O. F. Russell, while S. L. Fielder is in charge of his claim some distance from Grants Pass. Both are experienced miners and will no doubt make a good showing.
Dr. Flanagan and Z. Moody, who own the Messenger mine on Applegate and other promising ledges in that vicinity, will soon resume operations on a larger scale than ever. They have shipped all their concentrates to the Linnton smelter.
Jewett & Co., who own the Blanket and old Jewett ledges, which are situated not far from Grants Pass, are shipping their concentrates to the Linnton smelter. They are greatly encouraged by the way their mines are turning out.
Messrs. Patterson, Graham and Payne of Ashland are this year prosecuting work at their placer claim on Beaver Creek more systematically than ever before, and will doubtless do well with the property when they hoist out the big boulders which have heretofore interrupted work so seriously.
At the mines of Wimer Bros. and Simmons & Cameron near Waldo, Josephine County, work has been prosecuted with a full head of water for several months past. A break in the ditch interrupted work at the latter's claims for a short time, however. The prospects are good for a big cleanup at both places.
Among the discoveries in the mining line reported lately are those of a fine ledge by Hardin & Co. on the hill facing the old Centennial diggings, from which a considerable amount of gold has already been taken, the first pocket tapped yielding rich ore. Enoch Rhoten has also made another of his pocket finds, from which he took about $250 in one day, and two other prospectors in the same neighborhood, whose names we failed to learn, also struck a pocket from which about several hundred dollars were extracted before it was milked out.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, March 18, 1892, page 3
Many new claims have been located within the last two weeks in the vicinity of the Ashland Mining Company's ledge, and indications point to active mining operations on a large scale in the near future.
The sale is reported of the Riddle nickel mines of Douglas County to an eastern syndicate for the sum of $450,000.
Lucky Bart, who is now in a distance of about 80 feet on his ledge on the Sardine Creek divide, last week shipped a carload of ore to Tacoma for a working test of the mine, before prosecuting work further.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, April 1, 1892, page 3
The placer miners will have a better run than they anticipated, the late rains having furnished considerable water.
We are informed that Dr. Braden has sold his mines, mill, farm, etc., near Gold Hill to parties from Detroit, Mich., for $24,000. Geo. Hayes of Baker City negotiated the sale.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, April 29, 1892, page 2
J. Wells, who discovered such a rich ledge on Bishop Creek, is prospecting it thoroughly, with good results.
A carload of ore from the Patton ledge, in the upper valley, was last week shipped to Portland for a working test.
E. Sanderson Smith, the mining expert, has bonded John Miller's mining property on Farmer's Flat in the interest of parties from abroad.
Water has not been abundant at A. W. Sturgis' diggings in Forest Creek district during the past season, but the output promises to be first-class.
There is still a large supply of water at the mines of J. T. Layton and the Sterling Mining Co., where piping is yet prosecuted on full time. Good cleanups are expected at both places.
Two carloads of quartz from the Ashland mining company's ledge were last week sent to the smelter at Linnton, near Portland, in order to have a practical working test made of the ore, which requires to be roasted in order to be worked.
Geo. Senn will arrive at Cinnabar about the 1st of June, accompanied by a representative of the company which has bonded the Siskiyou Q.M. Co.'s property. Prospects never were better, and there is every probability that a sale will be effected, when operations will be conducted on a large scale.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, May 20, 1892, page 3
Geo. Hines and Ben Thurston of Applegate have discovered a fine ledge near the divide between Galls and Foots creeks, which promises very well.
G. D. Owings has bonded his placer claim near the head of Jackson Creek to H. M. Chapin and D. G. Smith who are prospecting it with considerable success.
Work has been suspended for the present at Cinnabar by the Q.M. Co., and their property will be left in competent hands until such time as operations will be resumed.
Hull, Beck & Co. have made a valuable quartz discovery in their Louse Creek mines in Josephine County. The recent cleanup in their placer claims resulted quite favorably.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, June 24, 1892, page 2
Josephine County is full of prospectors, and a mining boom is on in that section. A number of enterprises are being inaugurated, some of which will doubtless prove valuable.
Geo. Lewis and Yancy Allen came up to Willow Springs precinct with their teams during the week, for the purpose of hauling the Baker quartz mill to Josephine County. It will be set up at the Little Anaconda mine, of which Archie Taylor is superintendent.
A Grants Pass paper says: Wm. Bybee showed some regular '49 nuggets in town last week. They had been taken off the bedrock in the Josephine mine near Rogue River, twelve miles from this city, preparatory to a cleanup. He had a two-ounce vial full of coarse gold and a nice little breastpin nugget weighing $9. He is also busy fixing up the old ditch of the Waldo mine and predicts big pay from old tailings this winter.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, July 22, 1892, page 3
Elliott Creek miners are busy and seem to be doing well.
Dr. Powers of Sacramento, Cal. and Mrs. Sunderhaas, the discoverer of the Young America mine in California, have been at Gold Hill, thoroughly prospecting recent discoveries in that section, and from the favorable showing thus far made, it is highly probable they will make extensive investments in Rogue River Valley.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, August 5, 1892, page 3
Considerable prospecting is still going on in the vicinity of Gold Hill, and several good properties are being developed.
We learn that the "Lucky Bart" mine in Sardine Creek district has been sold to Portland parties for $20,000. It is considered first-class property.
Scott & Short, who are developing a ledge in Sterling district, are doing nicely with an arrastra. The quartz pays well and promises to be abundant.
Geo. Hines and Ben Thurston are developing a ledge in Galls Creek district, which promises nicely. The ore is full of free gold, and what has been crushed has paid very well.
Mrs. Irwin, the present owner of the Braden mine near Gold Hill, has let contracts for getting out a large amount of ore from her ledge. The mill has been compelled to shut down, owing to the scarcity of water.
Judge Crawford of Medford was at Elk Creek lately to examine a large deposit of ore, claimed to be nickel. He reports large croppings of that ore. Samples have been sent away for assay. If the percentage of nickel in the ore is sufficiently large, the mine may prove very valuable.
The company which purchased the Anderson gold quartz mine in Wagner Creek seems greatly encouraged by the outlook. The superintendent, Mr. Wilson, reports that the developments down to two hundred and fifty feet show a continuous body of sulphuret ore of almost regular width. The company received its machinery for the new mill at Ashland last week. It is proposed to erect the machinery at the old planing mill site in Ashland and to utilize that power. The mill and concentrator are erected under a special contract with the inventor, who guarantees a success. The mill crushes the ore, not with stamps, but with rolls, and the crushed ore does not pass over plates, but into the concentrator. The concentration of the copper and iron pyrites in the ore will be accomplished by fans and air currents, blowing the "gangue" away like chaff. The concentrates will be shipped to smelters. A capacity of seventy tons a day is claimed.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, August 12, 1892, page 3
The Medford Mining Co. have sold their placer mine on Klamath River, opposite Ash Creek, [to] J. C. Bayer, W. R. Price and another Portland man for a nice consideration. W. P. Legate will remain and conduct the mine for the new purchasers.
"Brevity Basket," Valley Record, Ashland, September 22, 1892, page 3
Lucky Bart [Signorritti], who recently sold his famous Buckskin mine to Lindley, of Sacramento, has returned to Gold Hill, and will put in the fall and winter prospecting for another bonanza.
"Gold Hill Items," Valley Record, Ashland, September 22, 1892, page 3
J. H. Sowell and son are still engaged in prospecting their quartz ledge in Althouse precinct, and think that they have a bonanza.
Rummel Bros. will be working off bedrock in less than a week in their Klamath River mines. So J. W. Courtney reported last week.
Houck & Schaefer have removed their quartz mill to Woodville, to work up the ore on the dump of the mine they recently purchased from W. J. Stanley, in connection with Robt. Taylor and R. Beswick of Ashland.
The Judson quartz mill, which has been doing service in Slate Creek precinct for some time past, was last week removed to Wolf Creek, where it will be operated on some promising ledges under the management of Mr. Boyd, a first-class mining expert.
C. W. Ayers was out from Portland lately, looking up a mineral exhibit for the exposition, having been given charge of this matter by the managers thereof. Southern Oregon could make a showing second to none in this line, if the necessary attention would be given the matter of securing specimens for a few months in advance of the date set for the exposition. However, we hope no pains will be spared to make a first-class exhibit.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, September 23, 1892, page 3
The Hope No. 2 mine in the upper part of the valley has now out over 200 tons of richer ore than any discovered in the mine prior to the recent rich strike. A day-and-night force has been at work during the last two weeks.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, October 7, 1892, page 3
The Boulder Creek mining company was incorporated last week by prominent citizens of Grants Pass, capitalized at $200,000, with works located at Grave Creek.
G. W. Anderson & Co. will commence crushing ore at their mine on Williams Creek in a short time. The ledge is over several feet in width and assays very well throughout.
The Taylor Placer Mining and Milling Company has been capitalized at $2,000,000, and most of the stock was taken in the East. Developments on a large scale may be looked for there in a very short time.
The Sacramento capitalist Morton Lindley, who recently purchased Lucky Bart's mine on the Sardine Creek divide, is working a large force on the tunnels and is putting up buildings for his men.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, October 14, 1892, page 3
Judson & Gordon have purchased the old Lucky Queen mill for use at their Coyote Creek mine.
J. C. Lewis has put in a Tremaine mill at his Reuben Creek mine, and will soon get after that $100,000 said to be in sight.
Kearns & Gleim now own, and will work to its fullest capacity, the Ramsey placer claim on Jordan Flat, Josephine County.
The late rains have furnished enough water to start some of the placer mines. A. W. Sturgis of Forest Creek is cleaning up the bedrock left over last season.
Holyoke & Anderson are crushing 12 tons daily with their five-stamp mill on Horsehead Gulch, in Williamsburg precinct, Josephine County, and doing well.
The five-stamp mill of the Ashland mining company now being operated at the old planing mill site in Ashland is a complete success and is reducing much low-grade ore at present.
The value of ore in sight at the mine of John C. Lewis of Portland, in Wolf Creek district, is stated to be in the neighborhood of $100,000. The property has sold at various times for from $50 to $3,600, but now is not for sale at any figure.
The pipe and pumps are on the ground at the Taylor Milling and Mining Company's claims, near Leland, Josephine County, to be used in hoisting water to a ridge which will be piped through giants to the diggings below, among the richest in the country.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, December 2, 1892, page 3
Dan Griffiths has struck ore in his shaft at his Hungry Creek mine which assays $25 to the ton.
The frosty weather has had a depressing effect on placer miners, whose work has been seriously interfered with.
Gin Lin is at work at present piping off the land between Cameron's store at Uniontown and the residence of R. J. Cameron.
After a week's run with their two-stamp mill in the Siskiyous recently, the Spencer mining company cleaned up 205 ounces of gold.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, January 27, 1893, page 3
Placer miners will do well this season, having a good supply of water.
T. H. B. Taylor and sons of Pleasant Creek are having a big run, with lots of water, and will doubtless make a nice cleanup in the spring.
S. C. Lawrence has located an extension to the ledge discovered by D. Horn in Galls Creek district, which promises fully as well as the original discovery.
John J. Neathammer is utilizing the fine head of water he has at his mine on Saxe's Creek, in the vicinity of Woodville, and expects to make a good showing when he cleans up.
D. Horn, who found so rich a ledge in Galls Creek district recently, has sold it to a company composed of O. Ganiard, H. L. White and others. Four thousand dollars was the price paid, Horn retaining a number of sacks of rich ore he had already taken out. The new proprietors doubtless have a bonanza, and will work it to the fullest extent.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, March 3, 1893, page 3
A SOUTHERN OREGON MINE
Review of Operations in a Famous Channel Near Jacksonville.
JACKSONVILLE, March 8.--(To the Editor.)--One who has lived in Southern Oregon since 1852, who has carefully noted the discoveries and developments in the various mining localities, and "written up" the mines at different times for eastern papers, visited the famous A. W. Sturgis placer mine on Jackson Creek recently, with a view to gaining some information in regard to the old channel from which Mr. Sturgis has been realizing such handsome returns for the past two years. Those mines were discovered in the spring of 1852 during the mining excitement of that year. They are situated just across the hill, from four to five miles southwest of Jacksonville. The creek has been mined up and down for a distance of about 12 miles. For six miles it has been completely worked out, and the bedrock gone over and over again to a width of 100 yards. The coarser tailings have been thrown up in great cone-shaped piles for miles up and down the flat, presenting a scene of utter desolation, without a vestige of earth to relieve the monotony of the bleaching waste of heaps of stone and gravel--the result of the miners' toil for gold. The whites mined this camp for many years with rockers and toms, and later with sluices, and finally, concluding that what remained would not further justify them to work, they sold out their claims to Chinamen, or abandoned them, and the Chinese got practical possession of the whole creek for a distance of four or five miles. They at once set long lines of sluices and worked the whole creek over again, running through all the old tailings, and very materially widening and increasing the area worked over by the whites. There are no means of determining, even approximately, the amount of gold taken out by the Chinese in this third or fourth working, but the fact that they continued to mine this stream with a large force of men, and with great energy and industry, for 10 or 12 years, would justify the presumption that they at least made good wages.
The writer is informed that one company of Chinese took out $42,000 in a very short time, from the junction of a small gulch, that puts down from the mountain, with the main channel. It is believed that this rich find was deposited there by the cutting of the gulch through the old channel, afterward discovered by Mr. Sturgis. The money was hauled to town by the late John Cantrall and shipped to China. The next year the same company took out $17,000. The last Chinese company that worked these mines took out but little, and got into debt to Mr. Sturgis, who at that time was running a store on Applegate, and as they were not able to pay him when they left, he bought their claim, which covered a distance of 900 yards. He has since bought a number of claims, and now owns 3600 yards of the creek, and thinks, with the plentiful supply of water afforded by the present favorable winter, he may be able to make a fair face on the mine in the remainder of the years allotted to him, but says this is the utmost he can hope to do. Mr. Sturgis, who discovered the back channel, is a broad-minded, philosophical sort of man, a reader and analytical thinker, and withal somewhat of a geologist, who has closely studied geological formations. Many years ago he conceived the idea that there was a much older channel than the one being worked, believing that, from the indications, some time in the past an upheaval or slide had occurred creating the present channel, which appeared in some respects to be modern, and that the original channel had been covered up, and was not far distant from the present one. This conviction was so strong as to induce him to buy out the Chinamen, as stated above, and a footing once secured on the creek, he at once began to run a cut into the bank in search of the lost channel, which he felt certain existed somewhere in the direction he was running. In his efforts to reach this channel, Mr. Sturgis met with many obstacles and disappointments, chiefly of a financial nature, but by courage and determination, driven forward by his convictions, he surmounted all difficulties and drove the cut from year to year further into the bank, and was finally rewarded by the discovery of the proof of his convictions--a back channel, rich in the precious metal, well earned by dint of much labor, personal sacrifice and perseverance.
Geographically, these mines are near the center of the mineral deposits of Jackson County, and Mr. Sturgis is of the opinion that more gold has been taken out of this one camp than from all the other mining camps in the county, but in this he is probably very much mistaken. The mines immediately surrounding Jacksonville have probably produced more gold than any other mining center in Southern Oregon, but even these have fallen far short of having produced as much as all the balance of the camps put together. The output of gold from all the mines in Southern Oregon since their discovery in the fall of 1851 will probably reach $25,000,000, possibly more. Mr. Sturgis has always been very reticent as to the output of his mine, but that it is large and the claim a very valuable one is an open secret. The mine is now fitted up with the most modern hydraulic machinery, and the only drawback is an insufficient supply of water during the summer months. The history of the noted Sterling mine, made famous by the construction of the great ditch from Applegate and the putting in of an immense hydraulic plant by Hon. D. P. Thompson and the late Captain Ankeny, will form the subject of the next article on the Southern Oregon mines. This mine is now yielding handsomely under the management of Mr. Henry Ankeny, and it is rumored that the output of the present year will be much in excess of the past.
Oregonian, Portland, March 11, 1893, page 3
The Hayes-Swinden claim has yielded an unprecedentedly large number of nuggets during the last few months, and they have ranged all the way from $55 in weight to one monster of $375. None prettier have ever been found in this county. It was even reported that a nine-hundred-dollar nugget had been picked up there one day last week.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, April 7, 1893, page 3
An old prospector struck an enormously rich pocket in Willow Springs precinct, near where N. Cooke's store formerly stood. It is said that he has already taken out $1500, and there is plenty of the same ore in sight.
W. E. Jacobs has gone to San Francisco to have the rich ore which he and E. K. Anderson brought from D. Horn, at the time he sold the Last Chance mine, reduced or sold for specimens. It is so rich that the jewelers offer to take the whole lot for specimens, at almost the valuation of its weight in gold. When the jeweler's saw shaves off the specimens the flakes of gold shine like stars in the rock, making the richest ornaments conceivable. The ore now being taken from the mine is also very rich, and a carload of it will also be taken to the smelters below.
Few people in this section realize the interest taken in southern Oregon mines abroad, and the great wave of mining immigration and excitement about to sweep over this valley. In Idaho miners report little else is talked about except the mineral resources and prospects of Jackson and Josephine counties, and ever since the recent shooting scrape in the latter, over the right to work a mine which has hundreds of equals in our section, the interest is growing rapidly. Even in Colorado the miners are contemplating a rush to this section. There will be many rich quartz pockets struck during the next six months, and quite a number [of] fine ledges uncovered. Southern Oregon has waited long, but her day has come.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, April 21, 1893, page 3
Southern Oregon Mines.
C. A. Taylor, who has been securing ore in Josephine County to ship with Oregon's minerals in the world's fair, succeeded in gathering about 3000 pounds of average mineral ore which will run from $20 to $480 per ton. About 30 mines and prospects are represented, with from 50 to 300 pounds of ore from each.
J. B. Magee, of the Annie mine in Bohemia district, Lane County, reviewed the Jackson and Josephine County mining prospects in a talk with the Cottage Grove Echo-Leader reporter on returning to that place last week. "It is impossible to approximate the extent of the Bohemia mines," said Mr. Magee, "as the Annie mine is the only property that has been developed to any considerable depth. And as regards surface prospects, I have never seen anything to equal the Bohemia district in richness. But I have great confidence in the future of Southern Oregon as a mining country. Bohemia is no doubt a part of the great gold belt running north from Yreka through the Siskiyous, the Cow Creek Mountains, the South Umpqua, the Calapooia Mountains, then skirting the head of the Willamette, thence on to the Santiam."
Oregonian, Portland, April 22, 1893, page 8
The Latest Discovery.
Central Point, Or., April 25.--The richest gold strikes in southern Oregon since the days of '52 have been unearthed within two miles of this place in the last two days, and the entire country around here is wild with excitement. If the present exodus from this point to the hills continues, the town will be almost depopulated before the end of the week. The scene of the Hershberger strike, mentioned in the Oregonian a few days ago, was visited today. The rich pay streak continues to grow richer, and they are taking out gold in large quantities. Within two hours this morning more than $500 in coarse gold was taken from the ledge. This mine is in the famous Willow Springs district, which has a gold-producing history dating back to 1852. Within a radius of one mile from the Hershberger claim there are no less than six rich pockets being worked, and from $50 to $100 are being taken out each day by a single miner. Fred. Downing has unearthed about 100 feet on one ledge, which contains a number of pay streaks that show pieces of gold as large as a pea. The main body of the lode is free-milling rock that will run $300 to the ton, and several thousand dollars will be taken from each pocket. The soil from the surface of all the ledges is filled with coarse gold, and is being sacked and stored. The excitement has reached neighboring towns, and prospectors are coming in on every train.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, April 28, 1893, page 3
Told by a Southern Oregon Man--Latest News from the Gold Districts.
A mining man from Southern Oregon was at the St. Charles yesterday, and related to an interested group the latest news from the gold districts. "I've come straight in from the head of Jump-Off Joe Creek," he said, "where Hammersley made his big find. The snow up there is about four feet deep. The trail into town is very narrow and treacherous, running in some places along the trunks of fallen trees. Snow is continually falling, making the rough bark very slippery. Many times this morning in coming over such places I tumbled off into snow up to my neck, and had to flounder around and tramp it down before I could climb back onto the tree again. In spite of the snow we have managed to build a cabin on Mr. Hammersley's claim and dig a shaft 30 feet in depth. At the bottom of the shaft there is a vein from eight to sixteen inches in width. An assay of ore taken from the full width of the lode shows a value of $1335 per ton. The assay was made in Ashland, and some smart fellow heard that the ore was very rich, and immediately telegraphed to the papers that it was worth $500,000 per ton. The mine is situated up on the side of the mountain, and the vein dips at an angle of 45 degrees. Mr. Hammersley knew that there was some fine placer mines in the valley, and came to the conclusion that there must be a rich vein on the mountain. He commenced tracing it up last fall, and finally struck it about four feet below the surface on the spot where the mine has been opened.
"One of the most phenomenal finds has been made very recently by old man Hershberger, about three miles from Central Point. He and his sons were out prospecting and found indications right in the center of the old Jacksonville stage road, near Willow Springs. After uncovering a few inches of earth they found a vein from six to eight inches in width from which, in two hours' time, they took $500 worth of almost solid gold. Anyone but a miner would think a chunk of the vein matter was solid gold. As far as can be seen all of the vein matter is just as rich as that taken out. It is the richest vein I have ever heard of, and yet thousands of people have driven and walked over that very spot without ever thinking of gold. On the other side of the range, at Galls Creek, about seven miles from Gold Hill, a man by the name of D. Horn took out half a dozen sacks of pay dirt which he sold for $3500. He has just sold his claim for $4000 cash.
"Good finds are of daily occurrence, and seem to cause no unusual excitement. People about that part of the country are too lazy to dig gold, and the influx of prospectors is not very great. Gold Hill, you know, was named from the fact that years ago $250,000 worth of gold was dug from its top. An enterprising prospector has hunted up the old vein, and is now preparing to take out a little more of the yellow metal."
Oregonian, Portland, April 29, 1893, page 8
Ed. Smith, owner of the Star mine in Wolf Creek district, is running a two-stamp mill and concentrator and is meeting with fair returns.
The late rains will prolong the present mining season beyond any for many years in southern Oregon, and the old placer mines will be the largest for the past decade.
The Little Anaconda Co.'s mine in the Wolf Creek district has been pretty thoroughly developed, and the two-stamp Tremain mill will be in operation there under the supervision of W. P. Ely during the coming summer.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, May 5, 1893, page 3
A. S. Sturgis, who owns one of the best and most extensive mines in the state, has moved a vast area of dirt this season and is still busy. The last cleanup he made was several weeks ago which realized $1249.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, May 12, 1893, page 2
Dr. Hinkle of Central Point is the owner of a promising quartz ledge in Sardine Creek district, near Murphy Gulch. It is well defined and carries considerable free gold.
The cleanup now being made at A. W. Sturgis' diggings in Forest Creek district is proving a big one. Al. will be several thousand dollars richer than he was in a short time, and nobody envies him his good fortune, for he richly deserves it.
The new pay chute of the Ashland mine recently opened on the surface of the lode at a distance of about nine hundred feet from the working tunnel of the mine, is showing some wonderful prospects at several places. Some of the rock mortared last Friday showed the richest prospect in free gold ever panned out in Ashland. With the development already done and the prospects already opened--the vein explored to a depth of nearly 400 feet and a pay chute or chutes already opened for a thousand feet along the lode--the Ashland, in the opinion of experienced mining men who know what they are talking about, is the best free-milling gold mining property, bearing high grade ore, in the country.---Tidings, June 20.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, July 7, 1893, page 3
RICH GOLD FIELDS.
Among the guests at the Perkins Hotel in Portland is J. M. Hagerty, a mining man who has just returned from a two-months' sojourn in the southern Oregon gold fields, says the Oregonian. Mr. Hagerty is interested in the Okanogan country, where he has spent several years in opening and developing mines, and, although still a young man, is considered an authority on mines. In answer to a query as to the prospects of southern Oregon as a mining section he said:
"After carefully examining the various mining properties there, I have come to the conclusion that mining is only in its infancy in that section of the state. In formation and climate it is an ideal mining country, and the cheapness of labor and provisions and the railroad facilities make it possible to operate mines with a comparatively small outlay of capital. But it has been held back, and still is to a great extent, by reason of a hostile feeling on the part of the oldtimers--properly called 'mossbacks'--against quartz mining. There was no quartz mining carried on in early days, and they do not believe in it. Then, too, there has been a great deal of mineral land fraudulently taken up under the timber and stone act, and they do not want it exposed. The country from Roseburg to Ashland was not originally settled by mining men but by 'camp followers,' who, delighted with the climate, soil and the possibility of making a good living with little labor, squatted in the valleys and raised cattle and fruit sufficient for their own use, and were satisfied. Then the Oregon and California Railroad was built, bringing in new blood and new conditions, but the country was still agricultural. Since 1850 mining has been carried on on a small scale, except in one or two instances, until about three years ago, when a few prospectors from California aroused some interest in quartz mining. But it has not been until within the past year that this new movement has received any real encouragement. The development of the Ashland mine proved the fact that there were good paying ledges in that section, and gave encouragement to a large number of prospectors. The majority of the ledges found, however, and especially the larger ones, are either barren on top or so low grade as to be unprofitable to work.
THE ASHLAND MINE.Democratic Times, Jacksonville, July 14, 1893, page 3
"The owners of the Ashland mine are entitled to a great deal of credit, as well as the profit they are making, for the determined manner in which they continued the development of their property under what seemed the most discouraging outlook. The country between Jacksonville and Gold Hill is very rich in pockets. It is from that section that so many reports of rich strikes originate. There is no doubt that many miners have found pockets from which they have taken out from $500 to $5000 in a single day; but that does not mean that they have discovered a mine, for that single day's work, in all probability, has sufficed to entirely clean out the pocket. These pockets are curious formations, and are caused by slides of decomposed quartz, in stringers, coming from no one knows where. A few months ago an old prospector discovered nearly $5000 in the old stage road near Central Point. The excitement was intense in that section for a while, but perhaps the most excited individual was Postmaster Howard, of Medford. He thought, from the description of the place, that it was on some property he owned. So he engaged the services of a surveyor and hustled out there with blood in his eye, intending to prosecute the lucky prospector and take the gold away from him. But poor Howard was laughed at for his trouble, for when the survey was completed he found that his line came within 10 feet of the coveted spot.
TITLE TO MINING LANDS.
"Another thing that has placed a limit on prospecting, but should not, is the general belief that the grant of lands to the Oregon & California Railroad Company carries with it the right to all minerals not discovered at the time of the grant. This not the case, however, and I can quote to you the clause in the patents the corporation received from the United States government which makes the necessary provision. It reads: 'Excluding and excepting from the transfer by these presents all mineral lands, should any such be found to exist in the tracts described in the foregoing; but this exclusion and exception, according to the terms of the statute, shall not be construed to include coal and iron lands.'
"So, you see, the patents do not pass title to mineral lands other than coal or iron, so that these lands can be prospected in the same manner as government lands and title acquired in like manner. I believe it is to the interest of the railroad company as well as the country at large that this fact should be generally known, as it will give the prospector more courage to know that after he has made a strike he need not be afraid of losing it because it is on railroad land. The railroad company, on the other hand, is fully awake to the value of the mining interests in southern Oregon, and is quietly influencing immigration and capital in that direction. There is more legitimate prospecting and mining being done at the present time in the Wolf Creek district, between Riddle and Gold Hill, than in any other section I visited. They have already located some good properties there, and I expect to see some good mines as a result of the work being done. The public would have heard of some big transfers in mining property had it not been for the panic which struck the country about two months ago. I know of several bona fide deals which could not be closed on account of the stringency of money. The same reason can be assigned for the cessation of development work in many instances, for it takes lots of money to develop a gold mine and put it on a paying basis."
Southern Oregon Mines.
The capitalists of South Bend, Wash., who are represented by Judge Holcomb and Colonel Etner, are enlarging their operations in Southern Oregon and inducing other men of wealth to invest in our mines.
The machinery which propels the Burleigh drill at the Ashland Mining Company's mine is in operation. It will take some time to bore the tunnel with which it is intended to tap the ledge at a lower level, as it will be 600 feet long.
The report that Colonel Ewing has bonded the Mountain Lion mine in Missouri Flat district is erroneous. The original proprietors are still working it and have struck free-milling ore that will assay $300 to the ton. This is one of the best mines in Southern Oregon.
The Tidings says that F. W. Hogg, who had a bond on the Buckeye mine of Fred Grob, near Jacksonville, has bonded the property to Holcomb & Etner, who will put men at work to prospect it within 20 days. The mine is on Jackson Creek, about four miles north of Jacksonville. It was first prospected about 20 years ago and has a 30-foot shaft and a 50-foot tunnel in it. The ledge is about three feet wide, and samples of rock from the old dump are rich in free gold.
Oregonian, Portland, July 31, 1893, page 4
Beekman & Reames' bank has been buying more gold dust this year than any during a long time.
The Hope mine in Talent precinct, which belongs to G. S. Butler, L. W. Burriss, S. D. Taylor and others, as also two locations on extensions of the same, have been bonded to Gund & Edwards of Seattle, Wash., for $12,000.
Work is steadily progressing on the new tunnel of the Ashland mine, which will be 600 feet long when completed. Although the hardest rock is encountered, the Burleigh drill is moving ahead at the rate of five feet a day.
Wimer Bros., who own extensive placer mines in Waldo district, have made a partial cleanup. A representative of the Times while at Grants Pass last week, saw two bags of gold, weighing nearly 40 pounds, which had been taken out so far. It was something handsome to look at. As this represents nearly $10,000, it will readily be seen that Messrs. Wimer will have a profitable season.
John C. Lewis, who is operating extensively in Wolf Creek mining district, has just received a concentrator weighing 2200 pounds. He is operating one of the richest quartz ledges in southern Oregon on a small scale.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, August 11, 1893, page 3
The Sterling Mining Co. is engaged in cleaning up and the prospects for a good yield are excellent.
A. W. Sturgis of Jackass district has finished this season's work and made a big cleanup, running well up into the thousands.
It is said that a genuine fissure vein has been struck at Dr. Hinkle's mines in Sardine Creek district. The ore prospects very well.
Simmons, Cameron & Co., who are operating an extensive mining claim in Waldo district, Josephine County, have finished cleaning up and realized handsomely from the past season's work.
The placer mines of Jackson and Josephine counties yielded better during the past season than any for years past. Many thousands of dollars of gold have been put into circulation during the past few months.
W. H. Hampton, the well-known mineralogist, negotiated the sale of the Dysert mining property in Grave Creek district to Portland capitalists, and is taking steps to acquire adjoining placer mines. It is the intention to incorporate a stock company and inaugurated a big mining enterprise.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, August 18, 1893, page 3
The Sterling Mining Co. is engaged in cleaning up, and the prospects for a good yield are excellent.
The Mountain Lion mine in Missouri flat district has been bonded to John H. Simons for $12,000.
Work on the Clark mine in Williams Creek district will soon be resumed, Portland parties having purchased it.
Prospectors still continue to be numerous, and a great deal of prospecting is being done in Jackson and Josephine counties.
Work at most of the mines in Williams Creek district has been temporarily suspended. Some good prospects have been found.
Messrs. Burke and Drew, who purchased a mine in Jump-Off Joe district, are expected to return in a few days with machinery to work the mine.
F. Grob and J. Nunan, representing Joe Braendle, this week bonded their quartz mine in Jackson Creek district to Fred. Hogg, Judge Holcomb and others.
The placer mines on Wolf and Grave creeks have paid better this season than for a long time past. It is said that at least $10,000 will be cleaned up at the Ruble mine.
Simmons, Cameron & Co. of Waldo district will operate on a larger scale than ever next season, and have invested in 2,500 feet of hydraulic pipe, which J. L. Wildren will put together at the mine.
Interest in the nickel mine affairs was much awakened by the arrival of Col. W. H. Taylor of Chicago at Riddle Friday morning. Col. Taylor, who is one of the principal owners of the property, comes direct from London, England, where he has been negotiating the sale of the mines to an English syndicate. He was accompanied here by his associate, Mr. J. H. Brand, and with Supt. S. B. Cobb and C. W. Quackenbush proceeded directly to the mines. Just what will be the result of his visit here is unknown, but it is thought the work will be resumed at an early day, as we are informed that plenty of capital is available as soon as some difficulty among the stockholders is settled.--[Roseburg Review.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, August 25, 1893, page 3
MINING NEWS.The Columbia Mining Co. of Grants Pass has filed articles for the purpose of working the Anaconda mine, situated in Applegate district in Josephine County. The amount of the capital stock is $100,000. Allen Nevin, A. C. Tayler and Robert Smith are the incorporators.
A quartz ledge has been discovered on one of E. E. Miner's farms in Gold Hill precinct, which promises very well. It is six feet wide and grows richer and is better defined as development progresses. Some of the ore taken from the ledge at a depth of thirty feet was sent to the celebrated Selby smelting works of San Francisco and assayed at the rate of $14.50 per ton. As this mine is located in one of the richest mining districts of southern Oregon, Mr. Miner naturally feels highly elated.
The Grants Pass Observer says that rich placers are being worked on Powell's Creek, a tributary of Williams Creek, in Josephine County. There are already eighteen claims located on the creek, which cover a distance of about five miles, and leave about three and one-half miles further up the stream yet vacant. There seems to be a rich bar at the bottom, which is from 16 to 35 feet wide and very rich. This pay chute does not seem to have any direct course, but runs in all directions along the creek bed. From $4 to $8 per day for each man with pick and shovel has been realized this summer from some of the mines. Powell's Creek furnishes water the year round. Bedrock is reached at a depth of from two to eight feet, and the ground is easily worked. The gold found is coarse.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, September 15, 1893, page 3
MINING NEWS.A. W. Shearer picked up an 8-ounce nugget in his claim on Steamboat last week, while cleaning up.
Dr. W. H. Flanagan of Grants Pass, having bought an interest in the Golden Fleece mine near Ashland, will move his quartz mill, which has been working on Williams Creek, thither.
The Siskiyou Q.M. Co. has let the contract for running two tunnels at Cinnabar. Drake & Co. have one and Haskins Bros. the other. Work will be commenced at once, and will be pushed as rapidly as possible.
H. C. Dollarhide and Harvey Roach, who are working at their coal mine in the Siskiyous, have found a good lignite coal and believe the tunnel they are now running will strike a vein of sufficient thickness to pay for working.
J. C. Antonelle, who is engaged in constructing a canal to be used for mining purposes for A. L. Lewis in Wolf Creek district, has fifty men at work now and will soon increase the price [sic] to 250. The canal will be 16½ miles long and will be used for hydraulic mining purposes.
The Staples & VanVactor mine at the Sterling ledge on head of Hungry Creek in California is now running its new ten-stamp mill. Wm. Patterson runs the engine on one shift, and Owen Dunlap of Phoenix is also employed at the mine. Altogether, about twenty men are at work there now, and probably ten will be retained all winter.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, October 20, 1893, page 3
MINING NEWS.Since the arrival of the Huntington mill at the Golden Fleece mine near Ashland, attention has been attracted to that locality, and several pieces of land near have been bonded.
Lon. Edwards has his men at work at the Hope mine, which was bonded a short time ago by Gund & Edwards. They are cleaning out the old prospect shaft at a point near the dividing line of the "Hope" and "Shorty" claims. The shaft was filled up with waste by the men who worked the mine last. After it is cleaned out and retimbered it will be sunk deeper upon the ledge in prospect work.
Phil. Miller, who is superintending operations at the Miller mines on Farmers Flat, is making preparations for the next season's run.
John Simons left Tuesday morning to commence operations on the Bailey mine on Missouri Flat, which has been bought by a Portland syndicate.
Drew & Co. are about to put up a five-stamp mill on the quartz ledge which they recently purchased from G. R. Hammersley in Jump-Off Joe district.
Jos. Wolfstein and J. Weill have located 40 acres of mining ground near the Oregon line and have acquired water rights on Dutch Creek, a tributary of Elliott Creek.
Messrs. Poppleton & Bishop, the gentlemen owning the dry-wash machine, which was given a successful trial at Al. Sturgis' claim this week, have bonded the Owens claim in Jackson Creek district and will put a force of men to work on the mine as soon as possible. The machine is evidently a success and will make it possible to work many claims in this section which have not paid before on account of lack of water.
Messrs. Poppleton & Bishop, who have invented a machine for dry-process washing, have been experimenting with it [on] Al. Sturgis' placer claim. They passed six buckets of tailings from the Sturgis mine through the machine and got about 15 cents in gold from it. The dirt was afterward panned out without raising a color. The owners of the machine will work the tailings of the Sturgis mine and expect to make it pay.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, November 3, 1893, page 3
MINING NEWS.Wimer Bros. have commenced piping at their claim in Waldo district.
Siskiyou County produced over $900,000 worth of gold last year, and this year it will exceed around $1,000,000.
Work is being pushed rapidly on claims in the Applegate section, and prospects are very favorable for a good season.
About 200 men are at work on the 15-mile ditch being constructed in Wolf Creek district to work the placer claims located by W. H. Hampton and J. C. Lewis.
The monthly cleanup of the Ashland mine resulted in a brick weighing over $5,000. This is one of the best-paying and [most] reliable pieces of mining property in the district.
Z. F. Moody of Salem, son of ex-Governor Moody, is interested with Dr. Flanagan and Messrs. Shannon and Hill in the Golden Fleece mine near Ashland, and came to see how the work of putting up the mill progresses. It is expected the mill will be started by the middle or last of this week.
Geo. F. Gund, the Seattle member of the firm of Gund & Edwards, arrived in Ashland last week, accompanied by Geo. T. Miliken, the expert who was here last summer. In company with Mr. Edwards they have put in the present week examining the Hope mine and other properties in which Gund & Edwards are interested.
All the miners on the Klamath River are now doing good work with excellent success in taking out gold dust at their several claims, the weather being fine for carrying on mining operations in that stream. The same may be said of the miners along Humbug Creek, and other tributaries of the Klamath throughout the entire county and in Trinity County adjoining.
A rich strike has been made at the Golden Eagle mine on Williams Creek. R. M. Garrett and Jack Garvin of Ashland, part owners in the mine, brought a sack of ore to Ashland last week weighing nineteen pounds, out of which they got over $250 in gold. By washing and panning the ore went from $25,000 to $30,000 to the ton, and one lump they had assayed went over $100,000 to the ton. The ore was taken from a 30-foot prospect shaft on a ledge three feet wide, and is located within a half-mile of the Bone of Contention ledge. Arrangements will soon be made to work the mines through the winter.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, November 10, 1893, page 3
MINING NEWS.The placer miners are ready for the winter's run.
A great deal of prospecting is still going on in southern Oregon, and some discoveries which promise well are being made.
The Sterling Mining Co. still has a good supply of water and has been engaged in piping for several months past, something never known before in the history of the mines.
Lindley & Co. of California, who purchased the Lucky Bart mine on Sardine Creek some time since, have put up a first-class mill, which is running steadily on good ore. This promises to be one of the best pieces of mining property in southern Oregon.
Prospectors when out of reach of assayers to test their ore can by the following method determine whether the rock to be tested carries mineral or not: When you desire to make the test pulverize the rock very fine; then take one part of the pulp and two parts of common gunpowder; mix them together with enough water to make a stiff dough; work it up and mix thoroughly together in your hands; then form into a cone or pyramid and let it dry in the sun or near a fire. When dry, set the cone on a flat stone and put a live coal on top of the cone. When it has sizzled and sputtered itself out the mineral, if there was any in the rock, will be found in the shape of a button on the stone.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, November 17, 1893, page 2
MINING NEWS.The cold weather is interfering with the miners.
A new million-dollar smelting plant for San Francisco Bay is projected by a syndicate of Omaha capitalists, headed by Wm. Selover. The company is to be known as the Occidental Smelting and Refining Company, and it will handle all kinds of ores. It is said the Great Falls, Montana plant will be duplicated.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, December 29, 1893, page 3
MINING NEWS.The placer miners are busy.
Alex. Orme, the well-known miner of Foots Creek, was in our midst last week.
Francis Fitch has been confined to his room for several days with a severe attack of grippe.
The Lucky Bart mining company have shut down their mill for the present, owing to the bad roads.
Ennis & Cameron are running on full time at their placer mines in Galice Creek district, having an abundant supply of water.
Messrs. Hall & Sleezer, who found a promising quartz ledge in Tallowbox district, are making preparations to develop it.
Considerable rain fell during the week and water is running freely again, much to the joy of the miners, who have been frost-bound for awhile.
Operations have been resumed at A. W. Sturgis' placer mines in Jackass district, and a big run will doubtless be made there during the next few months.
Four prospectors from Tacoma and Mr. Culp have discovered good placer diggings in Steamboat precinct, near T. B. Houston's residence, and are engaged in working them.
Knott, Swinden and Donson of the Marland mine, in Kane Creek district, have commenced a 500-foot tunnel on their property and expect to do a great deal of work this season.
G. W. Rowland and A. J. Daley, who are operating a Chile mill and arrastra at their quartz mine near Gold Hill, are pleased with the prospects. The ore looks well, and they expect to make a respectable cleanup.
It is said that a ten-stamp mill will soon be put up by J. C. Lewis, the Portland mining man, on the Green quartz mine on Galice Creek. This mine has been worked occasionally for the past eighteen years and has proved to be a paying property.
A number of discoveries of rich quartz in different portions of southern Oregon are being reported regularly. Some first-class mines are certain to be developed in the near future. This is the richest mineral region in the whole state.
Fred. Miller of Missouri Flat was in Grants Pass lately, and reports that work on the Mountain Lion mine is being pushed vigorously. A new quartz mill will soon be placed in position, to take the place of the arrastra now in use. First-class ore is being taken out.
Messrs. Boynton, Razee and Tobler of Grants Pass, who have been prospecting the old Thompson Creek ledge, have received sufficient encouragement to put up a five-stamp mill, which is expected to arrive before long. They have struck a well-defined and rich vein of quartz.
The Taylor Mining Co. of Chicago has recently paid off a large part of its debts, and will resume work soon in the Wolf Creek district. A large amount of machinery has been standing on the cars there for months, owing to the inability of the company to pay the freight.--[Roseburg Review.
Locators of quartz claims should keep in mind the following provisions of the law in regard to assessment work on claims for 1893: "The claimant or claimants of any mining locations, in order to secure the benefits of this act, shall cause to be recorded in the office where the location notices or certificate is filed, on or before December 31st, 1893, a notice that he or they in good faith intend to work said claim."
F. V. Skiff, chief of the department of mines and mining at the World's Fair, compliments Oregon highly on the showing made in the department. The miniature placer mine is especially praised. The exhibit is characterized as being a full and complete display of the resources of the state in that direction, and much credit is due C. W. Ayer, the mining commissioner, for his success despite the adverse circumstances he labored under.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, December 22, 1893, page 2
Brown & Lawrence recently made a mill test of the ore from their mine in Gold Hill district, at the Braden mill, with good results.
T. F. Dugan and Bernard Loran, who are mining on Rich Gulch, think that they have struck the old back channel and expect to be well rewarded for their work.
The Times was incorrectly informed in stating that a large force of men is employed at the Lucky Bart mine. Mr. Lindley, the principal owner, informs us that not much work is being done there on account of the bad roads in that section.
W. B. Flamm, who found the rich pocket near Bald Mountain in Jackson Creek district a short time since, has received returns from the ore he sent below for reduction through Beekman & Reames' bank. There was between $300 and $400 in gold and a small percentage of silver, which, while not as much as was reported, is a nice cleanup for a few hours' work.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, January 18, 1894, page 3
MINING NEWS.The Golden Eagle Mining Co. have a force of men at work building a road to their mines in Williams Creek district, in order to haul the ore to the mill, which is two miles distant. There are 75 tons of quartz on the dump, to be milled when the weather settles, and they have a prospect shaft down 80 feet.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, January 25, 1894, page 3
MINING NEWS.The company interested in the Mountain Lion group of mines in the Missouri Flat district have purchased a 5-stamp mill with concentrator, which will be shipped in a few days. The prospects for a paying property are very encouraging.
John Fullerton and John Rast have sold the Steam Beer placer mines, located in Grave Creek district, to Elvin Nicodemus of Chicago, and the consideration was $6000. These mines have been worked for several years past, under the management of Frank Oggier, and have yielded a good income, says the Roseburg Review. The property comprises about 160 acres of placer ground, adjoining the mines owned by the Taylor company. The new owner has taken possession, and will work the mines on a much larger scale than heretofore.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, February 1, 1894, page 3
A section in which mining has moved rapidly forward this year is southern and southwestern Oregon. Last year the production of the territory within the boundaries of Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson and Josephine counties was $149,194.17 in gold and $246.17 in silver. This year promises to exceed those figures by many thousands. Although the state of Oregon has not made much noise about its mineral wealth, the report of the director of the mint shows its rank as a gold producer to be seventh, having an accredited production of $20,000,000 since the organization of the government mints and assay offices. Oregon today unquestionably offers one of the best fields on the North American continent for the gold miner, and many have been extremely fortunate within the past year.--Northwest Mining Review.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, February 5, 1894, page 3
MINING NEWS.Messenger Bros., who are engaged in placer mining in Williamsburg precinct, recently cleaned up nearly $200 in nuggets.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, February 15, 1894, page 3
The Siskiyou Quicksilver Mining Company have levied an assessment of 7 cents per share on the capital stock of the company, to carry on the development work now in progress.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, March 15, 1894, page 3
SOUTHERN OREGON MINES.
Preparations Are Being Made for Successful Prospecting.
A Portland prospector, who has spent several seasons in Southern Oregon, says that there is a perfect dearth of mining news in the big camps of that section. Most of the well-established placers and ledges are being worked steadily, but not on the extensive scale that would prevail if the investment of capital could be secured. Prospectors are not nearly so numerous as in former years, not because there is any abatement of the gold fever, or that the best part of the country has been worked over, but simply because it is now difficult even to secure a grubstake, and a prospector without his grubstake is like an artisan without his tools. The gold-bearing districts have never been thoroughly prospected by practical miners. The hordes that have poured over them in former years were on the lookout for rich pockets, where they might pick up a small fortune in a single season, and they had neither the cunning nor patience to locate and develop quartz ledges. Just now, although interest is apparently flagging, such is not really the case. Parties are forming almost every week, and the most careful preparations being made for successful prospecting. Most of these parties are headed by men who have spent years in the business, and who are competent to judge from surface croppings what the lower levels may be expected to bring forth. It is predicted that before the summer is over the Southern Oregon gold belt will offer exceptional opportunities to investors.
Oregonian, Portland, May 20, 1894, page 12
Tolo Mining Company.
The Tolo Mining Company had a meeting of trustees last evening and elected the following officers: President, Judge William H. Reid; vice president, Judge J. L. McMurray; secretary, J. B. Cromwell; treasurer, J. C. Fairchild; metallurgist, Peter Daly.
The property of the company is situated in Jackson County, Oregon, near Tolo, and is said to be a very valuable piece of property. The company has contracted for a mill, and the development of the mine will proceed at once.
Tacoma Daily News, September 8, 1894, page 1
AT THE TOLO MINE.
An Economical Method of Mining Now Employed.
JACKSONVILLE, Or., April 1.--The pumping plant at the Tolo mine was started up Saturday. The method of operating differs radically from that generally employed. A marine boiler, of 200 horsepower, and a duplex Gardiner pump are used. The boiler is placed at the lower end of the claim, and the pump on the bank of Rogue River, 742 feet from the boiler. The power is transmitted from the boiler to the pump through a 2½-inch pipe. To avoid condensation as far as possible, the pipe is boxed and covered with dry sand. The distance from the pump to the end of the water pipe, to which the giant is attached, is 1500 feet and the elevation 55 feet. The plant worked as well as any hydraulic plant could. The steam gauge at the boiler indicated a pressure of 80 pounds and that of the pumps 60 pounds. With 43 pounds as the natural gravity, or pressure, at 100 feet, it was found that 40 pounds of pressure at the pump was equal to 100 feet of gravity pressure, so a pressure equal to 150 feet was being used. It will be understood, of course, that this is only a small part of the power of which the boiler is capable.
The success of this plant and its cheapness, as compared with the construction of long and expensive ditches, will commend it to public favor, and the result may be to revolutionize mining all over the coast. If, for instance, it was desired to mine any of the numerous bars on Rogue River or Applegate, many of which are known to be fine-paying propositions, with water to handle them, instead of being required to dig a ditch at a cost of $7500 to $100,000, which would be practically prohibitive, a plant of this character might be put in and these bars successfully worked at a cost not greater than $1500, all ready for operation.
Oregonian, Portland, April 2, 1895, page 3
HYDRAULIC MINING.Northwest Mining Review, Spokane, Washington, June 3, 1895, page 281
A Tacoma Company Operating in Southern Oregon.
Some months ago we chronicled the incorporation of the Tolo Mining Company with headquarters at Tacoma in this state.
The company secured a tract of placer ground and some gold quartz property in southern Oregon, devoting their early attention to the development of the quartz mines from which they took more than $10,000 besides putting several tons of ore, valued at $10 or $15 per ton, on the dump.
It is now reported that they have equipped their placer mine with a steam hydraulic plant which is described by the Ledger as follows:
The method adopted by the Northern Pacific in washing down the bluff on Pacific Avenue gave the present owners of the mine an idea as to the manner of working it. They determined as an experiment to put in a steam hydraulic plant. The experiment has proven entirely successful.
A few months ago the company purchased the tract and invested about $25,000 in the new scheme. The ground being now worked is 1,500 feet from the river and the elevation sixty-five feet. A 150-horsepower engine is located along the line of the pipe 760 feet from the river and steam is conveyed to a large Gardner pump located on the river bank. With this arrangement about 2,000 gallons of water a minute is forced through a heavy pipe to a giant located at the mine, and similar to the one now at work on the bluff north of the Ocean warehouse on Tacoma's harbor.
As a rule the company uses a pressure of about 130 pounds through the giant, or equal to nearly a 300-foot head of water. Commencing at the lower portion of the mine is a large sluicebox with a number of feeders above.
The mine employs eight men. About five weeks ago they began to sluice down the earth. As yet there has been no cleanup. The fifty-six ounces secured in the first twenty days' work came off the bedrock. It will be some time before a cleanup is made, but there is every indication that when it is, many thousands of dollars will be realized.
Last Tuesday, in working farther up the hill, an old channel of cement and gravel was struck, which promises to be quite extensive. It is from two and a half to three and a half feet thick, probably extending several hundred feet around the hill. The Tolo company's miners had worked on the channel but a short time, when after washing down the bedrock that day several nuggets of gold were picked up, the largest weighing over $100. The bedrock, which is a decomposed granite, when left exposed slacks in the weather, and as it too is known to be gold bearing, the giant can be profitably run over the same ground again in a few months.
Moses Lee claims to have found a rich quartz lead on Jump-off Joe. He shows some rich specimens.
Mark Whipple, the tall sycamore of Woodville precinct, who has a valuable placer mine on Jump-off Joe, was down last week to pay his friends a visit.
We learn the hoisting works at the Hammersley are in position and are working finely. The mill is running steadily, and some big cleanups will be made soon, as the ore is very rich, and it will be pushed for all there is in it.
John Robinson, the popular merchant of Wilmer, went to Grants Pass Saturday evening, returning Sunday morning. He also has a rich placer and is making a big cleanup, having already picked up several hundred dollars in nuggets.
(Jacksonville Times.)The Mountain Lion mine in Missouri Flat district, which is again being operated by Bailey, Davidson & Co., shows a good quality of ore and plenty of it. It will be heard from in the near future.
The hoisting works at the Hammersley ledge in Jump-off Joe district have been placed in position and work well. The mill is running steadily, and a big cleanup is expected by Quinn & Lindley, who have the mine bonded.
Kinney, Shearer & Co., who now have their placer mines in Steamboat district well rigged up, expect to make a good report in due time. They have a sawmill in operation to furnish them with the necessary lumber.
Birdsey, Knotts & Swinden of the "Roaring Gimlet" mine in Kane district have a lot of good ore at the Braden mill and expect good results. They recently struck a pocket from which they extracted over a thousand dollars.
Applegate Bros., who struck a rich pocket on Lane's Creek a short time since, and whose shaft caved in when 20 feet deep, when the ore body was getting richer, are running a 100-foot tunnel to strike the ledge at a depth of fifty feet. The mine gives every evidence of permanence and richness.
G. W. Boggs arrived from Tacoma, Wash.. a few days since, and will look after his extensive mining interests on Elliott Creek. The sawmill he ordered will soon arrive, and will be in operation as soon as possible. Southern Oregon needs just such men as Mr. Boggs to develop her industries.
The sale of Ennis & Cameron's placer mines in Galice Creek district to Messrs. Bent and Alexander, formerly of Colorado, has been confirmed. The new firm will take possession as soon as their predecessors finish cleaning up their season's work, which will be the latter part of July. In the neighborhood of $20,000 was paid for the property, which is among the best in Oregon.
Northwest Mining Review, Spokane, Washington, June 3, 1895, page 282
Albert Ziniker came out from the Bohemia mines Thursday, bringing with him 15 pounds of gold bullion from the Music mine.
R. Anderson has leased the Red Oak mine on Galls Creek and will put a force at work at once. Joe Phillips is to be foreman.
A nugget weighing $165 was unearthed last week in the placer claim of Hager & Jenks on Canyon Creek, 10 miles from Kerbyville.
C. L. Morton has two shifts of men working on his Galls Creek placer proposition. He will not stop until he reaches the true channel.
Dr. Willis Everett, at one time employed at the Hope mine in Talent district, but now of Tacoma, Wash., is looking at some of our mining properties.
Northwest Mining Review, Spokane, Washington, August 12, 1895, page 362
Last month 46,624 pounds of ore were shipped from the Ashland mine to the Selby Smelting & Lead Co. at San Francisco. The value was $132.75 per ton, or $3000 for the whole. The shipment was the product of the work of four men for 32 days.
Work is being pushed on the Waldo and Siskiyou copper mines with a full force of men.
Josephine County.About one hundred men are at work on the Hampton ditch on upper Grave Creek.
The tunnel on the Fidelity mine is driven into the hill 260 feet, and the ore taken out is to be milled at the Anderson & Holyoke mill.
A five-stamp mill will soon be added to the two-stamp mill now in operation on the Mt. Reuben property of J. C. Lewis. The ore runs $14 per ton, and there is a 12-foot vein.
It is reported that a three-foot vein of rich ore has been encountered at the 115-foot level of the Hammersley mine.
Northwest Mining Review, Spokane, Washington, September 15, 1895, page 396
The Golden Standard mine on Galls Creek is producing some very rich ore.
A contract has been let on Louse Creek for a ditch 260 rods long, to be three feet wide at the bottom. The parties letting the contract are Messrs. Hull, Beck and Pelton.
The Hammond mill will soon be in operation on the Steamboat ledge.
Another giant and other machinery is to be purchased to equip the mine of Williams and Ladd with.
Two hundred acres of land have been located within the past few weeks, which runs well in copper. Samples show from 14 to 18 percent.
Northwest Mining Review, Spokane, Washington, October 15, 1895, page 403
HISTORY OF THE FIRST QUARTZ MILL IN OREGON.
The mining industries in Southern Oregon have taken on new life lately. Yesterday's Oregon Mining Journal, from Grants Pass, is full of news of that section as well as of the mining history of the country. It says:
"Jackson County had the honor of receiving the first quartz mill introduced into Oregon. The Gold Hill mine had just been discovered, and the owners were working in an arrastra quartz worth a dollar a pound. The old machine, with its cumbersome drags, lazy mules, etc., became repulsive to its owners, although they were dividing 1000 ounces of gold a week. So, in 1860, they let a milling contract to Henry Klippel, one of the firm, who went to San Francisco and purchased a 12-stamp mill, of the style then used. It had low, iron mortars, with wooden housings and six stamps working in each mortar. It was shipped by sea to Scottsburg, on the Umpqua, and hauled thence by team to Jacksonville, the steam engine and boiler accompanying. The freight bill alone was $2500, and the total cost of the mill when erected was $12,000. Its first performance was the reduction of 100 tons of refuse quartz from the vein, which had been thrown aside as too poor for the arrastra process. It yielded $100 per ton. The next run was on ordinary quartz from the mine, and much to the surprise of all it yielded only $3 a ton, owing, as was supposed, to defective amalgamation. Another run yielded only $2.40 per ton, and operations ceased. Later, the mill and engine passed into the hands of Jewett Brothers, who placed them on their mine, near Grants Pass, where they did good service for quite a while. Later still, they were converted into a sawmill. When last heard from the engine was in use at Parker's sawmill, on Big Butte Creek, in Jackson County. It should be preserved as a relic."
Oregonian, Portland, November 24, 1895, page 9
Southern Oregon Pocket Mines.
The pocket mines of Southern Oregon have yielded over $1,000,000 during the past 30 years. The following is a record of the production of each of the more noted and best-attested mines:
Steamboat . . . . . $315,000He would be a rash man who would say that no more pockets as rich as these lie within Southern Oregon.
Gold Hill . . . . . . . 150,000
Jewett . . . . . . . . . . 40,000
Blackwell . . . . . . . 10,000
Holman . . . . . . . . 10,000
Davenport . . . . . . 8,000
Hicks . . . . . . . . . . 2,000
Oregonian, Portland, November 24, 1895, page 9
ON THE ILLINOIS.
Two Well-Defined Ledges of Copper Discovered.
E. M. Albright, C. D. Reaser and J. D. F. Stevenson last week discovered two ledges of copper on Rancherie Creek, in the same district as the mines of the Siskiyou Copper Company, on the lower Illinois, and about 2½ miles south of the company's mines. These gentlemen have been prospecting in that neighborhood all summer. Two of them, Albright and Reaser, were the locators of the Siskiyou mines, and sold them through Captain A. M. Brown to that company. At their present location, they have exposed two large, well-defined ledges of copper, which apparently is of the same grade as that of the Siskiyou mines. They have five claims in that neighborhood, from one of which they have taken out about 10 tons of ore.
William Stock, D. W. Jones, and E. E. Johnson this week sold their Oak Flat placer mines, on Illinois River, to C. L. Mangum, of Grants Pass, who, on the same afternoon, conveyed them to Michael McDermott, of Portland, This property is considered very valuable. Last winter it was mined by ground sluicing and yielded 40 cents per cubic yard. Mr. McDermott will improve the property this winter, and next season he will equip it with a large hydraulic plant.
OTHER SOUTHERN OREGON MINES.Oregonian, Portland, November 24, 1895, page 9
On Applegate River.
B. B. Haney and John Hustle, of Tacoma, have bought from Messrs. Cameron & Boaz a large tract of placer ground on the Applegate River, near Uniontown, and will proceed at once to equip the same with a good hydraulic plant. A part of this gravel has been worked for 40 years, by ground sluicing, and has always yielded large returns. It is thought that when it is brought under the pipe it will prove a great property.
Louse Creek.J. A. Peterson, of the Young-Love and Peterson mine, on Louse Creek, has for the past six weeks kept eight men constantly employed. Mr. Peterson expects to get opened up about February 1 and commence to pipe.
Joseph Pollock brought into Grants Pass the other day a fair-sized pile of gold, cleaned up in his arrastra on Louse Creek. Out of three tons of ore he obtained $165.
Big Picket Creek.Frank J. Owens, who purchased the Old Sturgeon mine, on Big Pickett Creek, for a California company, has landed in Grants Pass for the mine a carload of pipe, giants, and a full equipment of hydraulic machinery. All of these have been sent in [to] the mine.
Josephine Mine Leased.William Bybee has leased the Josephine mine, on Rogue River, to J. M. Underwood, of Indianapolis, under a contract of sale.
SOUTHERN OREGON MINES.
The Mill at the Steamboat Mine Ready to Start.
The news of Southern Oregon's mines printed below is taken from yesterday's Oregon Mining Journal, of Grants Pass:Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
The King-Smith Mining Company owns the celebrated Steamboat mine. The company lately struck the main ledge, which has been sought for ever since 1865. Fowler, Glenn & Co., who worked the mine at that period, took out nearly $400,000, and then lost the ledge. G. S. Smith has been prospecting for the lost ledge for the past five years, and at last his efforts have been crowned with success. The ledge runs in a northerly direction, dipping to the east. The company has 250 tons of ore ready to mill, averaging $25 in free gold, and the sulphurets running as high as $3000 per ton. The mill is now ready to start, and will be under the supervision of G. W. Smith, assayer, of Ashland. King Bros., of Portland, part owners of the mine, arrived lately and proceeded to Steamboat Creek.
J. Bous, of the Black Gold Channel mine, on Foots Creek, is in San Francisco completing arrangements for equipping and working the mine. The California mining exchange is now in full ownership of the property. It is said that two hoisting shafts run by water will be put in for the underground work, and new buildings and conveniences generally will be put in. If the plans mature, about 100 men will be employed.
The Macomber-Grayson Company has secured possession of the Richmond mine. This is a promising prospect on the Applegate. The company proposes to do considerable development work, and, if this work should confirm present indications, a mill will be put in.
Call Bros., on Upper Pleasant Creek, will put pipe and giant on their placer claim this fall.
Oregonian, Portland, December 1, 1895, page 6
In the southwestern part of Oregon, at Grants Pass and Medford, the placer mines are being worked with much success.
The Illinois River copper mines, Oregon, are giving employment to twenty-five men. The smelting plant has all been hauled in ready to be set up.
Portland and San Francisco men have purchased the McCarthy & Durphy gravel claim of 400 acres in Jackson County, Oregon, and it will be worked systematically next season.
The placer fields on the Olalla section, Douglas County, Oregon, have been worked on a small scale for about forty years, but none of the channels have ever been piped by the hydraulic process.
"Mines & Gossip," The Mining Industry and Review, December 5, 1895, page 243
Five stamps have been added to the mill and thirty-five men are at work at the Hammersley mine, Jump-Off Joe district, Oregon.
Foots Creek, which is twelve miles up Rogue River from Grants Pass, Oregon, is attracting considerable attention on account of the richness of its mines.
The Oregon Mining Journal is authority for the statement that the pocket mines of Oregon have yielded over $1,000,000 during the past thirty years.
N. A. Stevens, of the Illinois Valley country, Oregon, has eighteen miles of mining ditch now finished, and expects that mining operations there will be very active this winter.
Cameron & Boaz have sold a large tract of their mining ground near Uniontown, Oregon, to B. E. Taney and John Hastie, of Tacoma, who will equip it with a first-class hydraulic plant.
W. H. Miller has a rich ledge on Soldier Creek, Oregon, not far from the Illinois River, and twenty miles west of Kerby, from which he pounds out in a hand mortar from $10 to $12 per day. He lives alone, works the mine himself and is not bothered with a mill or a stock company or anything else.
"Mines & Gossip," The Mining Industry and Review, December 19, 1895, page 269
The following is given as Oregon's gold yield by counties for 1894: Baker, $447,995.72; Benton, $2,042; Coos, $106,353.77; Crook, $1,050; Curry, $8,800; Douglas, $70,879.38; Grant, $128,583.09; Harney, $1,500; Jackson, $167,646; Josephine, $143,676.61; Lane, $32,500; Linn, $2,000; Malheur, $13,500; Marion, $982.88; Union, $1,059.070; total, $5213,356.42.
"Mines & Gossip," The Mining Industry and Review, January 9, 1896, page 312
MINING NOTES AND NEWS
Ft. Jones Reporter: The nice sum of $12.50 was netted from ten pounds of ore taken from the Herr & VanNaber mines, Humbug Gulch. This is equal to about $2500 per ton, and although we would like to see it hold out, still such good luck seldom comes to a working man.
There promises to be considerable activity in the development of quartz properties in the Wagner Creek section the current year. The well-known "Hope" mine is likely to be developed, and sufficient capital is said to have been enlisted to develop several other most promising properties in that section.
Word has reached Eugene from a private source, says the Register, that Sampson McConnell, of Eugene, who has been prospecting in the Jackson County district for the past 18 months, has struck a pocket from which he has taken $10,000. On making the find he said nothing to anyone and kept quietly at work until he had cleared the pocket and had banked the metal.
It is reported that Mr. M. A. Graham, the San Francisco capitalist who recently bonded the Golden Fleece property near the old '49 Diggings just a short distance west of Ashland, has made the first payment on the bond and also has sent up word which indicates that the machinery will be shipped very shortly for an extensive and complete plant for working the immense body of ore peculiar to the golden Fleece. The development of this property is a matter of much interest to our local mining interests.
Another rich pocket has been struck in the Last Chance on Galls Creek. This mine was originally owned by Dillard Horn and was sold by him to Jacobs, White, Tiffany and Ganiard. These parties have been in litigation a good part of the time since the sale, and their difficulties are still unsettled. Two pockets of rich ore yielding four and five thousand dollars each were opened up on this mine since work was begun on it, and it is expected the pocket of ore just discovered by White will produce quite as much as the former.
The Grants Pass Observer very truthfully says: A more outrageous and unjust rule could not be devised to ascertain the mineral or non-mineral character of these lands than that now in force in the Land Department. The department treats them all as non-mineral so far as the railroad company is concerned and requires no proof from the company that they are not mineral in character, while with homesteads and preemptions it has always required that the applicant shall establish by evidence at the time of final proof that the land is more valuable for agriculture than for mineral purposes. The people of Josephine County should not cease to struggle against the injustice of such a rule which gives preference to a great corporation over the common people. The rule ought to be the same with a railroad company that it is with a citizen. It should be made to furnish proof that the land applied for was not mineral land.
Ashland Tidings, January 16, 1896, page 3
Capt. K. Boze, of Applegate, recently disposed of the result of a cleanup from his placer mine, which netted him several hundred dollars.
The smelter at the Waldo copper mines will resume work in a few days.
Forty tons of ore are now on the dump at the Steamboat mine. Four men are employed at the mine.
Piping will soon begin on the property of the Elliott Creek Mining Company.
The Sturgeon mine on Picket Creek in Josephine County is being worked with a monitor.
A giant is being worked in Panther Gulch in the same vicinity, and the Picket Creek Mining Company are nearly ready to pipe.
Mining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, March 1896, page 165
OREGON."Mining News," The Mining Industry and Review, March 5, 1896, page 412
From the Oregon Mining Journal.
VICTORY.--A trip to the south end of Douglas County shows considerable activity in the mines. The Victory is working about twenty men, and receiving very satisfactory returns. One pan of selected gravel, taken from the bedrock, washed out nearly $23.
BRADEN.--The old Braden mine on Kanes Creek, near Gold Hill, is again producing some very rich ore. This mine was a few years ago a steady producer, and supplied a 10-stamp mill, which is still on the property and will soon be again utilized by the parties now working the mine.
OREGON BONANZA.--The Oregon Bonanza mine, on Williams Creek, is now down 120 feet and shows a vein about 2 feet in width of very rich ore. The manager of the company, Geo. W. Greyson, who has just returned from California, informs us that his company will sink about 200 feet further. As it is, this is the most promising mine--so far as development goes--in Southern Oregon.
OREGON.Mining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, April 1896, page 208
The Johnson Creek mines in Southern Oregon are the scene of active work with good results. A 200-foot tunnel is being driven on the Big Joe mine to tap the vein. The ore of this property is said to run nearly $50 per ton in gold.
The Applegate Water Company has been incorporated by the following named gentlemen to operate some placers near Applegate: F. R. Neil, M. M. Gault, F. M. Wade. Principal place of business, Jacksonville.
The Hammond Manufacturing Company . . . prefer to furnish a plant complete in running order, and are now erecting the most complete twenty-stamp mill on the coast for the Noonday Mining Company in southern Oregon, using both steam and electricity developed by a water wheel four miles from the mill.
"Progressive Manufacturers," Mining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, April 1896, page 214
OREGON."Mining News," The Mining Industry and Review, April 23, 1896, page 501
From the Oregon Mining Journal.
COPPER MINES.--From Captain Brown, manager of the Elmer-Brown copper mines near Waldo, we learn that a full force of men has again been put to work on the mines, developing and taking out ore. A large proportion of these ores--the oxides, black and red--are rich enough to bear shipment so that pending the erection of the new smelting works these ores will be hauled into Grants Pass and shipped thence to Galveston by rail and thence by water to New York, where they will be treated by the Orford Reduction Works. Captain Brown further informs us that by the 10th of May he expects to have the new plants proposed to be erected at both the Waldo and Siskiyou mines in process of construction, but the Waldo plant will be first put in operation. The additions to the present machinery at both places will consist of reverberatory and fusing furnaces. The first shipments of ore will be made during the coming week.
SOUTHWESTERN CAMPS."District News, Oregon," Mining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, June 1896, page 324
William Bybee has made a nice cleanup from his placers on Canyon Creek in Josephine County.
A mill test of twenty tons of ore from the Clint & Jones mine in Mt. Reuben district yielded an average of $48 to the ton.
Schieffelin & Co.'s mill at Buncom, in Foots Creek district, is doing some custom work. Some good ore is being crushed.
J. L. Dewey, the well-known merchant of Glendale, shipped a lot of gold dust to Grants Pass last week, aggregating several hundred dollars.
Miller & Davidson of Missouri Flat have been doing well at their placer mines. They brought over $800 worth of dust to Grants Pass one day last week.
A. Throckmorton is engaged in hauling ore from the Coffman ledge to Kennedy & Co.'s four-stamp mill on Applegate, which is doing good work. The quartz prospects well.
Several teams are engaged in hauling the boiler and engine for Roberts & West's quartz mill to Applegate. They are large in dimensions and will furnish much power.
George B. Dornin, who is operating the Jewett mill and mine, located near Grants Pass, informs The Times that they are working day and night and milling ore which goes $13 to $14 per ton.
Simmons & Cameron, as also Winter Bros., who own extensive mines in Waldo district, Josephine County, are now driving down, preparatory to cleaning up. They will doubtless take out many thousand dollars.
The Panther Creek Mining Company, operating on Oak Flat, in Lower Illinois River district, last week placed an additional giant in position. The mine has lately come into possession of George B. Ward and others of Oregon City.
A correspondent writes from the Bohemia mines: "There are about 115 men on the pay rolls of this district at present. Although this is a greater number of men than has ever before been employed in the camp so early in the season, there have been two or three men on hand for every job."
J. W. Virtue is in the Applegate section looking after his mining interests.
J. R. Van Winkle of Falls Creek found a $94 nugget in his placer claim one day last week.
J. J. Houck has started his quartz mill at Gold Hill and will be prepared hereafter to do custom work.
Miller & Brady are developing a promising quartz proposition near the Big Mountain mine in Josephine County.
Mangum & Stock of Grants Pass have sold an interest in the Waxahachie gravel bar on Illinois River to F. R. Doerfus, J. A. Rehkopf and Joseph Rauch of Grants Pass, who will equip the property with a modern hydraulic plant.
There are a number of capitalists in southern Oregon looking for investments. The reputation of southern Oregon as a mining country is getting better all the time, and it is only a matter of a few years when our mineral resources will receive the attention they deserve.
The Hammersley mine bids fair to be tied up again through litigation. It is reported that Jones & Otten, who purchased the mine at sheriff's sale, subject to the laborer's liens thereon, are merely taking out the ore in sight without doing any development work, which is sure to leave the mine in a bad shape. The lien claimants have applied to Judge Hanna for the appointment of a receiver and for an injunction to restrain Jones & Otten from working the property until after the claims of the lien holders have been adjudicated.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, July 6, 1896, page 3
Hull & Beck of Louse Creek cleaned up for the season last week. The yield last year was $5000 and is understood to be much greater this year.
Duffield & Burns have made a good cleanup at their mines in Galls Creek district. It is reported that they have realized over $3000 from the season's run.
N. C. Boynton has purchased an engine and boiler, which he will use to run an arrastra on his quartz property on Jumpoff Joe. A stamp mill will be erected there soon.
J. E. Verdin and R. R. Weathered have a promising copper ledge on Limpy Creek, about twelve miles down the river from Grants Pass. The ledge is twelve feet wide and shows considerable native copper.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, July 13, 1896, page 3
SOUTHEASTERN [sic] CAMPS."District News, Oregon," Mining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, September 1896, page 88
(Jacksonville Times)The Lance Mining Company has eight men employed in building a large reservoir.
A seventeen-mile ditch is being constructed by Hale Bros. & Co. of Leland.
Alex Watts is building a five-mile ditch in the Williams Creek district.
It is reported that several hundred dollars' worth of ore was taken from the Oregon Bonanza mine in one day recently.
Several free-milling quartz locations have been made on Soldier Creek in the vicinity of the Denver mine.
JACKSON COUNTY."District News, Oregon," Mining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, October 1896, page 113
The placer mining interests are particularly bright as the precipitation has been heavy and there is promise of extensive operations in the placers of this county this winter.
Williams and Whalen have completed a ditch from Evans Creek and E. C. Brooks has finished his Saxe Creek ditch, which will supply water for the giants.
The Consolidated Saxe Creek Mining Co. have begun operations with a large force of men.
Saxe Creek is credited with producing $300,000 in gold dust since 1857.
Work is being pushed in the Ruby mine, and ore will be shipped to the Selby smelter.
The Hammond Manufacturing Co. of Portland, Oregon, have recently completed the installment of a mill and tramway on the Noonday mine in Southern Oregon. The trial run was perfectly satisfactory, and the mill is now running steadily. Besides the tramway there is a rock crusher, twenty stamps, automatic feeders and eight vanners.
Wolf and Zwicker of Portland have recently sold a large assignment of hydraulic pipe and other material to the Panther Creek Mining Co. of Josephine County, Oregon.
"News Nuggets," Mining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, October 1896, page 115
SOUTHWESTERN DISTRICTS."District News, Oregon," Mining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, December 1896, page 158
General R. G. O'Brien, of Olympia, Washington, has bonded the Louse Creek placers from Ad Helms and others of Jacksonville.
Work has been suspended at the Hammersley mine, and the pumps drawn.
The Golden Standard Mining Company met in Jacksonville on the 3rd instant and elected a full set of officials and directors.
MINING IN OREGON.
Many Rich Properties to Be Developed in the Spring.
The spring will, according to well-informed mining men, see quite a boom in Southern Oregon mines, and a great deal of development work will probably be done there this year. The boom in the Kootenai has in a great measure turned everyone's attention to British Columbia, but too many rich mines exist in Southern Oregon to allow of that region being entirely overlooked.
The Applegate Gold Mining & Milling Company, which has a group of claims on the Applegate River now in course of development, promises to become a valuable property. The owners, who are Portland business men, have been pushing work on the claims during the winter, and the results have been so gratifying that they are now contemplating the erection of a mill.
The president of the company, who returned recently from a visit to the mines, reported that considerable work had been done on the Rising Sun mine during the winter, and that the lode has been struck through a tunnel of 100 feet, at a depth of 125 feet. The character of the rock was found to be about the same as that discovered at the shaft, which runs from $12 to $14 a ton. Work has also been pushed on the tunnel of the Mountain Queen, and it is expected that it will soon strike the vein. If the rock should prove to be as good as that which shows on top, and runs from $25 to $30 a ton, the owners will be well satisfied.
Considerable development work has also been done on the Lucky Boy, and the prospects are very encouraging. The shaft on the Rainbow has been sunk 40 feet, and a tunnel is being run in on the Red Bird, but as yet the lode has not been discovered.
A letter received yesterday from George S. Horner, superintendent of the mines, says that he expects to strike a rich chute in the Rising Sun inside of a week, the indications being very favorable for a rich strike. For the present, work is being concentrated on the Rising Sun, with the expectancy of unearthing the chute.
F. Sanderson, of Riddle, Or., is desirous of finding a body of gypsum and of sulphate of soda, in Oregon, which he can draw upon in smelting nickel ore near Riddle. J. H. Fisk, the assayer, when asked for his opinion, said yesterday that the best body of gypsum he knew of was located about four miles from Huntington. Fine samples have been exhibited from this body, which Mr. Fisk considers the finest gypsum in the state. There is no sulphate of soda to be found in Oregon, as far as Mr. Fisk's knowledge goes, but there is plenty of soda in Harney County which can easily be made into sulphate of soda, by the ordinary process.
Oregonian, Portland, February 7, 1897, page 20
MINES AND MINING.
Several boys up around Phoenix are making from seventy-five cents to a dollar a day each with a rocker in washing gold from the loose gravel in Bear Creek.
The Mail has printed much regarding the Morine mining find, located on Elk Creek, twelve miles below the Merritt mine, that was very flattering, and we printed it just as 'twas given us--and honestly given we have every reason to believe, but there have been assays received this week which are not so flattering. A. A. Davis, of this city, sent samples of the ore to the Selby smelter, San Francisco, and the returns showed but $1.80 to the ton in gold. It is not improbable that the gentlemen will find better rock further in on the ledge, but this last assay is not a very encouraging one.
Messrs. J. L. and C. J. Brobst, of Cripple Creek, Colorado, and M. C. Wright, of Portland, were in Medford Monday purchasing supplies for their mining camps on Elk Creek. These gentlemen, together with A. A. Dekum, R. C. Wright and R. J. Hendria, of Portland, have organized the Sunset Mining Company and propose operating several mines on Elk Creek. They have located four claims, eighty acres of land, or rather eighty acres of quartz. Mr. J. L. Brobst, in reply to a Mail reporter's inquiries as to the extent of the company's ledge, said: "It is all ledge--eighty acres of solid quartz--and our average assay is $16 to the ton." The property is known as the Buzzard group and is adjoining the J. W. Merritt mine. Twelve men will be put to work on the mine at once, and a mill with a capacity of thirty tons of ore per day will be placed in position for work just as soon as it can be gotten there. Mr. Brobst remarked that he and his co-laborers in this new proposition were not in any way akin to the swine family--they don't want the earth, but are satisfied with just that eighty acres of it. "We are mining men and feel quite positive that we know a good thing when we see it--and there is a cold million of gold--which, by the way, is not in its crude state, but minted and in our possession, which is backing this proposition," said Mr. Brobst.
From the Grants Pass Mining Journal.
Hale Bros. last week sold their interest in the hydraulic mine at Leland to their partner, J. U. Willeke. The mine is now owned by Willeke & Porter. Messrs. Hale Bros. will open up a good piece of ground on McNair Flat, below on Grave Creek.
We learn that Reuben Jones has bonded the Albany group of mines to his cousin, Senator Jones, of Nevada, for the reported sum of $50,000. We are pleased to see such men as Senator Jones become interested in Southern Oregon mines.
Medford Mail, July 16, 1897, page 6
SOUTHERN OREGON MINES.
Results of Work Done in Jackson and Josephine Counties.
The Grants Pass Observer, in its last issue, says:
The last carload of ore shipped from the Taylor & Crow mine, at Lost Flat, and milled at Ashland, returned $1387.28, or a fraction over $108 per ton. The returns show this gold to be $34 fine, which is $19.31 per ounce.
Browning Bros., of Graves Creek, have their arrastra completed and running on ore that is worth $500 per ton. They have run a tunnel on the ledge about 40 feet, and the vein is 10 inches wide at present. No stoping has been done as yet. They have treated about 10 tons of rock, and expect to clean up $5000 in a few days.
The Horn-Silsby-Tucker hydraulic mine, on the lower Illinois and Briggs Creek, has practically been sold to Sterling F. Haywood, of New York, for $20,000. The papers have all been signed and deeds put in escrow, and the property turned over and work commenced to put the property in shape for the next season's run. The ditch will be enlarged to carry 3000 inches of water the year around. A sawmill will be built and some large pipe laid. A No. 4 giant will be added and the mine put in first-class shape for future working. The property consists of 12 claims (240 acres), of which about three-fifths is good mining ground.
Henry Fetterly and R. C. Turner have taken a contract from Rube Jones, who represents Senator Jones, of Nevada, to run a crosscut tunnel 100 feet, with the privilege of continuing it 450 feet. Work is to commence immediately, or by August 1. They will put four men at work. The contract price is less than $10 per foot. This property is situated on Mount Reuben, 35 miles northwest of Grants Pass, and will be known as the California and Virginia mines, formerly known as the Albany group of eight claims.
C. A. Macomber came in from the Oregon Bonanza last week, bringing with him about $700, which was a partial cleanup from the mill after running about 73 tons of ore. The mine for the next 30 days will be run by some lessees. Messrs. Macomber and King will make a trip through Lower California, in Mexican territory, to look at a new gold discovery in quartz, which is reported as very rich. If they find everything as represented, they will commence operations on a large scale at once. Mr. Macomber has a large commission from the Mexican government, and has formed a company of San Francisco capitalists, and will remain in that country indefinitely, providing everything is favorable for rich mines down there.
Oregonian, Portland, August 1, 1897, page 5
Southern Oregon Mines.
Grants Pass Journal.
Frank Houston a few days ago discovered a rich free-milling, gold-bearing ledge near his famous placer mine at the head of Althouse Creek. The ledge is 14 inches wide, and the rock is fairly alive with free gold all through it.
The new machinery for the mill to be used on the Miller ledge by the Humboldt Mining Company was this week successfully hauled out to the head of the copper company's trail.
Mr. Franks, of San Francisco, has this week closed a deal for the Woodcock claim, on Red Dog, and the John Taylor and Dudley Depuy placer claims, on upper Biggs Creek, the Woodcock claim being desirable on account of its water right. Mr. Franks will start in at once to equip the claims with a good ditch.
At the Olalla mines the company is building seven miles of ditch, upon which 40 men are at work, receiving from $1.75 to $2.50 per day. The main ditch is 8 feet 10 inches wide at the top, 4 feet at the bottom, and about 3½ feet deep, with a carrying capacity of 4000 inches of water. Two No. 7 and two No. 4 giants will be put to work when the rainy season sets in, and they are now putting in a 50-arc electric light plant, which will enable them to work day and night. They also have a two-stamp quartz mill at the mine, which will be used in thoroughly prospecting a large deposit of conglomerate rock which is on their property, and which assays between $7 and $8 per ton.
Ashland Valley RecordOregonian, Portland, September 22, 1897, page 8
On Upper Applegate, McMurkey is doing a good custom crushing business with his new process roller quartz mill.
Ex-United States Marshal J. C. Franks, of California, and A. W. Silsby have bargained for John Taylor's placer mine, on Briggs Creek, Josephine County.
Calvert & Stevens have added to their water power and pressure by the building of a new ditch on their placer mine on Pleasant Creek, and are preparing to take out lots of gold this winter.
A San Francisco syndicate represented by W. H. Smith and J. D. McGill has purchased the placer mining grounds known as the Joe Bar group, in the Big Applegate country, and located on Elliott Creek. The consideration was $20,000. The new owners have already ordered extensive machinery and a modern plant, which will equip the property so that it will be ready to use up all their water privileges.
The Distlehorst-Barton dredger has resumed work mining the bottom of Klamath River near Oak Bar.
Hannum & Browning secured at $920 gold brick from 12 tons of second-grade ore from their Greenback quartz mine, on Grave Creek.
A Portland company, with E. J. Borden in charge, is building an extensive ditch to lead the water of Evans Creek into Pleasant Creek for mining purposes, principally. The proposition opens up a great placer mining field.
The Apollo Mining & Milling Co., of Elk Creek, Jackson County, is doing much to develop that section. It has a good trail to its mines, and a wagon road is nearly completed. Three large log cabins have been built, and several more are in course of construction. A mill site is being cleared, and the company expects to have its mill running by December 1. Three tunnels are now being worked, all in ore--15, 33 and 20 feet. Assays run from $4.50 to $50; average value, $16.50, which is a good showing, as the ore bodies are large. The excitement has all died out, and things have got down to actual business, and the camp is bound to be a good one.
E. K. Anderson has leased his Bear Creek mining property to a San Francisco capitalist, and operations will commence this fall. Charles Bronson, a San Francisco mining expert, was up here about two months ago, and made an examination of this creek claim, and on his judgment and report the trade was consummated. Mr. Bronson visited quite a number of fair quartz prospects in the vicinity of Ashland, and seems very favorably impressed with what he saw.
About 60 men are at work building a ditch from Wolf Creek to the mine of Porter & Willeke on Grave Creek.
J. W. Bevan and A. H. Bannister, of San Francisco, have purchased seven placer claims on Star Gulch, at a good round price, from B. E. Haney.
A joint stock company consisting of W. H. Beldier, A. J. Hicks, C. F. Young, E. N. Williams, W. H. Cane, E. J. Lampson, C. P. Parker, F. L. Heft and C. Vroman, of Gold Hill, and M. L. Burns, E. Burns, C. Burns, R. Burns, F. Strong and S. Woody, of Josephine County, have located 320 acres of high canal gravel on the banks of the Illinois River. The dirt runs 50 cents per yard in gold. Thirteen thousand inches of water have been located, and the ground has 500 feet of dump.
Seven tons of ore from John Abbott's mine, in the Mount Reuben district, crushed at Hicks' mill at Ashland last week, yielded over $20 to the ton.
The boiler and engine, ore cars, rails, etc. for the Eureka Mining Company's property, on Soldier Creek, have arrived at Grants Pass, and will shortly be in position at the mine.
William Alfred, W. R. Walker and Thomas Perry have completed a wing dam in Rogue River, about six miles above Grants Pass, and have commenced work, with good results.
Experts have been examining the Golden Standard mine, in Galls Creek district, and the sale to San Francisco parties, which has been pending some time, is expected to take place soon.
Nineteen and one-half tons of ore from Dr. DeBar's mine, in Jackson Creek district, was crushed in Beekman & Huffer's mill last week, and yielded well.
A. Lempke, J. W. Howard, W. T. Coburn and other business men of Grants Pass have leased John Bolt's mine on Galice Creek, known as the Sugar Pine, for a year. J. Swearingen will be in charge of the work, which will be pushed forward as rapidly as possible.
The tunnel of the Roseburg Mining Company, on Brushy Butte, is now into the mountain some 112 feet, and is progressing slowly. All indications are promising as the work goes on.
Messrs. Rice, Flint and Kimball visited the Black Republican and Yankee Boy mines this week, and are satisfied with the progress of the development work going on. They brought back some fine samples of copper ore from the Yankee Boy.
The owners of the Black Republican mine are still pushing development work, and they will soon be in 200 feet.
The contractor who is running a tunnel for the Roseburg Mining Company expects to complete it inside of 30 days. The prospects are good. Already a small vein shows by assay $15 in gold and 10 percent copper, and the same character of rock as in the true vein.
Grants Pass Observer
L. T. Green has a new location on a promising quartz ledge on Mount Reuben.
The owners of the Baby mine are contemplating shipping a car of ore to the Tacoma smelter for treatment.
C. D. Crane this week shipped to the Tacoma smelter 2100 pounds of very rich ore from the Oro Fino mine, which is expected to run away up in the thousands.
John C. Lewis has 20 men working on his ditch, from Wolf Creek. The old ditch is being widened and the mine put in shape for a big run this winter. This property is near Leland.
C. L. Morton, who has been mining and prospecting on Upper Althouse, came down this week, and reports mining and prospecting very active in that section, with some good finds being made.
A. W. McKeen, foreman at the Siskiyou copper mines, on lower Illinois River, reports work progressing nicely, with eight men at work.
George B. Archer, who owns a very extensive hydraulic mine on lower Grave Creek, has his mine all ready for the next season's work, and is patiently awaiting the arrival of water. The gravel contained in his property is glacial or ancient wash, and unlike most of the other gravel deposits of Grave Creek.
Willeke & Porter, who own the Hale Bros. hydraulic mine, at Leland, are constructing a new ditch from Wolf Creek, which, when completed, will give them plenty of water for eight months. The ditch is four feet on the bottom, and five miles long. The water will be carried across Grave Creek in a 30-inch iron pipe. Fifteen men are employed on the work.
Charley Taylor spent several days at his quartz mine on Galice Creek this week, and says the property is looking better than ever and some very rich ore is being taken out. This property has made a good record for itself and promises to continue to do so in the future. The ore has been shipped to the Ashland mill for treatment, and runs from $90 to $200 per ton.
The old Braden mine, near Gold Hill, has been opened up by Colorado parties, and a large body of good free-milling ore has been encountered, of sufficient extent to justify them in moving the 10-stamp mill nearer the mine, and it is kept busy on high-grade ore.
I. G. Moon and T. H. Turner have been doing some work on the old Bybee mine, 35 miles down Rogue River. They have encountered some very rich ore. The vein is 18 inches wide, and between well-defined walls. Rogue River cuts this vein at nearly right angles, and exposed the ore in the bed of the river for over 300 feet. This property was worked in an early day with an arrastra, and some money taken out, but has lain idle for many years.
The outlook for a very active season in mining, both quartz and placer, for Josephine County, was never better. Many new hydraulic plants are going in, and quartz prospects are being developed, with some very rich discoveries being made. We don't want a boom, but we do want capital to come and look over our mines. We have poor men enough among us. We can use some good prospectors who have money enough to keep themselves in grub for one year, and if they will go into the mountains of Southern Oregon and prospect diligently, they will find something--it may not be a Klondike--but they will have something that will sell, or pay them to work.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, July 1, 1899, page 15
The Wong Back Fawn mines, at the mouth of Sailor Creek, have been sold to the Canadian Co., Ltd., of London, Eng., for $16,000. The land includes several bars on the Illinois River, twelve miles south of Kerby. The Illinois River bars have never been mined, though the tributary streams have been dug over for forty years. The dredge to be used will excavate to a depth of 60 feet and is said to have a capacity of 3000 yards of gravel per day. The sale was made through S. N. Butters, who is interested in placer ground in the vicinity, known as the Hanseth property.
The dredge operating at Weatherby is said to be in successful operation, hoisting 4000 cubic yards daily.
Monroe & Morgan of Seattle, Wash., have bought the Grand Applegate ditch near Medford. It is 12 feet wide at the top, 6 at the bottom, 6 feet deep, 7 miles long. A part of the Squaw Lake mine is to be worked from it this summer.
Josephine County."General Mining News, Oregon," The Engineering and Mining Journal, July 8, 1899, page 48
Old Channel.--This hydraulic placer property, comprising over 630 acres on Six Mile Creek, 32 miles from Grants Pass, was recently sold by the owners, J. O. Booth, F. D. Burns and others, to C. B. Beardsley, W. H. Thompson and associates of Chicago. It is said that a ditch 3½ miles long will be built, giving 2,000 miners' inches under 300 ft. head.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, July 8, 1899, page 22
Jacksonville Times: Lund Bros., who are developing the cinnabar ledge in Beaver Creek district for the Siskiyou Quicksilver M. Co., have struck good ore.--J. Berham, who is interested in the cinnabar mines in Meadows precinct, has let a contract for running a tunnel.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, July 15, 1899, page 67
Ashland Record: Miners have struck the ledge in the Free Coinage mine in Sampson Creek mining district near Soda Springs. The 320-foot tunnel entered the ledge at a depth of 200 feet from the surface. It was 5 feet wide. The ore carries free gold and zinc and lead sulphides. There are specimens exhibiting native silver. This ledge is also known as the Barron and Shepherd and is eight and one-half miles southeast of Ashland, and was the first gold-bearing ledge found in that section of the county.--The Shorty Hope M. & M. Co. is about to sink 100 feet on their property near Ashland, and will determine the character of machinery that will be purchased. The shaft will be sunk on the line between both locations, and it is now 60 feet below the level of the present workings; 1000 feet of drifting has been done on the vein. The business of the company in Ashland and at the mine is looked after by Pres. H. S. Sanford and Supt. T. James.--Supt. H. Mattern, of the Ashland and Mattern mines, has shipped a carload of ore and concentrates to San Francisco. It was from the new workings in the west side shaft, from which $80 per ton was realized by the last run through the 5-stamp mill in Ashland. The mine is opened by a 400-foot tunnel that struck the vein at a depth of 150 feet from the surface. A 500-foot tunnel reached the vein at a depth of 500 feet and did considerable drift work in low-grade ore. The owners are G. F. Reynolds of Sheboygan, Mich. and R. M. Bennett of Minneapolis, Minn. They paid $20,000 for the mine a year ago. Mr. Bennett and Mr. Mattern are the owners of the Mattern mine, from which some high-grade ore has been taken.
Josephine County."General Mining News, Oregon," The Engineering and Mining Journal, August 5, 1899, page 168
Illinois & Josephine Gravel Mining Company.--This company, composed of San Francisco men with $100,000 capital stock, now controls the Alexander Watts placer property, including water rights and ditches at the junction of Josephine Creek and Illinois River, 5 miles northwest of Kerby. L. H. Carver has charge of the improvements.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, September 2, 1899, page 263
During the past year 110 placer and 224 quartz mining locations were recorded in Jacksonville.
Gold nuggets valued at about $12,000 are exhibited [at] the Medford Bank, a part of the cleanup of the Sterling M. Co.
JACKSON COUNTY.The Ashland quartz mine, near Ashland City, is sold to Montreal and Spokane men. The company is incorporated as the Montreal & Oregon Gold Mines and will commence development work. H. Mattern is local manager until October 1st. C. G. Griffith is managing director. The selling price is reported to be about $120,000.
The Gold Bug Mining Co., Mount Ruben, is reported to have sold its properties to C. D. Lane and A. Hayward of San Francisco, a ninety-day bond for $1,000,000 being given, with an initial payment of $100,000. The property was owned by J. P. Jones of Nevada. There is a 5-stamp mill in operation. The report is locally denied.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.G. F. Wheeler of Grants Pass, receiver of the Siskiyou Copper M. Co., operating near Waldo, says that the carload of copper ore shipped to the Selby Smelting Works at San Francisco turned out so well that 100 tons more will be shipped to the same establishment as soon as possible.
"Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, September 9, 1899, page 291
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, September 23, 1899, page 347
The formalities of the sale of the Ashland mine to the Ontario & Oregon Gold Mines, Ltd., show the consideration to have been $125,000.
Jackson County."General Mining News, Oregon," The Engineering and Mining Journal, September 16, 1899, page 348
Ashland.--The Montreal & Oregon Gold Mines, Limited, a Canadian corporation, of which Charles G. Griffith is manager, has purchased the Ashland Mine for a consideration understood to be $120,000. R. M. Bennett, G. F. Reynolds, H. V. Winchell and H. Mattern were the former owners of the mine, but they did not have sufficient capital to do the work needed. The new company, it is understood, is planning to start extensive development at once. H. Mattern, one of the former owners, will have charge until October 1, however.
The managers of the Oro Fino mine in the Jump-off Joe district propose to put a stamp mill on the property. The wide vein of medium values in the Oro Fino fully justifies the construction of a good plant, and its operation can only be profitable to those interested.
"Mining News," The Mining Reporter, October 5, 1899, page 214
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, October 7, 1899, page 411
Ashland Record: At the Golden Standard, ore has been discovered which resembles the Gold Hill quartz. The vein is 8 inches thick, with walls of slate and porphyry. One rich deposit follows another, with high-grade between. Another discovery like the Golden Standard is reported on Horse Creek, south of the Big Applegate. C. Grater was the discoverer.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, October 21, 1899, page 467
Ashland Record: In the vicinity of Hornbrook, Roberts & Co. continue to employ sixty men. This mine has kept ten stamps running on high-grade ore for eighteen months, averaging twenty tons per day. Laflesh & Miner have seventeen men at work in their mine and mill.--Rose & Nikirk commenced crushing ore October 2nd, in their new mill on Ash Creek.--Doney Bros. tapped a heavy flow of water in their mine and are compelled to suspend until a pump can be put in.--H. Mattern has bought from C. Harness a half interest in the Ohio mines for $2000.
The Oregon Midland Ry. Co., of Ashland, proposes building a railway sixty miles down the Klamath River from Klamath Falls to Klamathon, Cal., a station on the S.P.R.R.
"Industrial Notes," Mining and Scientific Press, November 18, 1899, page 583
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, December 2, 1899, page 639
Dr. E. O. Smith, who has bonded the Haggin mine at Tolo for $25,000, proposes to sink a 1000-foot shaft.
The first gold dredger in southern Oregon is being operated by the English-Canadian Co., at Faun's mine, on the Illinois River, near Waldo.
Josephine County."General Mining News, Oregon," The Engineering and Mining Journal, December 16, 1899, page 739
McCroskey & Mills recently sold their placer mine, on Upper Grave Creek, to C. E. Smith and others, of Colorado Springs. This property contains 50 acres of good ground, with equipment.
H. S. Woodcock sold recently to Erasmus Wilson and B. E. Meredith of Kansas City, Mo., a group of 5 claims on Josephine Creek, comprising 100 acres of mining ground. The sale included all water rights. The consideration was $11,000.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, December 16, 1899, page 695
The Josephine dredger at Sailor Diggings has started up again.
H. Rissue has made a strike on a claim in Bohemia district. The ledge is 8 feet wide. A deal was recently made of 640 acres of patented land, containing placer and quartz claims, on Galls Creek, near Gold Hill. The buyer was F. H. Osgood of Seattle.
James McDougal is piping on his claim on the Ralls place, with encouraging prospects of a good cleanup.
Houston & Ingram are running their pipe with a fair head of water on their Lane Creek claim, and are encouraged to believe the season's work will be a profitable one.
Ralph Dean has a force at work ground sluicing on Willow Springs Flat, where there has never been a failure to make good wages.
It is reported that the late run at the Beekman & Huffer mill, on rock taken from their ledges on Jackson Creek, resulted in a cleanup of something like $900.
Dekum & Wright, of Portland, principals of the Apollo Company, of Elk Creek, sent an expert up there to make a careful examination of the mines in that section. The report, it is learned, was favorable, though the ore is low grade and some of it base and hard to work. The country is porphyritic in formation, and much like the Bohemia district.
J. W. Short, of Foots Creek, says that miners in that section have plenty of water, and that there are three hydraulics in operations on the right-hand fork and five on the left. The Black Channel company has been piping for the past week with a good head of water, and 250-foot pressure. The prospects for a large output from this district were never better than at present.
Kubli Bros. have about completed a 100-foot crosscut in the Gold Standard, which will tap the ledge 100 feet below the surface. This crosscut was run for the purpose of tapping the new mine from which the rich ore was taken.
Placer miners in the vicinity of Gold Hill are anticipating an unusually good winter's run. C. Vrooman, who is operating a good-paying placer on Sardine Creek, reports that he has washed off more ground already this year than during the whole of last season.
The high water on Applegate last week carried out one of the dams of the Seattle Mining Company, on Elliott Creek, and did considerable damage to the head works of the big ditch belonging to the Applegate Mining Company. The company was obliged to close the mine down until such time as it could repair the break, which will take about three weeks.
The C. & C. Hydraulic Mining Company, of Jump-Off Joe, which is constructing a large ditch from Pleasant Creek to cover its mines so as to operate them by hydraulic process, is pushing the work with all possible speed. The mine is that formerly owned by Cook & Howell, to which there have been added several purchases, rendering the property one of large value. The company is also building a new sawmill with a capacity of 20,000 feet per day. There is almost an inexhaustible supply of timber, and of the finest quality. The company is working 45 men.
Oregonian, Portland, December 21, 1899, page 6
Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
At the Broad & Reed ledge, near the head of Jackson and Forest creeks, about eight tons of quartz are being put through the crusher daily. The ledge is three feet in width, and the quartz is said to be very rich.
E. L. Haney, who is now operating a giant at his mine some 12 miles from Jacksonville, reports the outlook for a big cleanup as the result of this season's work very promising.
L. L. Love and son, of Tolo, will commence piping on their placer ground, on the east fork of Sardine Creek, next week.
Dr. Ray. who bonded the Swinden ledge in Gold Hill district, has a force of 15 men at work on the property, and the 10-stamp mill is being run to its fullest capacity. Indirect information conveys the belief that this season's output will be large, and it is also reported that Dr. Ray will take the mine under the bond.
H. A. Perkins recently made the discovery of a rich quartz ledge near the Hayden mine. The ledge is three feet in width and contains a good prospect of free gold.
Oregonian, Portland, December 31, 1899, page 10
Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
Grants Pass Courier.
The Copper Company, at Preston Peak, has a good force of men at work developing the mine, which is showing up a large body of rich ore.
H. C. Perkins, of the Old Channel mine at Six-Mile Creek, says they will be ready to begin piping there in about a week. They have a force of about 20 men at work, riveting pipe, cleaning ditch, building sluices, and other necessary operations incident to the equipment of a large hydraulic mine.
H. A. Corliss, the Dry Diggins miner, says that he has already worked as much ground this winter as he did during the whole season of last year. This is a section which has been known and worked for years, by every method known to placer mining. As a placer deposit, it is somewhat peculiar, there being little washed gravel, and in some places none at all. The gold is mostly coarse, rough, and the larger pieces are mingled with quartz.
C. E. Harmon says that the present season has been very favorable for the operation of the mine at Galice which belongs to himself and Dan Green. The large amount of water in Galice Creek has been of material benefit in sluicing the old tailings out of the creek channel and thereby enlarging their dump. The ground they are working this year is yielding rich returns. Mr. Green recently picked up a piece which weighed nearly $60.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, January 12, 1900, page 6
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, January 13, 1900, page 45
H. E. Ankeny, of the Sterling mine, is operating his hydraulics night and day under a full head of water and expects to sweep a large area of bedrock. He has twenty-six men at work.
Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
Newt Haskins has leased the Terry Bros.' mine on Big Applegate and is operating a giant on it, with good prospects.
A chemical laboratory in Jacksonville to determine the value of ores is something new, and will meet a want that has long been felt here.
Ed Fauset has about completed a ditch from the Butte fork of Applegate to his mine, and is getting out timbers for the necessary fluming. As soon as all preliminary work is done, Mr. Fauset will put a hydraulic plant on his mine. He has 20 acres, and it is considered first-class ground. His season's run will be necessarily short, on account of extended improvements, but with the new plant and more effective work, the output will no doubt exceed any former year.
George Wait, who is mining on Big Applegate, six miles above the Watkins place, owns 20 acres of mining ground there, and 80 on Dividend Bar, Squaw Creek. He is ground-sluicing on his Big Applegate claim, and has 3000 inches of water available for that purpose the year round. He has all the fall he wants, and says he drives seven- and eight-pound boulders through his flume without any trouble. The gold is coarse, heavy, and most of it rough and free from wash. The nuggets run from $1 up, the largest yet being taken out being $28. The freshet took out part of the filling of the dam from which the ditch issues, causing quite a stoppage in his season's work. He says his output for the season will be as good as usual, notwithstanding the break.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, January 19, 1900, page 6
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, January 27, 1900, page 99
The gold output of Jackson County for 1899 is estimated at $250,000.
Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
Ingram & Houston have been running their pipe since the heavy rainfall on their claim on Willow Springs Creek, near the old Schumpf ledge, and have off more ground now than during any season in the past 10. They have already picked up a number of handsome nuggets.
E. H. Pearce, from the Pearce mine, on Forest Creek, reports piping going on steadily as the water supply will permit, and says he considers the ground being worked off now the best on the claim. The late freeze has somewhat diminished the volume of water, but a much larger area of bedrock will be uncovered this year than during any former season.
Winningham & Co., of the ledge west of the Sturgis placers, have been pushing work on the vein, and have out now 50 tons of rock, which they commenced to crush in their own mill Monday. Reports are to the effect that there is no decline in the value of the ore from the first crushing, which yielded $36.50.
R. F. Dean has a force of men at work on Willow Springs flat ground sluicing. This flat has been worked since 1854 and always with satisfactory results. It would have been worked out years ago but for the fact that the eastern part of it is embraced within the limits of the N. C. Dean donation land claim and the western part in that of the Houston donation land claim. James McRunnels has leased ground and is also mining on the flat. The heavy rains this winter have largely increased the water supply for these diggings, and Mr. Dean expects to make a cleanup far exceeding any former year.
Jesse Huggins was down from his mountain claim Friday and had a lot of dust changed at the bank. He is more sanguine than ever that he has discovered one of the richest placer deposits in this section. The discouraging feature in connection with all the sections of this old channel is the utter impossibility of procuring a water supply. This channel appears to traverse the high ridges except where it has been broken up or diverted by slides, and the altitude is so great there is no available water source high enough to reach it. It may be suggested that if the dirt is very rich it might be hauled to the foot of the mountain and there washed with profit. This would involve the construction of an expensive road, and when, in addition, it is considered how slow and costly it is to transport such heavy material, it can be seen at once that such an enterprise could not be made to pay unless the ground was fabulously rich.
Oregonian, Portland, February 1, 1900, page 5
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, February 3, 1900, page 127
A contract is to be let for the longest mining ditch in the West, ninety-three miles, beginning above Rogue River Falls and terminating at Gold Hill. It will drain 100,000 acres of placer ground, and is to cost $700,000. M. P. Warde says the preliminary surveys have been finished and the right of way secured. For four months past eighteen surveyors, in charge of J. S. Howard, have been running the necessary lines. Estimates are now being made. The territory which the ditch will drain is recognized as rich placer ground, the mines of which heretofore could only be worked during the wet season. The company proposes to furnish electric and water power to quartz mines.
J. R. Huggins, west of Jacksonville, recently took $200 out of a pocket. W. H. Lee extracted an equal amount from a pocket near Applegate.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.I. Humason of Portland wants to put up a mill between Rogue River bridge and Houck's mill.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, February 17, 1900, page 182
The Montreal & Oregon M. Co., which recently bought the Ashland group of claims for $125,000, contemplates the building of a 10-stamp mill when the lower tunnel and the west shaft on the 250-foot level meet. C. D. McDonald, Ashland, is Supt.
J. B. Scott, who bonded the Messenger mine, is having ore tested preliminary to building a mill.
The Chicago men who bought the Old Channel mine, on Six Mile Creek, and connected it with the Illinois River by ditch, have started piping with one giant.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, February 24, 1900, page 210
At Grants Pass, B. E. Meredith, Supt. Wilson placer mine, on the Illinois River, is piping day and night, with a good head of water.
The Big Yank M. & M. Co. is under the management of J. F. Wickham. Fifteen men are employed at the mine.
At the Eureka mine work goes steadily on. They are getting out ore and storing the same until they can pack in a new mill of ten stamps.
At the A. & B. placer mine, Galice Creek, the break of 300 feet in the flume, caused by a landslide, has been repaired, and two giants are at work.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, March 3, 1900, page 238
The gold dredge Josephine, near Waldo, has resumed operations.
The quartz mill on the Winnington-Pence mine, on Forest Creek, is running on rock reported to average $36 to the ton.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, March 17, 1900, page 294
(Special correspondence).--Thirty-five miles north of Medford the Lower Elk Creek mining district is an undeveloped and nearly unprospected region, with plenty red fir timber, good streams and fine climate; country rock, andesite; cutting this are numerous parallel dikes of felsite, in width 5 to 200 feet. These white dikes are well mineralized, a fine-grained variety of iron pyrites being generally disseminated through them, in places concentrating into considerable bodies of irregular shape of a nearly pure sulphuret ore. This carries a little gold, $4 to $6 per ton, but no appreciable quantities of copper or lead.
In a portion of the district a number of the felsite dikes are accompanied by a system of well-defined quartz veins. Some of them possess gouges, polished faces, slickensides, ribbon structure and other evidences of true fissure veins along which more or less faulting has occurred. The ore in these veins is galena and chalcopyrite, carrying a good value in both gold and silver. Although highly refractory, requiring concentration and smelting, two properties have opened up bodies of ore--the Collie Dog and the Bright & Sparkling, adjoining mines on the same vein.
There is one thing of great importance which has to be taken into account in prospecting this district: the ore lies low and shafts have to be sunk to reach it. The amount of chalcopyrite and galena in the veins increases from higher to lower levels, i.e., from the original surface down, until a level is reached on which they are in sufficient quantities to constitute it [sic] what may be called the mineral zone--the zone where deposition of copper, lead, gold and silver was most active. Unlike the pyrites disseminated through the felsite dikes, the galena and chalcopyrite in the quartz veins were not derived by lateral secretion from the country rock, but were introduced from below at a great depth and brought up in solution in hot, alkaline waters. Deposition occurred all along the vein, but as the surface was approached it greatly decreased.
The rocks being of early Tertiary age, much newer than the mineral-bearing formations of California, erosion has not cut so deeply into them, and the mineral zone is barely exposed in the deeper gulches. The district differs decidedly from any California district, belonging rather to the class of Colorado and Montana deposits. About fifty miles north on this same belt is the Bohemia district, now coming into prominence. So far as I can learn, its geological conditions are similar to this.
Medford, March 10.
Chrysoprase is a rare variety of chalcedony, and is of value. It is found in limited quantities in Tulare County, Cal., in Jackson County, Oregon, near Rutland, Vermont, and in lower Silesia.
"Concentrates," Mining and Scientific Press, April 7, 1900, page 371
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, April 14, 1900, page 406
At Gold Hill the Humason 10-stamp custom quartz mill is expected to be in operation May 1.
Southern Oregon Placer Conditions.Mining and Scientific Press, April 21, 1900, page 432
Written for the Mining and Scientific Press by
Theo. F. Van Wagenen.
The hydraulic mines of the placer region of northern California and southwestern Oregon, near Galice in Josephine County in the latter state, are deserving of notice. The discovery of the extensive gold fields of this vicinity, extruding through the counties of Siskiyou, Trinity and Humboldt in California and Josephine and Jackson counties in Oregon, followed quickly upon the first rush into California in 1849. As early as 1850 gold was found in Althouse Creek, one of the tributaries of the Rogue River; and for several years, while the tide of discovery was running high, the output of gold rivaled that of many parts of the more extensive auriferous region in central California. But the valleys of the Klamath and Rogue were carved out upon a different plan from those of the lower Sacramento and San Joaquin, the result of which was the deposit of much less alluvium along the former than the latter. In consequence, the primitive methods of mining in those days yielded large profits but a short time in the northern districts, and by 1855 the bulk of the roving population had drifted northward to the Columbia and Frazer rivers and eastward towards Idaho and Montana, where later equally rich discoveries were made.
The geological situation in the region under consideration is interesting. Where now stand the rugged and picturesque Siskiyou and Rogue River ranges, built up upon a massive core of serpentine and slate, there used to be in former geologic time a broad and deep inlet from the Pacific reaching as far eastward as southwestern Idaho. Into the head of this the Snake River, which now heads in Wyoming and empties into the Columbia, poured its floods. The coast lines of the ancient gulf may today be traced with considerable accuracy, and they indicate a comparatively narrow inlet from the ocean at about the region of the Oregon-California line; a broad interior basin with an average diameter of fully 500 miles, along which numerous bays extended in several directions towards the center of the continent, connecting probably with the Humboldt and Salt Lake basins and certainly with the region now known as the Snake River desert.
The series of seismic disturbances which later elevated the floor of this extensive gulf and covered much of it with vast beds and ridges of lava, forcing the Snake northward to a junction with the Columbia and sealing the outlets of the Humboldt and Salt Lake basins, is a story which when rightly deciphered by the geologist will prove not only interesting, but economically valuable; for, during these changes, very large marine deposits of auriferous conglomerates were formed in northern California and southern Oregon, not very dissimilar in character to those at Johannesburg, South Africa; and great dikes of auriferous diorite were thrust upward through the earth's crust near the present Pacific coast line, both of which have been the immediate source from which came much of the gold being at present recovered in this region.
One of these latter has been traced almost in an unbroken line through southwest Oregon, from Riddle to Waldo, a distance of forty miles. So persistent is this fissure and so straight its course--from N.E. to S.W.--that it probably marks the line of a fault plane, east of which the country slowly was elevated, while west of it there was as gradual a subsidence. Parallel to it and so close that the two may be said to adjoin--for they are never separated by more than a few rods--is what is locally called an ancient river channel, but which actually consists of a deposit of small breccia and soil from 50 to 150 feet in depth and from 500 to 2500 feet wide, through all of which gold is disseminated to such an extent that its yield when the channel is worked in large quantities averages between 15 and 20 cents per cubic yard with great uniformity.
As might be expected from its soft nature, this gold-bearing channel has been very extensively eroded and washed away. Wherever crossed by a river, a gulch or a ravine it is totally gone, while its golden contents have been caught and concentrated in some part of the newer channels below, or swept westward to the ocean, there to be thrown up on the beach and form the profitless diggings of the gold coast. Only fragments remain here and there, yet these fragments may be and have been traced and found by the prospector in his tramps across the country, and, whenever extensive enough to offer a commercial basis for a mining enterprise, have been taken up and are being worked.
In the vicinity of Galice, south of the point where the Rogue River has cut its way through the dike to the canyon, the gold-bearing deposit, crossing the gorge diagonally, rests upon a slate bedrock 50 feet above the surface of the water.
The word "channel" does not convey a correct idea of the nature of these deposits. Although the slate bedrock appears to have a fairly uniform slope of about 15 feet per mile, within the limits of this property at least, from south to north, and although its surface is worn smooth in the same direction, as if by the action of moving gravel, yet the mass of the material is in no sense a water deposit, nor is any considerable proportion of the rock fragments it contains water-worn. On the contrary, they are for the most part angular pebbles, scattered irregularly through a mass of soil, which near the surface is deeply stained with red and yellow iron oxides and consists mainly of clay. In some of the blocks there is evident stratification of the material, but the planes of these earthy and gravelly beddings slope from the west to the east across the course of the channel, and not from south to north along its length. So far as I have been able to discover, the eastern wall of the channel is gone, or, more correctly, seems never to have existed, so that the floor upon which the auriferous material rests is a shelf of varying width, bounded on the west by the wall of the dike or by a nearly vertically tilted uplift of the slate bedrock resting closely upon the dike. The following section across is through one of the blocks of ground lying between Rich and Applegate ravines, locally known as Thoss Flat, is typical.
After several examinations of this interesting deposit, I am unable to account for the gravel, earth and breccia which constitutes its mass, but the gold appears to have come in a state of solution from the diorite dike to the west. The auriferous nature of this dike, which bears the name of the "Old Yank lode," has long been known to the miners of the vicinity. Again and again it has been located by enthusiastic prospectors and exploited by shrewd stock speculators, but I cannot learn that a dividend-paying era has been attained anywhere along its length.
In the Alexander & Bent property, herewith illustrated, of the 750-odd acres nominally included within its patented lines, about half have been washed away by the numerous ravines and gulches that cross it, and fifteen to twenty acres of the various blocks between these have been washed since it was first located by the various owners. As nearly as can be learned, the yield under operation has ranged from $5000 to $10,000 per acre, according to the depth of the banks. This corresponds to a production of about 15 cents per cubic yard. The costs have varied from 3 to 5 cents or more per yard, according to conditions. When well equipped, the first-named figure should be the maximum.
Water for operation is furnished by Galice Creek. Fifteen miles of ditches collected it, but only eight miles are in use: The available watershed above the levees of these is about thirty square miles. Over that area the annual precipitation averages 40 inches. so that quite 4000 inches of water is available. The season for working is about eight months.
At the present time the mine is only partially equipped. Not over 2000 yards per twenty-four hours is being washed. The principal operations are carried on at a point near the northern end. Fig. 1 shows the working pit. Fig. 2 is a near view of a piece of the bank shown in Fig. 1, which displays not only the cross-stratification of the mass, but its remarkable freedom from boulders. The climatic and other conditions in the Rogue River Valley are peculiarly favorable for hydraulic mining. The altitudes of the deposits above sea level rarely exceed 1200 feet. The winter, which is the mining season, is mild; the rainfall is very rarely deficient, and the deep canyon of the river with its great volume of water and regular fall carries away all tailings to the ocean.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, April 21, 1900, page 436
The proposed High Line Ditch is 93 miles long, and taps Rogue River to bring water to a point 400 feet perpendicularly above Gold Hill. It will be 8 feet wide at the bottom, across the top 14 feet, a depth of 6 feet, to carry 10,000 miners' inches of water for operating placer mines and irrigating down Rogue River Valley. The contracts are to be let in 10-mile sections. There will be 2000 feet of fluming to be constructed on the line, where the water is to be led across small streams or along steep hillsides upon which the ditch cannot be dug. There are also 2000 feet of 31-inch iron pipes to be laid where the line crosses Trail Creek, 25 miles above Gold Hill. The laying of this pipe will save the digging of over 20 miles of ditch, as the water will be carried down one hillside and up the other, where otherwise the line would have to be dug along the face of steep hills.
The Eureka mine on Sailor Creek, A. F. Nelson Supt., has been bonded to C. G. Griffith, Gen. Mgr. Montreal & Oregon G.M. Ltd., 52 Broadway, New York City. The reported price is $75,000. The Eureka mine is what is known as the Denver city ledge, with a face width of 30 feet, a pay streak 2 feet wide abutting against one of the walls.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, April 28, 1900, page 466
The Harris gold dredger, eight miles from Waldo, is dredging 200 acres lying along the Illinois River, daily handling 1000 cubic yards [of] gravel.
Mgr. Jno. Wickham of the Big Yank M. & M. Co. of Galice has a property yielding copper, with traces of gold. The copper runs 8½% and the silver about $1.75 a ton. He intends to put in a smelter.
H. S. Sanford is operating the Shorty Hope mine and mill at Ashland, Oregon.
"Personal," Mining and Scientific Press, May 5, 1900, page 497
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, May 26, 1900, page 585
J. S. Howard, chief engineer [of the] High Line Ditch, that is expected to bring water from Rogue River to Gold Hill, says the work of digging the 4-foot berm on the right of way is progressing, several miles being already prepared for excavation on the Gold Hill end. A right of way has been granted the company by the Southern Pacific Co. for a 50-foot strip 35 miles long. There now remain but a few rights of way to be obtained along the 93 miles of line. When this right of way has been secured contracts will be let for digging the ditch in 10-mile sections.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, June 2, 1900, page 615
(Special Correspondence.)--We have now a post office at Greenback mining camp, Alta by name. Supt. Thompson runs the mine and 10-stamp mill, and is postmaster. There are fifty men employed.
Alta, May 25.
Silver State: A suit involving the title of the Gold Bug mine, near Grants Pass, owned by Jones, Gorham, Lester & James, is decided in their favor at Portland by the U.S. Circuit Court.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, June 23, 1900, page 707
J. J. Martin will reopen the Seattle Cooperative Co.'s mine in Applegate district.
J. S. Howard, of the High Line Ditch Co., Gold Hill, says work begins in September. The ditch is to tap Rogue River at the upper rapids, and will be 94 miles long, terminating at Gold Hill. There will be 11,000 feet of flume, 11 feet wide and 6 feet deep, using 1,500,000 feet of lumber in its construction. Where excavated, the canal will be 14 feet wide at top, 8 feet at bottom, and 6 feet deep. A right of way 50 feet wide has been obtained through the railroad and desert lands along its route. The grade is 1 inch in 1000, or 5.28 feet per mile, and the velocity of the current will be 3.96 feet per second, or 2.7 miles per hour. The capacity will be 15,681 cubic feet per minute, equals 10,455 miners' inches. Two siphons are figured in the estimates--one at Trail Creek canyon, 2870 feet long, 400 feet depression, with 40 feet head, consisting of three parallel lines of 34-inch diameter steel pipe. At Elk Creek a similar siphon, 4740 feet long, will cross the canyon. These pipes will save the construction of over 20 miles of canal in a rugged country. The company hopes to put the work through within one year after the excavators have been put to work. Several hundred men will be given employment during its construction, which will be begun at the upper end, in order to float the lumber needed for flumes and culverts down from sawmills to be erected above. The ditch will supply water for a number of placer mines in that vicinity.
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, June 30, 1900, page 738
The cleanup at the placer mine of Wimer Bros. & Co., at Waldo, is reported to be $20,000. The run was from Nov. 1 to June 1.
Hackler & Prinzanlar of Pasadena, Cal., have started up their $46,000 steam dredger in Rogue River, near Tolo.
SOUTHERN OREGON'S GOLD MINES
ASHLAND, Or., Jan. 21.--(Special Correspondence.)--The old pocket districts and placer grounds in Southern Oregon are looked upon with growing favor by experienced miners who have come into the country, as likely ground in which to develop valuable lode properties. A good type of such a region is the old Blackwell district, three miles south of Gold Hill, where in past years many pocket holes have been made and much money taken out. Here about 40 men are at work, and their explorations have already disclosed that there are precious metal deposits there in continuous veins, to which the pockets, or old pocket holes, are deemed tracers by the few who have theories as to the genesis of gold pockets and who have studied the peculiar conditions under which they occur. In this district you can find a miner, experienced and intelligent, who will tell you if the pocket is likely close to the vein, or if it is a "throw" from a distance, and that in the latter case, when you have dug out the "pocket" money, you had better abandon that particular ground.
Working upon theories founded upon a limited knowledge of mineralogy and geology, of which they make good use, and the experience of years in mining for gold, some of these miners have planned their work to uncover mines here on a rational basis, and the result is some apparently good properties, one of which is likely to prove a good copper mine. The most important discovery is that on the "Soldier Blue," or better known as the Ross claim, one and a quarter miles from Tolo station. Below this mine the gulch was once worked as a placer.
A number of holes were sunk on the ledge in the hill above by pocket hunters, and in that sunk by Ross, which was about 50 feet deep, he got out $1300 from seven tons of ore. Deeming it a pocket, Ross did no more thereafter on the claim than the necessary work to hold it, and the property was practically abandoned for four years, when J. J. Houck and G. L. Half bought it for a few hundred dollars. Mr. Half, who has had extensive experience in mining, both for gold and copper, in Colorado and Montana, was interested in the cropping of a ledge perpendicular to that on which was the Ross shaft, which was capped with limonite, and appeared to make a prospect for a copper mine. He therefore went down on the Ross ledge in the old shaft. At a depth of 60 feet he struck the intersecting ledge, which proved to be an eight-foot vein, well defined and carrying copper and iron sulphides heavily, valued at $23 copper and $22 gold per ton. Its strike is 45 degrees east. The copper ore carries much rock which is very hard.
The copper ore, being so uniformly diffused through the rock, is regarded as a very encouraging feature by those who are familiar with some of the big copper properties of Montana. The ore also assays about seven ounces of silver per ton. The shaft was sunk close on a contact of granite and slate. At a depth of 78 feet, a drift of 60 feet east has been made to develop the formation. The shaft is being carried down. While the ledge carries good values in gold, these men esteem the prospects for a big copper mine most. One-half mile southeast of the Half property, there is a tract of ground formerly owned by the Jackson County Land Association, which was mined extensively for pockets in past years. It is asserted that pay was found in every one of the old pocket holes remaining. In one of these holes $7000 was obtained, and at this point a tunnel is now being run, which is to be 700 feet long, and which, it is expected, will tap the ledges under the upper old pocket workings on the hill. The tunnel is completed for 200 feet. This is called the Johnson ledge, and the work is being done by J. Humason and some associates, residents of Portland. In one of the upper workings on the hill, Humason sunk down some 10 feet further, reaching a depth of about 60 feet, where he struck a vein eight to 14 inches thick, and eight feet of depth on this and 22 feet long yielded $2000. It is this and other veins the tunnel is expected to tap. This vein has a slate hanging wall and a rock the miners call syenite for a footwall. This syenite is black, fine-grained and a very hard rock. It is heavily impregnated with white iron sulphides.
The old Bowden mine is about three-quarters of a mile north of the Ross vein. The Bowden vein, which is in granite, was very small on the surface. In past years it has been worked irregularly, yielding some $5000, but only limited development was made. Its present owners have a 32-inch vein at a depth of 80 feet. There is some good ore in this mine, and it is esteemed one of the promising properties of the district.
The area known as the Tolo placers, in this district, has yielded in past years some $50,000, and the gold, which is coarse, is presumed to have come from the pockets of the character which have been mined, and mainly, it is supposed, from a ledge on which Mr. Smith, of the contracting firm of Smith & Hull, has a bond. Mr. Smith has contracted for a 150-foot tunnel on what is known as the porphyry dike, and another force of men will carry down the old shaft on the Fort Lane ledge. This old shaft hole, with a depth of 130 feet, yielded $11,000 in gold, and so the old pocket holes are being carried down to get below the surface disturbances which some miners think wrought a confusion of the veins and made the pockets. This Fort Lane ledge and the dike intersect some 500 feet from where the shaft is being sunk. There are some 60 acres of good placer gravel about Tolo, if water could be had to attack the beds with giants and a sluice for tailings were built to Rogue River, but there is no near prospect of getting the water. A Mr. Mears, a Utah man, has several claims in this district near the half claim and is doing considerable development work. On one ledge, in which the gold is wholly free, the shaft is down 75 feet, yielding some good ore. The other claims are of low-grade ores, but some of the ledges are large. In the Waldo district, James Lytle has sold his copper claim for $15,000.
M. F. EGGLESTON.Oregonian, Portland, January 24, 1901, page 6
SOUTHERN OREGON.In the Ashland mine a full crew is being employed sinking on the main shaft and drifting on both sides sufficiently to develop the mine and block out the ore bodies, says the Valley Record. The shaft will soon attain the 700-foot level. Some very rich ore was tapped in a drift on the 600-foot level but it may be said that it did not surpass other strikes made in the lower levels of this mine within the past six months. There is no notable change as the shaft has gone down during the past month, the ledge holding out in good size of seven to eight feet in fine-milling ore carrying good values. The shipment of the assorted base ores, which are high-grade, to the smelters continues regularly, one car going out last week.
Byron N. White, accompanied by his family, were on Monday's train returning to Spokane from California. Mr. White and Geo. W. Barron are the principal owners in the Altan Mining Co., which owns the well-known Barron mine seven miles east of Ashland. He reports that they will begin development work on the mines as soon as the weather settles and becomes pleasant.--Valley Record.
A rich strike is reported to have been made on the Lucky Hill ledge, on Sardine Creek, says the Oregon Mining Journal. This mine is owned by J. G. Agner, who lately purchased the Lucky Bart mine in the Gold Hill district.
Ore from the Dixie Queen mine on Foots Creek, which goes $100 to the ton, owned by Fitzgibbon, of Gold Hill, is being milled at Houck's stamp mill.
Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, February 1901, page 150
News of the Mines.
Work on the Yellow Jacket mine, in the Blackwell district, will soon be resumed.
Ore assaying $12 a ton has been reached on the Blackjack mine on Galice Creek.
Charles and Alfred Anderson have sold their Foots Creek quartz mine to Joseph McGee and Mr. Richards, of Portland.
Work on the Gold Standard mine, on Galls Creek, has been delayed for a while, owing to the deep snow, which interfered with active operations.
A strike of a fine body of ore in the Breeden mine is reported, which is said to be the best yet uncovered on that property. A good-sized crew is being employed on the property.
A rich strike has been made on the Lucky Hill ledge, on Sardine Creek. This mine is owned by J. G. Agner, who recently purchased the Lucky Bart mine in the Gold Hill district.
On most of the placer mines in the county work is being pushed to a good advantage, with prospects that a great deal of bedrock will be cleaned off. The recent rainfall and melting snow is very helpful to the miners, who have been bothered a great deal by the recent freezes.
The shaft in the Ashland mine will soon attain the 700-foot level. Some very rich ore was tapped in a drift on the 600-foot level. A full crew is being employed sinking on the main shaft and drifting on both sides sufficiently to develop the mine and block out the ore bodies.
It is reported that the Dixie Queen mine, on which there was some kind of an option, has been sold for a big price. Late developments in this mine have disclosed some exceptionally good rock. The owner is a Mr. Fitzgibbon, who recently came to this county. The Dixie Queen mine is located on Foots Creek.
Medford Mail, February 22, 1901, page 3
PUSHING WORK AT MINES.
Operations That Promise Profit in Southern Oregon.
GOLD HILL, Or., May. 11.--The mill on the Lucky Bart group is running day and night on ore from the Doubtful claim. A 30-inch vein of high-grade free-milling ore assaying $45 per ton was recently struck on this claim, which will bring the Lucky Bart group to the front again, something over $150,000 having already been milled from the several ledges on the property.
The Gold Hill Milling, Power & Development Company is working day and night shifts with a drill in their Bowden mine, in Blackwell district. It is down 135 feet in three feet of high-grade ore carrying an ounce of gold per ton and perfectly free. It is the intention to sink the present shaft to a total depth of 750 feet. This mine produced a great deal of gold prior to its purchase by this company, which is composed of local business and professional men, and is being put in shape to rank among the foremost of Oregon's producing mines.
C. R. Ray, superintendent and general manager of the Gold Hill Quartz Mining Company, is in San Francisco purchasing mills and hoisting machinery for their Braden mine. He will also get a new mill, as the present 10 stamps are worn out and inadequate. They have an immense quantity of low-grade ore in sight, and are engaged in development work preparing for their new plant. This company is composed of wealthy eastern business men, and they have been investing extensively both in the mineral and timber resources of Southern Oregon.
Oregonian, Portland, May 12, 1902, page 3
MINES OF SOUTHERN OREGON; ALSO ELSEWHERE
Latest Reports from One of Our Chief Industries.
A large quantity of ore is being hauled to mill from the Gold Standard mine, located a few miles west of Jacksonville. It is of excellent quality and will doubtless yield well.
J. F. Garrison, who is developing a placer mine situated in Sterlingville district, has run a tunnel 250 feet in length, but bedrock has not been struck as yet. The prospects for good pay are favorable, however.
The past season's work in the Foots Creek placer mines has about been cleaned up, with favorable results. Some of the miners have done better than usual.
It is reported that H. C. Perkins and D. H. Stovall recently discovered corundum in upper Slate Creek district, a mineral hitherto unknown on the coast.
The Hydraulic Mining Co. has disposed of several mining claims located in Jump-Off Joe district, to Mrs. E. A. Smith. The consideration named is $12,500.
W. H. Ramsey and W. L. Ingram recently made a fine copper strike in Slate Creek district. H. C. Perkins, who has visited it, says it is on the same line with the Preston Peak and Waldo mines.
Whiteside Bros. of Minneapolis, who recently bonded the Spence and Cass copper properties, situated in southern Josephine County, have a force engaged in developing them.
Geo. Hoffman and Fred Bolt of Thompson Creek, who are working an excellent quartz mine in Tallow Box district, recently cleaned up several hundred dollars.
A 10-stamp Hammond mill has been installed at the Eureka mine, Soldier Creek district, which has been bonded by the Oregon & California Fields, Ltd.
R. Van Brunt, who purchased the Ock placer mines, Happy Camp district, Calif., expects to clean up nearly $100,000 this season.
The Williamsburg Mining Co., of which Robt. G. Smith is president, is developing the Bone of Contention mine, situated in Williams Creek district, Josephine County, with excellent prospects. They have sunk a shaft 140 feet deep.
The ore sent to the Charleston Fair by the Granite Hill Mining Co., in which C. L. Mangum and J. O. Booth are interested, was awarded a bronze medal.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, June 12, 1902, page 4
Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
Reports come of a number of important gold discoveries being made on Mule Creek and in the lower Rogue River country. This section is highly mineralized and has never been prospected to any extent. A better field in this respect is not offered the prospector anywhere. The river bars and banks are being washed down and cradled through rockers or over sluices in the old-fashioned way. While this is a primeval method of doing things, it is about as far along as most of that section has got, and those who are in there and at work are making money. A post office has been established at the Greenback mine, and will be known as Greenback. The new mill being built at this mine will be ready for work in about six weeks.
The Sumpter Miner, September 17, 1902, page 9
JACKSON COUNTY MINES.
EARLY RAINS START THE PLACERS TO WORK
WHILE GENERAL ACTIVITY IN QUARTZ PREVAILS.
Frank Ketchum, who purchased the Batchelder property on Sardine Creek, has put a new line of pipe into the diggings and is driving "mountains to the sea."
J. J. Houck's custom quartz mill at Gold Hill has been running steadily since September, only being shut down long enough to clean up and make repairs around the mill.
James Smith, who purchased the Vroman property on Sardine Creek, intends to "knock as much gravel as the next one" this year and already has quite a slice of bedrock uncovered.
"Uncle Bob" Cook, who has mined on Foots Creek for the past forty years, has taken advantage of the early run of water and will have more ground moved before Christmas than is usually off by cleaning-up time.
H. L. White, of Ashland, who owns the placer claims at the forks of Sardine Creek, has two men at work with his giant. A new ditch is being used on this property which gives a pressure of 285 feet through an 11-inch pipe.
Ex-Senator E. B. Dufur has had men at work on his deep race all fall and managed to get it in first-class shape before the heavy rains. His giant is now running night and day. This mine is another of Foots Creek's good producers.
George Lance and Lee Cook are blasting the bank in Gold Gulch diggings on Foots Creek and piping the gravel night and day. When the water failed last spring the boys were piping ground that averaged $1.25 per yard. Summer prospecting proved the bank to be an extensive back channel, and portions of it averaged $1.60 per yard. This property will make a big cleanup in the spring.
The Black Gold Channel placer mine on Foots Creek, under the management of A. E. Ruble, who has the property leased, is being worked with two giants. That is the only mine in that locality using a Ruble elevator. Six men are employed in the diggings this year, and from the amount of bedrock uncovered so far the spring cleanup will be far ahead of the average, which runs into the thousands.
Edward Simons and William Brass, who made a good run from the Purkeypile mine on Galls Creek, have purchased the Thiel mine inside the townsite of Gold Hill, and the first of the week began extracting ore. This ledge was found several years ago by A. Thiel in his side yard. Mr. Thiel conducts a bakery on his premises, and at odd times worked on the ledge. With the help of his son, he sank thirty-five feet and milled several tons of ore, from which he secured handsome returns. It is at that depth that Simons and Brass began work. As they are both practical miners it is likely a full-fledged mine will soon be running behind the high board fence in the town of Gold Hill.
Dr. Braden, of Gold Hill, was in the city Tuesday to meet the representatives of the Bowden-Yellow Jacket mines and to complete the transfer of the quartz mill and water right he owns on the east bank of Rogue River, opposite Gold Hill. The new company, which secured control of the Bowden-Yellow Jacket, have been after this mill and water power ever since they secured the quartz property, and by the deal consummated Tuesday will be able to crush their ore as rapidly as the five stamps will do the work. The water power is one of the best along Rogue River. The water is conveyed through a three-foot ditch for two miles and has a fall of eighteen feet into the river. The mill is the latest improved one, thousand-pound stamps, five in number, with concentrator. Should the ore bodies now being developed in the two mines increase in size, as the present showing indicates, the mill will be increased to ten stamps and another concentrator added. It is the intention of the company to sink on both the properties, and new machinery is now on the way.
W. J. Stanley, of Ashland, was in the city Tuesday. Speaking of the mining outlook in Southern Oregon, [he] said: "I look for great development in quartz properties during the coming year, not only from the fact that local men are taking considerable active interest in old properties but also from the fact of so many strangers being in the field and yet keeping their actions quiet. For instance, Senator Clark has five men right here in Jackson County who are making regular reports, yet nothing is ever heard of them locally. To my knowledge there will be several properties opened up by spring that have been lying idle for several years." Mr. Stanley has been interested in the Homestake mine at Woodville and recently bonded the property to Spokane parties. The bond has been taken up, a company incorporated, and machinery ordered. Active work will begin the first of the year if the machinery can be delivered by that time. The plant will consist of steam hoist, drills, air compressor and, upon future development, a complete mining plant. The main ledge, which dips at about 60º, has been opened for a distance of 350 feet, carrying values [of] $10 per ton free milling and concentrates worth $200 per ton or a straight assay of $213 per ton. The new company intends to have a "producer" in this property.
Dr. C. R. Ray's great work in damming Rogue River for power purposes has not retarded his efforts in developing the mines in Southern Oregon. The doctor has investments from the Mount Reuben district to the head of Elk Creek in Jackson County, and at various points intervening. About two years ago he purchased the Braden mine and mill from Dr. Jas. Braden on Kanes Creek, and since that time has had men at work opening the property in new places. During the past few months work on this particular mine has gone steadily ahead under the supervision of ex-Sheriff Alex Orme, who is superintendent of all of Dr. Ray's mines. This week Mr. Orme reports to Dr. Ray that there was enough high-grade ore blocked out in the Braden mine to pay for all the other mines he owned. That this statement is undoubtedly correct is evidenced from the fact that a new forty-stamp mill has been ordered to replace the old ten-stamp mill now on the property and the further fact that a right-of-way has been cleared across the mountains from the mill to the dam at Tolo for transmission of power to the mine. In addition to that a number of men, in charge of Charles Meirs, are at work on a new tunnel to tap the old Hicks ledge on Foots Creek, at a depth of 350 feet. That is a property Dr. Ray purchased from H. J. Hobbs, H. L. White and John Noe about three years ago. Considerable money has been taken from this property. On Galls Creek, William Blackert is doing assessment work with a crew upon several of Dr. Ray's properties. Up in the Elk Creek district work has been suspended for the winter with sufficient development to warrant going ahead in the spring.
Medford Mail, December 12, 1902, page 1
JACKSON COUNTY MINES.
EARLY RAINS START THE PLACERS TO WORK
WHILE GENERAL ACTIVITY IN QUARTZ PREVAILS.
H. L. White, of Ashland, will have men at work on his quartz properties near Rock Creek this week.
The cold weather of the latter part of the week caused a lightness of water in many of the placer claims, and only those having good and first water rights were able to run full time.
Marion Lance, who is working the old Lance placers on the right-hand fork of Foots Creek, has everything in first-class condition for the winter's run. He will have a crew of four men to assist him.
Frank Shaffer, who has some good quartz properties "on the granite" in the Blackwell district, has been going over the work done during the summer and is negotiating with Portland parties who desire to purchase.
A. M. Cowgill, of Gold Hill, is prospecting near Cinnabar in the interest of himself and Ivan Humason of Medford. Mr. Cowgill found some very good prospects in that locality last fall and went in again three weeks ago with supplies enough for all winter.
Duffield & Burns are working their placer on Galls Creek with the full pressure from the high ditch they constructed a year ago. Mr. Duffield will devote all of his time to the mine this winter, having turned his ranch over to his son Charles.
The old Hay diggings on Rogue River are being worked this winter with the addition of rock cars which are used in connection with a derrick. This mine has always been a good producer, and with the new methods in vogue will no doubt have an increased output.
Simons & Brass retimbered the Thiel mine inside the townsite of Gold Hill this week and sunk about eight feet. They are saying very little about their values, but the indications are that the ore has proven to be of sufficient high grade to meet all expectations.
Willis Cramer, the flour mill owner of Myrtle Creek, is working the Tin Pan mine on Galls Creek with three men. This property has been more or less "coyoted," but under Mr. Cramer's management will be systematically developed. Considerable money has been taken from this property in the past.
H. A. Meyer and Nelson Hebert have been doing considerable work on the extension to the Cheney-Humason property in Blackwell district and have struck an extensive ledge carrying good values throughout. Mr. Meyer is at present in Portland on business connected with the property and expects to have a full crew at work as soon as he returns.
McClure & Ward are drifting on their Water Gulch ledge, which is improving with every foot of development. Mr. McClure has been very successful in his operations in that locality, having milled some of the best rock ever extracted in that vicinity. He considers the property they are working one of the best in the district.
Work on the Big Foot mine in Colvig Gulch opposite Rock Point has been suspended during the settlement of negotiations for a sale. Portland parties are after the property. The lead in this mine is small, but the values are high as was shown by the rock milled by Simons, Wolfe & Foster, who recently sold the mine to J. R. Briggs for $1,000.
The sale of the Gold Chloride mine on Wards Creek is still in abeyance, owing to matters connected with other property. The Portland company holding the bond has been granted an extension of time, and it is believed the price will be paid in a short time, as over $7,000 has been expended thus far by the holders of the bond.
Elisha Ray, who struck a rich chute of ore on his Water Gulch property near Gold Hill three years go and from which he extracted about $4500, has been cleaning out part of the old work and timbering. He has run into what he considers the original lead, which had been lost, and from the prospects he has been getting is under the impression that he has a true fissure, which he always contended was there. He is planning to put machinery on the property in the spring, but in the meantime will work along by the present methods.
I. L. Hamilton has purchased a one-third interest in the Monumental quartz mine from Baker & Jackson and will take an active part in the development of the property The mine is situated on Shelley Creek in California and has a ledge forty-two feet wide at the surface. It is a free gold proposition, carrying fair values. Considerable work has been done on the property in the way of a seven-hundred-foot tunnel and about one hundred and fifty feet of shaft. Work has been suspended for the winter owing to snow but will be resumed in the spring.
Medford Mail, December 19, 1902, page 1
SOUTHERN OREGONMining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, February 1903, page 41
J. K. Clark, brother of Senator Clark the copper king, who recently purchased the old Booth & Dysert placer mines on Jump-off Joe, has practically made a new placer property out of the old mines, so extensive have been the improvements that the mines have undergone under his direction. The placers are now known as the Clark hydraulic mines, and they are abuzz night and day, with the new equipment in full operation. Mr. Clark had new and longer ditches built, the old flumes repaired, new piping was laid and greater pressure secured. Two No. 3 giants are operated under a pressure of 400 feet. With this gigantic power the streams are hurled from the giants' nozzles with a force that nothing can withstand. When the streams are turned aside into the surrounding trees, the great pines are shorn of their limbs by the cutting avalanche of water as they would be by a tornado, says the Oregon Mining Journal.
At night the diggings of the mines are brightly illuminated by many arc lights, electric, supplied by the mine's new plant. These mines have hundreds of acres of rich placer ground, and will add a great quantity of gold to the state's output of the yellow metal during the years that are to come.
The Oregon Gold Fields Placer Company, owning a large tract just above this property, will be operating on an extensive scale this year. Their ground is thoroughly proven, is rich and easily worked, the ditches are in good condition and good pressure is had.
A FORTY-STAMP MILL."Oregon," Mining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, February 1904, page 55
The 40-stamp mill for the Lucky Boy mine, Blue River district, Southern Oregon, is nearing completion, according to late reports. When finished this will be the third 40-stamp equipment had by Oregon mines. The Bonanza mine, of this district, has 40 stamps, that being five more than is had by the North Pole. The Greenback mine, in Southern Oregon, has 40 stamps in two mills, 30 in one and 10 in the other. The Lucky Boy mill is to be quite modern in every respect, said L. Zimmerman, president of the company, while speaking recently of the work the company is doing.
IS PROVING A BONANZA
MINE YIELDING THIRTY THOUSAND DOLLARS MONTHLY.
Output of the Greenback Property Is Keeping Two Mills and a Cyanide Plant Busy.
Grants Pass, Ore., March 16.--Through Eben Smith of Denver, who is a prominent stockholder in the Greenback Gold Mining Company, it is learned that the Greenback mine of Grave Creek, near here, is proving a veritable bonanza. From a desultory pocket proposition, operated by a blind horse and an old-time arrastra, the Greenback has been developed by Denver mining men into the richest mine of the Webfoot State. It is now paying dividends of $30,000 a month. It produces $60,000 monthly, and the average expenses are about $30,000, leaving $30,000 clear profit for the stockholders. The stock is held by a few men, among them Eben Smith of Denver, William Brevoort of New York and a few others.
Two mills are operated at the Greenback, one of ten and the other of thirty stamps, aside from a 100-ton cyanide plant. A crew of 120 men is employed, and some 250 people are supported in the town of Greenback by the Greenback mine. There is ore enough blocked out at the mine to keep the present battery busy for fifteen years and more, and enough on down in the lower levels to keep the mills busy for twice that time. The owners of the Greenback have been very reticent about giving out any information concerning the mine, and it was not until recently that the true condition of the property was known.
El Paso Daily Times, March 17, 1904, page 4
March 27, 1903 Oregonian
MINING NEAR GOLD HILL
Considerable Activity Shown on Old and new Properties.
GOLD HILL, Or., July 10.--(Special.)--The Condor Power & Mining Company is placing a new steel wagon bridge across Rogue River just below the Ray dam at Gold Ray.
L. T. Pockman, representing San Francisco capital, has bought the Hawkeye American mining claim in the Willow Springs mining district, and has moved a complete mining outfit out to camp with a small force to commence active development on the property.
In near vicinity to this property Robert Allison and associates have taken a lease and bond on the Schumpf mine and are cleaning out and retimbering the old tunnel, from which the owners a few years ago took out several thousand dollars in free-milling ore.
The Lucky Bart mine, on Sardine Creek, has been leased to J. W. Hay and partners, who are now doing considerable development work.
J. M. Patrick has taken a year's lease on the Braden mine, two miles east of town, and is working quite a force of men on same. While repairing and fitting up the ten-stamp mill now on the property he has leased the Bowden mill at Gold Hill, though which he will run some 200 or 300 tons of Braden ore. This mine has produced large quantities of pay ore on the past, and as Dr. Ray has been steadily exploring and blocking out ore in this property for the past five years it now has immense ore reserves in sight, sufficient to keep the present ten-stamp mill running a number of years.
The large ore bodies in this mine, in places from 15 to 20 feet in width, are found and opened to a depth of between 400 and 500 feet, thus adding another case to refute the old and well-established theory that there are nothing but "pocket mines" in Southern Oregon.
Messrs. Simons and Hawley are prospecting E. E. Miner's placer ground on Karnes Creek with a view of demonstrating its adaptability for dredging purposes, and are meeting with very flattering results.
Oregonian, Portland, July 11, 1904, page 4
SOUTHERN OREGON MINESThe Granite Hill mine, located near Grants Pass, and owned and operated by the American Gold Fields Company of Chicago, is now equipped with one of the biggest and finest milling and concentrating plants in Oregon. The new electric equipment, recently placed, is in full operation, and the electric fluid is proving a far more positive and more economical power than steam. Operations will be followed on a bigger scale, both in and out of the mine. Much has been done during the past two years in the matter of placing equipment on this property; the end is not yet, for manager W. J. Morphy announces that his company will immediately begin the installation of 20 more stamps. With such an addition the new mill will have a total battery of 40, and will be second to none on any Oregon mine. The concentrating plant of the property is complete, consisting primarily of six Frue-vanners. Another series of six will be added when the 20 additional stamps are placed.
By Dennis H. Stovall
All expensive features of mining and milling have been overcome in the Granite Hill, and the system now employed is not only complete in every detail but is economical, which is fully attested [to] by the fact of the ability of the company to mine and concentrate the ore of the Granite Hill for $1.50 a ton. This is a splendid showing, made as it is in a mine where heavy pumping is required from the deep levels and in which every pound of ore must be removed by hoist.
The Granite Hill has been under development by the American Gold Fields Company since the latter part of 1902. Since then the growth of the mine, which was formerly but a mere prospect, has been phenomenal. The company has expended nearly $200,000 for development and equipment, but every dollar has been well expended. There are now over 11,000 feet, or more than two miles, of underground workings, of tunnels, shafts, upraises and drifts, in the Granite Hill mine. This, aside from the several thousand feet of development work done on the Red Jacket, Ida and Golden Terry claims, all of which are well-developed mines, and form an important part of the Granite Hill holdings. The Red Jacket is equipped with hoisting machinery, and ore from it is being removed and hauled to the Granite Hill mill, a quarter mile below. The vein of the Red Jacket is making a splendid showing, and a strike recently made is now yielding ore of $100 a ton value.
At a mass meeting of mining men and others at Grants Pass this week, the proposition of building a railroad from this city to the Waldo copper mines was definitely decided. The road will be built by the California & Oregon Coast Railway Company, a San Francisco corporation, at the head of which is J. O'B. Gunn. Colonel T. W. M. Draper is the chief engineer for the new railway. These people have accepted the proposition of local promoters, by which subscriptions for stock to the amount of $20,000 will be made by local capital, such stock to be turned over as a bonus. The company intends to begin construction work within the next sixty days. The main desire of those locally interested is to get a railroad into the Waldo copper district, that the smelter now built at Takilma, and others that must subsequently follow in the event of the new road being completed, may operate continually. The Takilma smelter can only operate during the summer at the present time because of the impassable condition of the wagon roads, making it impossible to haul matte and coke. The new road will cross Rogue River at Grants Pass, and Applegate River six miles from this city. It will then cross the mountain divide of the Coast Range mountains, passing through one of the finest belts of fir and pine timber in Oregon, as well as the richest copper belt, dropping down into the Illinois Valley, and crossing Illinois River at the old mining town of Kerby. The California & Oregon Coast Railway Company already has a line fully surveyed over this route, and has secured right of way and terminal grounds.
The heaviest snow of the season, in truth, for several years, fell this past week in Southern Oregon. In all the mountain districts there is from two to 20 feet of snow, the greatest depth known for many years. The deep snow insures plenty of water for hydraulic mining till very late, Some of the larger properties are now calculating on all-summer runs of the giants.
Mineral Wealth, Redding, California, April 1, 1906, page 6
SOUTHERN OREGON MINESThe hot weather of June brought an end to all hydraulic placer operations in Southern Oregon. Nearly all of the mines have made their final cleanup, and the greater part of the virgin gold has been shipped to the mint or passed over local banking counters for exchange. The output this season of placer gold from Southern Oregon districts falls short of $800,000, which is considerably below the average output. The decrease is due to the light rains of winter, and to the tardy start, as very few mines were able to start their giants before January, fully two months behind time. About 50 ounces of platinum are reported saved from the various placers. Most of the rare metal comes from the Deep Gravel mines of Waldo, and the Royal Group of mines of Galice district.
By Dennis H. Stovall, Grants Pass, Ore.
A very rich strike was made on an upraise from the 400-foot level of the Granite Hill mine this month. The body of ore uncovered was a. high-grade galena, carrying values in free gold and concentrates. Simultaneously with the strike, a heavier flow of water was encountered. Though the flow was conveyed safely to the sump where the new electric pump was operated, and though the pump has a capacity of 2000 gallons per minute, it was not able to keep up with the water, and the lower level was soon flooded. The men were driven out. and the skip set to work on the underground lake. Superintendent Wickersham hopes to have the mine cleared again soon, and the pump started up. In the meantime the 20-stamp mill is kept pounding on the ore from the upper levels. Manager W. J. Morphy, of the American Gold Fields Company, of Chicago, owner of the Granite Hill. has been here for several weeks making an inspection of the property and laying plans for future work.
A large hydraulic property is being developed and equipped on lower Rogue River, 50 miles below Grants Pass, by the Euchre Creek Mining Company of Los Angeles, of which Chas. W. Mills is president. Mr. Mills has a number of California mining men associated with him. They made a tour of the remote and isolated lower Rogue district this past winter, and were struck with the richness of the bars and channels along the river, many of which have never been mined or prospected. Several rich claims were taken up on Euchre Creek, and it is these that are now being equipped by the Euchre Creek Mining Company. Hydraulic machinery, piping and giant, has been ordered and will be placed as soon as it arrives. Ditches are under construction to bring water from Euchre Creek, and the new mine will be ready to begin work this winter. Associated with Mr. Mills in the Euchre Creek enterprise are Harry E. Mills, E. L. Weaver, C. P. Moodie, J. D. Buckwalter, R. N. Bulls. H. F. Despars, E. J. Kennedy, E. A. Klein and C. W. Murray, all of Los Angeles.
The 200-ton smelter at Takilma, on the Waldo copper mines, was blown in for the summer. The smelter will be operated as long as the conditions of the 45 miles of mountain roads between Grants Pass and Takilma will allow the freighting of matte and coke. A train of 150 horses and mules is employed hauling matte from the smelter to Grants Pass, and returning with the coke. Manager Walter, of the Takilma company, expects a good season's run from the splendid body of ore uncovered this past winter in the Queen of Bronze, one of the properties of the Takilma company, and which supplies the the bulk of the ore for the smelter. The Waldo Smelting & Mining Company also has a number of copper properties, deeply developed and in operation near the smelter. The California & Oregon Coast Railroad, which has its final surveys made and right of way secured, and which purposes to build a railroad from Grants Pass to the smelter and copper mines, states that it will, this summer, build about 15 miles of the line. With railroad facilities, the smelter and all the copper mines of Waldo would be operated continually.
The old Blackwell Hill mines, of Gold Hill district, were sold recently to Colonel Pennington and associates of Fort Worth, Texas, for a large consideration. Colonel Pennington was formerly interested in the Gold King mine, on Josephine Creek, and still holds interests in that section. But he will devote all of his time in the future toward the development and equipment of the Blackwell Hill. These properties comprise 400 acres of patented ground, highly mineralized, with considerable development work done. The new owner has placed a crew, and will shape the mines for operation on a large scale.
Mineral Wealth, Redding, California, July 15, 1906, page 6
SOUTHERN OREGON.One of the richest strikes of the season for Southern Oregon was made a few days ago on the Blackwell Hill mines. A pay chute was opened on this property with ore that runs as high as $12 a pound, or $24,000 a ton. The richer quartz is on the hanging wall, but the entire vein is remarkably rich. The Blackwell Hill properties are located near Gold Hill, and were bought only a short time ago by Col. A. S. Pennington and associates, of Fort Worth, Texas. Among the men interested in the property is S. C. Roe, a brother of E. P. Roe, the novelist. These gentlemen, besides being interested in the Blackwell Hill, also own the Gold King mine, near Kerby, on Josephine Creek, and efforts [sic] on the Blackwell Hill. Since taking possession they have had day and night crews at work on the mine, and it has been well developed. The showing is excellent, and the owners will place a mill and reduction plant before another season. The Blackwell Hill mines are old properties. They have been regular producers for the past half century, but until the recent owners took hold of them have only been worked in a desultory way.
Billy Frakes and Ben Batty, two Grants Pass prospectors, returned a few days ago from a prospecting trip into the Siskiyou Mountain country, bringing with them samples of rich tellurium or sylvanite ore and a flask of gold mortared from a strike they made up on Elliott Creek, a tributary of Applegate River. The samples of tellurium or sylvanite brought in by them are exceptionally rich. They were removed from a three-foot ledge, all ore of high grade, with six inches on the hanging wall that runs up into the hundreds per ton. The prospectors also uncovered several rich stringers of free gold, from which they picked and mortared a quantity of the pure metal. They are highly elated over their discovery, as it gives every prospect of becoming a good thing. They are gathering supplies to return and develop the claim. They report that there is an army of gold hunters up on the Siskiyou divide this summer, and that a number of good strikes have been made.
To cope with the great inflow of water that recently flooded the lower levels of the Granite Hill mine, the American Gold Fields Company has installed a large Worthington pump, of the compound type, with a capacity of over 30,000 gallons an hour. This pump is rapidly lowering the water, and superintendent Wickersham believes that normal conditions will be restored at the property in a short time. This pump, together with the big one on the lower level, now submerged, will easily keep down the water in the future, once the mine is cleared. The management has the greater part of the crew employed in the company's sawmill and in the timber of the claims, cutting lumber for new buildings and for shaft timbers. Operations will be resumed with increased vigor when the flood is lowered. Just before the water came in, a massive body of the richest ore yet encountered in the mine was struck on the lower level, and the management is anxious to continue the mining of this. Despite the recent trouble, which has been principally a matter of delay, the prospects for the Granite Hill are very bright.
The Little Chieftain mine, of Myrtle Creek district, which has been under development for the past two years, is now making regular shipments of ore to the Kenner smelter. Returns on this ore are very satisfactory, and shipments will be continued all this winter.
A new hydraulic mine is being developed and equipped on Myrtle Creek by the Old Channel Mining Company, of which John D. Platts, an experienced mining engineer, is general manager and superintendent. Mr. Platts has a crew at work running a ditch to bring water to the diggings from the main fork of Myrtle Creek. The claims of this mine are located on the richest of the Myrtle Creek bars. Mammoth nuggets have been found on them. One piece containing over $900 was picked up there a short time ago. The Old Channel is the first company to take up hydraulic mining on an extensive scale in the Myrtle [Creek] district.
The Lee's Creek Mining Company, under the management of J. C. Lee, are doing a vast amount development work on their placer claims of the Myrtle Creek district. One of the big undertakings of this company is the driving of a 700-foot tunnel through Lee's Mountain, completing a 30-mile ditch the company has constructed to supply water for the mines. The ditch is ready for the water with the exception of that part of it that will run through Lee's Mountain, and as soon as this part is completed, three giants will be started up and kept in continuous operation.
Northwest Mining Journal, September 1906, page 49
GRANTS PASS, ORE.A box containing 120 pounds of ore, and carrying $7,000 in gold, was brought into Grants Pass a few days ago by C. L. Mangum, president of the Grants Pass Miners' Association, and put on display at the mineral exhibit room of the association. The gold attracted much attention, because of its coming from a new mine and a new district. It was undoubtedly the richest display of quartz ever exhibited here. Many of the chunks were half gold, and all of it was peppered with yellow metal. In some of the pieces the gold occurred in slabs the thickness of a man's hand. The gold shown is but a small part of the fortune taken from a rich strike in Siskiyou County, California, near the Oregon line.
The property has been under development for the past year, and the owner has removed over $100,000 of such stuff as was shown here. At the time Mr. Mangum visited the claim, the owner had $70,000 worth of ore under the bunk in his cabin. Very little is given out concerning the fabulous mine, other than it is located in Siskiyou County, near the state line, and that it was recently sold to an Eastern syndicate for $400,000. This proves that the "good things" have not all been located on the Siskiyou divide.
The Blue Ledge mine and camp continues to grow, and the outlook of that part of Siskiyou County gets better and brighter every day. That it will become the leading copper camp of the Pacific Coast is fully conceded with all competent mining men acquainted with conditions. The road from Medford, Oregon, is continually lined with men, afoot and horseback, with rigs of every sort, freight wagon and teams. Two stages go out daily. The Blue Ledge Company now employs 350 men on and around its mines. The company's monthly payroll for labor alone is $15,000. Underground development. has been pushed with all possible speed, and ore worth several millions of dollars has been blocked out. Not only copper, but gold is also carried. This past week a chunk of quartz was taken from the main drift that was almost half gold. One monster piece shipped out contained $7,000. It is now a certainty that. a smelter will be built on the Blue Ledge this next summer, and that a railroad will be built connecting the mine with some point on the main line of the Southern Pacific. A boulevard has been built from Joe's Bar, the townsite and camp, to the mine, a distance of five miles. Over this boulevard a 90-ton boiler and much other ponderous equipment has been hauled.
The Granite Hill mine and camp, near Grants Pass, has returned to its old-time activity, all of the water having been removed from the lower levels, and mining is now being done in the stopes and drifts. The mill has been started up again, and the 20-stamps are pounding continually. The rich body of ore, struck a short time before the flood came in, is being worked. This ore carries splendid values, and with an increased crew the property will make good the time lost during the summer while the levels were flooded. The water is easily held under control by the big electrically driven centrifugal pump, and the management has no fear of a repetition of the former trouble. John Ross, Jr., the well-known Sutter Creek miner and consulting engineer for the company, will direct operations at the Granite Hill in the future. Mr. Ross has great faith in the property and is confident it will become a big producer. W. J. Morphy, who recently visited and inspected the mines as manager for the American Gold Fields Company, has returned to Chicago. His son, Charley Morphy, will have nominal charge of the property. The outlook for the Granite Hill was never brighter than at present.
The old Braden mine, near Gold Hill, which was purchased a few months ago by J. W. Opp, the former owner and manager of the Opp mine, near Jacksonville. has been completely overhauled, more deeply developed and equipped with a modern milling and concentrating plant. The new mill was built during the summer, and the recent test was highly satisfactory. Owing to the scarcity of water the mill is operated during one shift only, but will pound day and night as soon as the water supply is adequate. Two shifts are employed in the workings, and a mammoth ore reserve is blocked out. The mill has a ten-stamp battery, with a set of Johnson concentrators for each set of stamps. The mill and entire plant is operated by electricity derived over the power line of the Condor Company.
Heavy rains have been falling over Southern Oregon for the past two weeks, with considerable snow on the mountains. This gives assurance of an early beginning of placer operations.
The Seattle people who own and are developing the old Hammersley mine, on Jump-Off-Joe, are installing a 25-ton cyanide plant to assist the five-stamp mill.
Northwest Mining Journal, November 1906, page 75
SOUTHERN OREGON MINESThe hydraulic placer miners have completed their regular summer's work of overhauling and repairing, and have their properties ready to begin work. If the rains are heavy this winter, the output of virgin gold will be exceptionally large from this section.
By Dennis H. Stovall, Grants Pass, Ore.
The Golden Drift Mining Company is again operating its giants after being closed down for several months to allow repairs and additions to be made to the power plant. Two giants are operated by the five-step centrifugal pump. Fifteen hundred horsepower is necessary to operate this pump. W. C. Ament, president of the company, is here from Chicago, inspecting the company's properties. The giants will be operated continuously in the future.
The hydraulic mines of the Galice Consolidated Mining Company will not be operated this winter because of unfortunate litigation. Manager Counsin has suspended work and will retain only such men as will be necessary to guard the properties. This company was the defendant in a lawsuit, damages being asked by the owner of a neighboring mine because of a break in the big ditch of the Galice Consolidated Company, which overflowed the rival diggings. The case is now pending in the supreme courts.
Superintendent Kremer continues to meet good success in lowering the water that recently flooded the Granite Hill mine. The water is below the 300-foot level and will reach the 400-foot within the next few days, when the big electrically operated pump will be cleared and started up. With both pumps operating, no further difficulty will be encountered by the flood. The stopes and drifts have been cleared on the 200- and 300-foot levels, and mining is now being done. The mill will be started up this week.
The Oregon Gold Fields Company, of which Samuel Bowden is general manager, has placed a crew on the Ada mine, of Foots Creek district, which it recently purchased, and is deeply developing the property. The ledge on this mine is from three to four feet wide, and carries good values in free gold. The mine has shipped considerable ore, and is opened up to a depth of 300 feet. A long tunnel, driven in below the old workings, will tap the ore body at great depth.
The Green Brothers mine on Galice Creek, which has been under development for several years by Dan and George Green, has been bonded by Dr. J. F. Reddy. Dr. Reddy selected this property over several others inspected, and is confident it will develop into a very productive mine. He has placed a. crew and will open it up and shape it for business. The vein has a width of eight feet, and carries free-milling ore at the rate of $14 a ton. Some of the values run as high as $50.
The busiest mining camp in Southern Oregon at the present time is Takilma, the site of the Takilma smelter, in the heart of the Waldo copper district. The smelter is operating day and night and is treating from 150 to 200 tons of ore daily. About four carloads of matte are being shipped from the smelter each week, and about the same amount of coke is' being consumed. The bulk of ore for the smelter comes from the Queen of Bronze mine. This is the property of the Takilma Smelting Company, owner of the smelter. The company also owns and is developing the Lyttle mine, of the same district. The Waldo Smelting & Mining Company owns several properties in the district and has men at work developing them.
The Euchre Creek Mining Company, composed principally of Los Angeles mining men, has its lower Rogue River hydraulic placers almost in shape to begin operations. This company purchased a large tract of rich diggings on Half Moon and Black Bear bars, 50 miles below Grants Pass. Charles W. Mills, of Los Angeles, president and general manager of the company, has been here all summer superintending the work of development. The bars are very rich, carrying values in coarse gold, and the ground is all virgin. Ditches and flumes have been constructed bringing water from Tom East Creek. The supply will be sufficient to keep the giants in operation for a season of eight or nine months each year. The Euchre Creek mines are located in the most remote and the most isolated district of Oregon, which accounts for the ground having never been worked. As the Rogue is not navigable, and as there are no roads into the district, the task of carrying in the heavy machinery and equipment has been a strenuous one. All of the ponderous pieces of steel and iron, the giants, piping, and even a sawmill, have been packed in over the mountain trail from the West Fork on ponies and mules. The sawmill has been at work for several weeks cutting lumber from the fine timber on the claims with which to construct flumes and erect mine buildings. The company expects to have its properties in shape to begin work by January 1st.
Mineral Wealth, Redding, California, November 1, 1906, page 7
SOUTHERN OREGON MINESA box containing 120 pounds of ore and carrying $7,000 in gold was brought into Grants Pass a few days ago by C. L. Mangum, president of the Grants Pass Miners' Association, and put on display at the mineral exhibit room of the association. The gold attracted much attention. because of its coming from a new mine and a new district. It was undoubtedly the richest display of quartz ever exhibited here. Many of the chunks were half gold, and all of it was peppered with the yellow metal. In some of the places the gold occurred in slabs the thickness of a man's hand. The gold shown is but a small part of the fortune taken from a rich strike in Siskiyou County, California, near the Oregon line.
By Dennis H. Stovall, Grants Pass, Ore.
The property has been under development for the past year, and it is reported that the owner has removed over $100,000 of such stuff as was shown here. At the time Mr. Mangum visited the claim, the owner had $70,000 worth of ore under the bunk in his cabin according to the estimate made. Very little is given out concerning the new mine, other than it is located in Siskiyou County, near the state line, and that it was recently sold to an eastern syndicate for a large sum. This proves that the "good things" in the Siskiyous have not all been located.
The Granite Hill mine and camp, near Grants Pass, has returned to its old-time activity, all of the water having been removed from the lower levels, and mining is now being done in the stopes and drifts. The mill has been started up again, and the 20 stamps are pounding continually. The rich body of ore, struck a short time before the flood came in, is being worked. The ore carries splendid values, and with an increased crew the property will make good the time lost during the summer while the levels were flooded. The water is easily held under control by the big electrically driven centrifugal pump, and the management has no fear of a repetition of the former trouble. John Ross, Jr., the well-known Sutter Creek miner and consulting engineer of the company, will direct operations at. the Granite Hill in the future. Mr. Ross has great faith in the property and is confident it will become a big producer. W. J. Morphy, who recently visited and inspected the mines as manager for the American Gold Fields Company, has returned to Chicago. His son, Charley Morphy, will have nominal charge of the property. The outlook for the Granite Hill was never brighter than at present.
The old Braden mine, near Gold Hill, which was purchased a few months ago by J. W. Opp, the former owner and manager of the Opp mine, near Jacksonville, has been equipped with a modern milling and concentrating plant. The new mill was built during the summer, and the recent test was highly satisfactory. Owing to the scarcity of water the mill is operated during one shift only, but will pound day and night as soon as the water supply is adequate. Two shifts are employed in the workings, and a large ore reserve is blocked out. The mill has a ten-stamp battery, with a set of Johnson concentrators for each set of stamps. The mill and entire plant is operated by electricity derived over the power line of the Condor company.
Heavy rains have been falling over Southern Oregon for the past two weeks, with considerable snow on the mountains. This gives assurance of an early beginning of placer operations.
The Seattle people who owned and are developing the old Hammersley mine, on Jump-Off Joe, are installing a 25-ton cyanide plant. A five-stamp mill is in operation.
Mineral Wealth, Redding, California, November 15, 1906, page 9
The Year's Mining Progress in Southern OregonIt is a very natural thing for a writer to begin a resume of this sort with the time-honored sentence, "the past year has witnessed the greatest strides forward, the greatest development and the most monumental progress the district has ever known, etc., etc." It is far better to be optimistic than pessimistic. The one is a builder, while the other is a destroyer.
By Dennis H. Stovall
So the writer of this, who has always tried to look upon things with an optimistic eye, must look back over the year that has passed much as the traveler gazes back upon the road that has led him upward and onward. There have been other years when greater heights have been scaled, when greater distances have been covered, but this one has, after ail, been one of progression. There are not quite as many stamps dropping now as were pounding a year ago, but they were stamps that would better have been hung up from the beginning; there are not quite as many mining men here now as there were a year ago, but those who have remained are the ones who are doing the camp the greatest good; the "knocker," too, is much less in evidence than he was this time last year, which is a matter of heartfelt thanksgiving, rather than regret.
As to the number of stamps now dropping in Southern Oregon mines: There are some 22 or 23 properties equipped with mills, dropping, all told, about 200 stamps. These are the Greenback, Graves Creek district, 40 stamps; Granite Hill, Louse Creek district, 20 stamps; Oro Fino, Jump-Off Joe district, 50-ton cyanide equivalent to 15 stamps; Baby, Jump-Off Joe district, 5 stamps; Lucky Queen, Jump-Off Joe district, 10 stamps; Hammersley, Jump-Off Joe district, 25-ton cyanide plant and 5-stamp mill, equivalent to 15 stamps; Yellow Horn, Placer district, 5 stamps; Vulcan, Placer district, 5 stamps; Kremer, Mount Reuben district, 5 stamps; Ajax, Mount Reuben district, 5 stamps; Golden Wedge, Galice district, 5 stamps; Eureka, Soldier Creek district, 10 stamps; Bone of Contention, Williams district, 8 stamps; Mountain Lion, Applegate district, 10 stamps; Homestake, Evans Creek district, 10 stamps; Braden, Gold Hill district, 10 stamps; Bill Nye, Gold Hill district, 10 stamps; Gold Standard, Jacksonville district, 5 stamps; Opp, Jacksonville district, 10 stamps; Oregon Belle, Forest Creek district, 10 stamps; Shorty-Hope, Ashland district, 10 stamps.
The greater number of these mills are in operation. and are in the center of thriving mining camps. Some have been closed down for two or three months during the past summer on account of litigation, but these are coming out of legal entanglement and will soon be busy again. Others have been hung up to allow of an overhauling and general improving of the mill and mine; those that have closed through any fault of the ore body are few in number, and even these have not been given up altogether, and with continued persistence on the part of the managements will again pick up the pay and join the list of busy ones.
The Greenback mine. now beginning its eighth season, has been leased to M. McLean, and will be operated under his management in the future. The property remains under the ownership of the Greenback Mining Company, of which W. H. Brevoort of New York is general manager. R. N. Bishop, the former superintendent, has retired. Mr. McLean is opening up the deep levels of the property, and very recently uncovered another of the marvelous and rich bodies of free gold ore that have made this mine famous. This strike was made on the 1500-foot level, and proves that the Greenback is yet far from being a "pinched out" proposition. From all indications the Greenback will remain a busy camp for many years to come.
The Martha mine, located near the Greenback, and which has been treating its ore in the Greenback mill, conveying it down the gulch over an aerial tram, has also changed managements, having been leased by the Martha Mining Company to Blalock & Howe. These gentlemen will continue the deep development of the property, and operate it on an extensive scale.
The Granite Hill mine was flooded during the greater part of the summer. Early in July a subterranean cavity, or vast underground lake, was tapped, and a gigantic flood rushed in on the miners, giving them barely time to make their escape, Within a few hours, despite the heroic efforts of the miners, and the hard work of the pumps, the lower levels were flooded. The submerging of the big electrically operated pump on the lower level made it necessary to install skips, and these were operated day and night. 'The mine was emptied in September, and is again in operation. The Granite Hill remains the property of the American Gold Fields Company of Chicago. L. Y. Wickersham. the former superintendent, has resigned, and Charley Morphy, son of manager W. J. Morphy, has local charge of the property.
Notable among the progressive events of the past year in Southern Oregon's mining industry has been the distribution to all of the larger mines and important mining districts [of] power by electricity. The Bill Nye mine on Blackwell Hill, some two miles from Rogue River, has installed its own power plant, by building a dam across the river by which immense power is developed and conveyed to the mine by wire. The mill and entire plant is operated by electric energy.
The Condor Water & Power Company, with its immense plant at Gold Ray, is distributing the greatest amount of electric energy. This company now has about 600 miles of line strung. About half of this was put up this past year. The lines reach all the way from the Opp mine, near Jacksonville, to the Greenback, of northern Josephine County. The Greenback, Granite Hill, Homestake, Braden and Opp mines all operate their plants by electric power from the Condor enterprise.
The Champlin dredger on Foots Creek is also operated by electric power. The Greenback has been using 200 horsepower. The line to this mine, which touches at several points on the way, is aluminum wire, carrying 20,000 volts and suspended to 8-inch insulators. This line not only supplies the Greenback, but the towns of Grants Pass and Gold Hill, and the Homestake, Granite Hill and other mines. It is one of the best constructed power lines on the Pacific Coast.
Electricity in Southern Oregon, as in other sections of the West, is proving not only more convenient, but also more economical than steam. It is more regular, no trouble to generate, is always ready, and can be conveyed to or without causing the great uncomfort of extreme and smothering heat. This proves of great advantage in all properties that are required to do much pumping from the lower levels, as it is the case with nearly all Southern Oregon mines. The use of' electricity for this purpose also saves the fine timber on the mining claims for the better purpose of camp buildings and stulls. as well as shaft and tunnel timber.
Considerable copper mining development was done in Southern Oregon this year, especially in the Waldo district, which is the principal "copper belt" of this part of Oregon. This Southern Oregon "copper belt" is really a part of the Northern California copper district, only the imaginary state line dividing the two. The Takilma smelter at Takilma was operated two months during the summer. The short run was not only due to the bad condition of the 45 miles of mountain road over which coke and matte must be hauled, but also to the inability of the Takilma Smelting Company to secure teams. During the season of operation the Takilma smelter employs a freight train of 125 horses and mules, and these are continually on the road between Grants Pass and Takilma, hauling out the matte for shipment to the refinery, and carrying in coke to the smelter. Manager Charles Tutt had personal charge of the smelter during the summer.
An average of 100 tons of ore were treated daily. Though the smelter was obliged to close early, the Takilma smelter has retained a number of men to continue the development of the Queen of Bronze, Lyttle and other of their properties near the smelter. The Waldo Smelting & Mining Company is also continuing the development of its properties in the Waldo district.
Southern Oregon is so widely and favorably known as a placer mining district that it seems a waste of good space and time to go to much length regarding this feature. Last season was short on rain, and the run of the monitors was cut short as a consequence. This year the rains have started early; there is already much snow on the mountains, and the placers have opened up tor business a full month ahead of time, with a splendid outlook for a good season's work. During the summer many of the older and larger properties were overhauled and re-equipped, and are in shape to move a greater amount of gravel this winter than ever before. The improvements to hydraulic properties have been general. Many hundred tons of steel piping, giants and placer mining machinery arrived here during the summer, and was subsequently installed on surrounding diggings. The Deep Gravel mines of Waldo have been re-equipped entire. This mine placed over twenty tons of new piping, besides much other equipment of modern type.
On lower Rogue River, 50 miles below Grants Pass, three hydraulic properties have been developed on Paradise and Half Moon bars. Los Angeles mining men and capitalists are behind each of these enterprises. The ground is all virgin and very rich. The district is remote, and difficult to reach, which accounts for its so long being overlooked. Over 200 tons of hydraulic mining equipment and machinery was taken in by pack pony over the narrow trail from West Fork to these lower Rogue River diggings this summer. The new mines will begin work with the new year.
On lower Grave Creek a big hydraulic property was also developed and equipped this summer by the Mines Development Company, an eastern syndicate, of which Colonel Blaisdell is manager. Several miles of ditch and flumes were constructed, giving ample water supply for seven or eight months' run. The diggings are on Harris Flat, and carry excellent values. This mine will also begin business with the new year.
The Golden Drift Mining Company's pumping hydraulic plant, in the Dry Diggings district, and on Rogue River near Grants Pass, was closed down during a great part of the past year to allow of the addition of more machinery and a general overhauling of the enterprise. This company has amply demonstrated that placer mining can be done by pumping, and solves the problem of embarrassing delays and annoyances caused by light rainfall and slack water supply. The two giants of the enterprise are operated by a five-step centrifugal pump, throwing 13,000,000 gallons every 24 hours, under pressure of 140 pounds to the square inch. Power is developed from a 20-foot dam across Rogue River.
Considerable dredging development was done this year in Southern Oregon, but active operations have been confined to the big machine of Champlin & Company on Foots Creek. This dredger is one of the finest and best equipped on the Coast. The company has several hundred acres of good dredging ground on Foots Creek, all of which will bring excellent returns. The dredger has been making a weekly cleanup of from $1500 to $2500.
Mineral Wealth, Redding, California, January 1, 1907, page 5
MONTHLY REPORT FROM SOUTHERN OREGON.The copper mines of the Blue Ledge district, though located in Siskiyou County, California, five miles south of the state line, are tributary to Medford, the only means of reaching them being by wagon road from this city, a distance of 35 miles. Though the camp is a busy one, containing more than 1000 men, it is but a prospect of what it will be in the future. The deposits of copper in the district have been exploited and developed sufficiently to prove them beyond any possible question the greatest bodies of copper in the West, not even excepting the famous Iron Mountain mines farther north.
By D. H. Stovall.
The Blue Ledge district as a whole comprises an area of some 1500 square miles, occupying the upper range of the Siskiyous, with an altitude of from 3000 to 5000 feet. More than 300 claims have been located in the district, the great majority of which are under development, and not a few of them presenting ledges of great magnitude and richness.
The principal lode of the district that which first attracted the attention of mining men, and from which the camp derives its name, is the Blue Ledge. This ledge was first located in 1898, and it is now owned and under development by the Blue Ledge Mining Company of New York. This company is sparing no expense or effort to fully develop the property, and intends to ultimately equip it with smelter and reduction works of a capacity commensurate with the immensity of the ore body. The company is employing a crew of 250 men and is increasing the number as development proceeds. The placing of a smelter on the Blue Ridge [sic] will necessitate the construction of a railroad connecting the camp with the main line of the Southern Pacific at Medford. The present method of reaching the camp is by wagon road from Medford by way of Jacksonville, whence the route follows a water grade up Applegate River 28 miles, to Watkins, the post office, four miles from the main camp.
The Blue Ledge and adjacent properties of the district are being opened up by thousands of feet of underground work, and the quantity of ore now blocked out is almost beyond calculation.
The veins of the Blue Ledge district all have a north and south course and stand nearly vertical, with a slight dip to the west. The Blue Ledge vein has a width of from 100 to 300 feet, and the formation of this, like that of most of the veins of the district, consists of chalcopyrite, azurite, iron pyrites and free gold ore. The quartz is a fine smelting product, and not only carries high values in copper but considerable gold and silver. Assays made prove values of from 18 to 37 percent copper, and from $2.50 to $5 a ton in gold.
The properties of the district are located on Joe Creek and Elliott Creek, tributaries of the Applegate, both of which head on the summit of the Siskiyou Mountains. Joe Creek carries 25 miners' inches of water at low stage, and Elliott Creek 200 miners' inches, the two creeks, together with other streams in the district, affording an abundance of water for power and mining purposes. The whole region is covered with a magnificent forest of sugar pine and yellow fir, giving all needed material for building and mine timbers.
Medford Coal Mines.An immense body of coal has been uncovered. and is under development by the Blue Ledge Mining Company within five miles of Medford. The coal is being removed in quantity and is proving an excellent fuel product, being widely distributed for this purpose. While the coal will prove of great value for general distribution, its greatest local value will be that of meeting the demands of the Blue Ledge copper mines in the matter of smelter fuel. The immensity and worth of the coal mines practically ensures the building of a spur connecting the properties with the main line of the Southern Pacific at Medford. The main coal vein of the deposit is from six to ten feet in thickness, and is nearly free from silica and sulphur. It is a lignite of good quality, showing the following analysis:
Volatile matter, 41 to 50 percent, average, 44.46.
Fixed carbon, 32.4 to 44.91 percent, average, 36.43.
Moisture, 4.05 to 17.27 percent, average, 9.45.
Ash. 3 to 12.81 percent, average, 7.08.
Slight trace of sulphur.
Building and Monumental Granite.The hills west and south of Medford contain limitless quantities of granite. Analysis and tests have not only proved the immense granite ledges to be a first-grade building stone, unequalled by any other on the coast, but they contain a class of granite peculiarly valuable for monumental purposes. This latter class occurs in all desirable shades and tints, susceptible of the very finest polish and finish; also, it is of a toughness and texture that ensures its standing the weather through extremes of heat and cold for all time. An opportunity for investment is presented here for the equipping of immense quarries and stone cutting plants on these deposits. The building era upon which the entire Pacific Coast is now entering will create an enormous demand for building material, especially for such a product as these gigantic deposits contain.
Other Minerals and Metals.The variety and extent of the metal and mineral deposits in the territory tributary to Medford is no less wonderful or remarkable than the diversity and output of the soil products. Extensive ledges of cinnabar, carrying a high percentage of mercury, are under development by Medford mining men in the Meadows district of upper Rogue River. Three groups of cinnabar claims are being developed in this district, and all are making a fine showing.
The rare metal platinum is also found here, occurring principally with the black sand of the placer diggings. In 1905 nearly one-fourth the entire platinum output for America, as shown by the report of the United States Geological Survey, came from the Rogue River district.
Cobalt, nickel, zinc, arsenic, graphite, clays, calcite or limestone all are found here, the first four mentioned in this list being associated with other metals and minerals in quartz formation.
Northwest Mining Journal, April 1907, page 55
SOUTHERN OREGON.With the arrival of summer weather and good roads, there is a rush of gold seekers into the new Windy Hollow and Pine Creek districts of southeastern Oregon, near Lakeview. The several rich strikes made there last fall, and the splendid returns since derived by development, are responsible for the rush to this field, and it is believed that there will be 1,000 men in Windy Hollow before the middle of summer. Work is being rushed on many of the claims, notably on the Jumbo, owned by Loftus Brothers, and on the properties of the Lakeview Mining & Milling Company. Very little work was done on the claims during the winter, on account of the operators being unable to get in supplies or mining machinery; but the roads are now open, and the camp is well supplied with everything needed for development and prospecting operations. This district is located fully 150 miles from the railroad, and is reached by stage and steamer from Thrall, northern California, from which point a branch railroad extends as far as Pokegama, a lumber camp in the Siskiyou Mountains.
By Dennis H. Stovall, Grants Pass, Ore.
More than 20 ounces of pure flake platinum were recently sorted and saved from the gold amalgam during the cleanup of the Deep Gravel hydraulic mines, of Waldo district. These mines, under the management of W. J. Wimer, are becoming famous as producers of platinum, notwithstanding their being among the very oldest placer gold properties in Oregon, having been operated for a half century. Mr. Wimer discovered a few years ago that the black sands of his diggings were rich in platinum, and he set about devising some means of saving these very elusive values during the regular work of mining for gold. Undercurrents, special sluices and other methods were tried, also the settling vat system, and panning the residue over tubs and vessels of still water. By giving the problem much study and attention, he has improved the methods and hit upon a means whereby nearly all of the platinum values of the diggings can be saved without interfering with the placer gold operations. For this purpose the Deep Gravel Mining Company is now having installed one of the largest and most complete platinum mining and saving plants ever built on any American property. The plant consists of many special appliances and is being set up by an expert from the Joshua Hendy Machine Works, of San Francisco, which company manufactured it. As platinum is now worth $34 an ounce, placer miners find it highly profitable to devote a little of their time and attention toward saving it.
The April cleanup for the old Sterling hydraulic placer, near Jacksonville, amounted to $3,500. This old placer will clean up about $30,000 this season. Though the Sterling has been operated for nearly 50 years, it is still one of the richest and best placer properties on the Pacific Coast, and has ground enough to keep its giants busy for another 50 years. The water supply is derived through a 25-mile ditch and is sufficient to keep the mine in operation for eight or nine months each year.
The copper mines of Waldo district are being overhauled and shaped for summer operations. The smelter located on these properties will be operated all summer; teams are now being secured to haul matte and coke. The Takilma Smelting & Mining Company, which owns the smelter and several of the mines, will endeavor to run the smelter for a much longer season this year than ever before. It will employ 100 men, and will require 125 horses and mules.
The Mount Pitt Hydraulic & Quartz Mining Company has just closed a very successful season on its mines of Jumpoff Joe district. During the year the company has deeply developed the property, installed a 10-stamp mill, and paid dividends from the output of the rich ore. The company is comprised principally of Portland, Oregon, men. The officers recently elected for the coming year are the same as last year with the exception of secretary A. R. Brooks being elected to this position instead of R. B. Fisher. Captain D. F. Tozier, superintendent of the Life Saving Service for Oregon, was re-elected president of the company.
Northwest Mining Journal, May 1907, page 69
GRANTS PASS, ORE.According to the report of the United States Geological Survey, the counties of Southern Oregon are the only districts in the state that do not show a falling off in gold output for the past year. Josephine and Jackson counties show an increase in placer gold. Southern Oregon, like Eastern Oregon, suffered a general decrease through the closing down temporarily of several of the leading quartz mines. Principally all the copper mining for Oregon was done in the Waldo district. The ore treated at Waldo averaged 4.75 per ton.
(Our Regular Correspondent.)
An unofficial report of the production of platinum from the placer mines of Southern Oregon for the past year places the figures at 50 ounces. This may seem small, yet it is about one-third the total output of platinum from the mines of America, as reported by the United States Geological Survey. But with platinum, as with all rare metals, there is much produced that is not credited in the report of the United States Geological Survey, as the miners sell the product direct to the manufacturers. Most of the platinum from Southern Oregon is bought by one Philadelphia company, which uses it in the manufacture of gas mantles. Most of the platinum from Southern Oregon this season, as for several seasons past, came from the diggings of the Deep Gravel hydraulic mines, of Waldo district. The black sands of these diggings, like the sands of Galice, Grave Creek and other districts of Southern Oregon, carry considerable platinum. Various mechanical contrivances and machines have been tried in the separation of the platinum particles from the black sand, with an attempt to accomplish a disintegration during the regular process of gold placer mining. But all of these methods have failed, and the system of successful platinum saving reduces itself to the simple matter of panning. By this method manager Wimer of the Deep Gravel mines saves from 18 to 25 ounces of pure platinum every season.
Despite the heavy fall of snow on the Siskiyous, many owners have stayed by their claims up there through the winter, notably in the Upper Applegate and Sucker Creek districts. As the snow lies from 15 to 25 feet deep, the only means of getting in and out is by snowshoes. The owners of the original Wounded Buck or Briggs claims of upper Sucker Creek have a crew continuing the development of this famous property. The ledge has widened with depth, and the ore carries constant and dependable values. This ledge is directly on a contact of granite and porphyry, and is typical of the veins and general formation of the Siskiyou districts. On most all the ledges the hanging wall is porphyry--and the foot wall granite. The lodes lie almost vertical. About 20 claims and mines are being developed in the Briggs district of upper Sucker Creek. Most are on the lode contact of porphyry and granite, which extends north and south. Some are on the south slope of the Siskiyous in California, others are on the north slope in Oregon.
The twelve or more claims located as extensions on the original Wounded Buck are now owned and controlled by the Harms Mining Company of Cincinnati, Ohio, and the leading properties are being developed by these people. The company is expending considerable money getting the camp in better shape for development; better roads and better trails are being opened into the district.
Several gold districts of Siskiyou County, California, are attracting considerable attention of late on the part of mining men in Southern Oregon, across the line from Josephine and Jackson counties, of Oregon, from which side the districts are cached. Ben Neal, who located a claim on the head of Salmon Creek last spring, recently sold the claim for $5,000, and in the meantime located an extension of the same claim, for which he has refused an offer of 60,000. He has specimens from this last claim that are almost half gold, and though the snow is now too deep to allow development work, he expects to open it up in the spring. Several other rich ledges have been uncovered in this district. F. H. Osgood, a wealthy Seattle railroad and mining man, who has extensive mining interests in Southern Oregon, is also interested in Siskiyou County properties. His French Gulch property was the scene of several rich strikes this past summer.
Northwest Mining Journal, January 1908, page 35
SOUTHERN OREGON.There is unusual interest among mining men in southern Oregon this winter in copper properties. The preparations for the construction of a large smelter on the Big Yank and Almeda properties of Galice district is largely responsible for this, together with the excellent returns that have been derived during the past four years from the operation of the Waldo copper mines and the Takilma smelter in that district. The Almeda Mining Company has closed a contract with a Portland manufacturing concern for the placing of a 10-ton smelter on the Almeda mines. The plant will be placed and in operation by midsummer. This company has been busily at work for the past seven years in the development of the Big Yank and Almeda mines. Several miles of underground workings have been driven on the two properties, and an enormous tonnage of copper-gold ore is blocked out. The smelter will be of the standard, water-jacket type, and to begin with, will have a capacity of 100 tons daily. It will be constructed in units or series, so that additional units can be added as development proceeds and necessity requires.
By Dennis H. Stovall.
The site of the new plant is a shelf or bench directly on Rogue River below the adit tunnel of the Almeda. All ore, both from the Almeda claim and other of the claims of the property will be removed by gravity to the bins. The company has its own sawmill in operation cutting timber from the claims into lumber for the building of the smelter house and other structures. A wagon road has been built connecting with the main wagon road from Merlin to Galice. A bridge will be placed across the river at the mine ultimately, but an aerial tram will transport ore from the Big Yank claim across the river to the smelter.
Manager John Wykham, of the Almeda, has a number of men employed, both in and out of the mine, and will increase the crew when spring opens. He states there will be plenty of ore to keep the new plant busy from the start. The plant will consist both of smelting and concentrating machinery, together with crushers for reducing the ore. The values of the Almeda ore are carried both in gold and copper. They range from $2 to $4 a ton in gold, and from six to ten percent copper. The ledge is immense in size, being not less than 60 feet, and proving a width at many points of over 100 feet.
The American Gold Fields Company is making preparations to unwater the Granite Hills mines. Superintendent Morphy has a crew employed getting things in readiness to begin skipping out the water. Over 200 cords of wood have been delivered at the mill, and the entire property overhauled and repaired. The company expects to have the water removed from the lower levels, the timbers replaced, and the property in shape for operating again within four months from the time skipping begins.
From all indications the amount of gold produced from the placer mines of southern Oregon this season will be a record-breaker. The hydraulic placer properties have not enjoyed a better season for many years. All are operating day and night, and have an assurance of a continued water supply for several months yet. It is believed that over a million dollars in virgin gold will be produced from the surface mines of Josephine and Jackson counties this season. Several hundred thousand have already been exchanged over the banking counters and shipped to the mint.
There is considerable interest in southern Oregon this winter, as a result of last summer's developments in coal properties. There are several good coal mines in Jackson County, one group near Ashland and another near Medford. The Medford mines have produced a large quantity of coal, which is used for fuel in southern Oregon towns, but the bad condition of the wagon roads in winter makes it almost impossible to get the product out after the rainy weather begins. To overcome this obstacle, and place the Medford coal mines on a paying and heavy producing basis. a railroad will be built from Medford to the mines. a distance of six miles. R. E. Doan and associates, of Los Angeles, who own the Medford mines, have made all the preliminary preparations for the building of this road. Mr. Doan intends to have the road in operation by the first of June, by which time the mine can produce 100 tons or more of coal per day. The ledges are from six to eight feet wide, carrying a lignite of good quality, and though it is a soft coal, it is good for fuel purposes.
The Ashland Coal Company has made all arrangements and laid plans for the extensive development and operation of the coal properties near Ashland. Two shafts have been sunk on these coal veins, proving the existence of an immense body of lignite, similar in character to that of the Medford properties. Work will begin at once upon a shaft to connect the tunnel at the lower entrance with the main shaft, a distance of 100 feet. This will drain the water from the upper workings and enable further work to be carried on to advantage. The coal will be marketed as it is removed in the development [of] the vein system.
Northwest Mining Journal, March 1908, page 54
Southern Oregon.GRANTS PASS, Ore.--The most important mining deal consummated here for some time was that of a few days ago by which a syndicate of capitalists of Ohio and Michigan have become the owners of the big Almeda group of mines, located on the Big Yank ledge, of Galice district. The consideration involved in the deal is $500,000. These mines have been operated for several years by the Almeda Consolidated Mines Company, of which O. M. Crouch is president. The new owners will at once install a 100-ton smelter on the property and otherwise shape the mines for extensive operation. Among the prominent men in the syndicate that has bought the Almeda are ex-Congressman J. H. Southard, of Ohio: ex-Congressman Jackson, of Ohio; ex-Congressman Bacon, of Michigan, and C. C. Aler, of Columbus, Ohio. The headquarters of the company will be at Toledo, Ohio.
Dennis H. Stovall.
"We took several days in looking over the Almeda before purchasing," said one of the purchasers, "and we fully satisfied ourselves of its worth and importance. We were astonished at the bidden wealth of gold, silver and copper in these mines. We fully expect to have a 100-ton smelter in operation by the first of June. There is enough ore uncovered on the mine to operate a smelter steadily; in truth, our expert has been figuring up and has found that there is enough ore on the lode to operate a 500-ton plant every day for 50 years. That is certainly showing enough to suit the most skeptical. The high-grade streak of ore is 20 feet wide, and the low-grade streak is more than 200 feet wide. The main body is opened up by nine tunnels and crosscuts. The property, while far beyond the prospecting stage, has not been developed to any great extent. In the eight years since the mine was opened something like $250,000 has been expended in development."
That the new cyanide plant installed recently on the Mount Pitt Mine is a success is evidenced by the returns that have been received since the plant began operation. Manager Hoofer brought in a 20-pound brick from the mine this past week, the result of the first monthly cleanup. There is an abundance of cyaniding ore on this property. and the new plant will be kept busy. Day and night crews are employed, and the number of men at work will be increased as fast as the development allows. The Mount Pitt is one of the newer properties of Southern Oregon, but has jumped at once to the top of the list. The management has in view a number of improvements, which will be made during the summer, and which will add to the milling and mining capacity of the property.
George Haff, who represents the Harms Mining Company's interests in Southern Oregon, has placed a crew on the Blossom Mine, on Sardine Creek, of Gold Hill District. Besides the work on this property, the Harms Company is operating the Tin Pan and other mines of the Gold Hill District. This company is now beginning the preliminary work upon several new properties it has recently purchased, most of which are located on Sardine Creek and neighboring districts.
A great deal of interest has been created of late by the uncovering of a huge mass of free milling quartz on Slate Creek, 12 miles from Grants Pass. The big ledge is on the property of the Queen Mining Company, of which W. H. Ramsey, a Southern Oregon miner, who has been operating in the district for several years, is president. The company has had a crew employed on the big lode for over a year, believing it was a base proposition. It was only a short time ago that it was found that the entire body of the mammoth vein is free milling in character, and is one of the very largest free-milling ledges ever uncovered in this state. The whole width of the lode is 200 feet, but there is a rich pay streak of 40 feet carrying especially high values. This streak carries average values of $7 per ton. Some of it runs as high as $40 and $50 a ton. But it is not the values so much as the immense size of the ledge and the free-milling character of the ore that causes the owners to feel jubilant over their discovery. Two shifts of men have been kept at work on the property all winter, and the owners intend to push development with the arrival of summer.
Charles L. Tutt, manager of the Takilma Smelting & Mining Co., of Colorado Springs, has been here for several days inspecting the properties of the company at Takilma, of Waldo District. This company is interested in a large group of copper properties at Waldo. A large crew has been employed all winter, and a mammoth body of ore has been uncovered. Owing to the long haul and the bad condition of the roads between Grants Pass and Takilma, the 100-ton smelter operated on the mines is employed only during the summer. The smelter will be blown in as soon as the roads will allow heavy hauling.
Considerable excitement has been occasioned by the discovery of a rich ledge near Yoncalla, Southern Oregon, in a section that has never been prospected for gold. The vein uncovered is yielding about 75 cents per pound, being thickly shot with pure gold. It is not a wide vein, but its richness leads to the belief that there is an Eldorado near the sleepy old country town of Yoncalla. A number of prospectors are now in the district, and it will be thoroughly prospected before another week.
Northwest Mining Journal, April 1908, page 62
SOUTHERN OREGON.The annual spring harvest of placer gold is now being garnered in Southern Oregon. From all indications the output of virgin metal will be unusually large this year. The winter season was one of continual rains and warm snows, thus giving an abundance of water for the operation of the hydraulic giants. Many of the hydraulic properties have been operating day and night since the latter part of November. Several of the larger mines will not clean up till June or July, but the greater number are now scraping the sluices and lifting the riffles. This past week several thousand dollars in nuggets and dust were brought in for exchange at the banks or for shipment to the mint. The total output of placer gold from the several Southern Oregon districts will amount to $750,000 or more. The Sterling, Deep Gravel, Royal Group. Columbia, Sturgis, Simmons & Cameron. and Jump-Off Joe mines will each yield from $30,000 to $60,000. Besides its big output of gold, the Deep Gravel mines, of Waldo district, will also have considerable platinum.
By Dennis H. Stovall.
Grants Pass, Ore.
The quartz mines of the Grants Pass districts are being more extensively developed and equipped this spring than for several seasons. Several carloads of machinery have arrived of late, and are now being installed on surrounding properties. The Mount Pitt has placed a new cyanide and concentrating plant in connection with its mill, and is getting excellent returns from the base ore of this property. The Lucky Queen, near the Mount Pitt, has also placed a cyanide plant. The Braden mine, near Gold Hill, is now operating its new stamp mill and concentrating plant with excellent results. The Tin Pan mine, of Sardine Creek District, has a new mill in operation, and is giving good returns to the owners. A new mill has been placed on the St. Peters mine, near the old Greenback of Grave Creek. The Almeda Mining Company, Consolidated, owner of the Almeda and Big Yank group of gold-copper mines, of Galice District, is placing a 200-ton smelter, and will have the plant ready for operation by the middle of summer. Eastern people are now backing this enterprise, which is one of the very largest in the state of Oregon. The owners of the Oriole, of Galice District, continue to ship $400 ore from this famous property. A new mill will be placed on this mine before the close of summer.
Ten stamps of the Greenback mine are now being operated. The old camp is being revived, the equipment overhauled and put in repair, the mine itself cleaned out, and everything made ready for the resumption of operations. It is reported that the entire battery of 40 stamps will soon be thundering again. When the mine closed down over a year ago, it was reported by the management that the hanging up of the stamps was due to no fault of the property itself. It is the belief of those in close touch with the owners that all disagreements have been adjusted, and that the camp will soon be as lively as ever. The mine remains the property of the Greenback Mining Company, of New York, of which W. H. Brevoort, of New York, is general manager. This company is also heavily interested in several northern California properties. The main body of workable ore on the Greenback lies between the 200- and 1,500-foot levels. The ledge is as wide and rich on the deep levels as it was on the surface, and carries almost as much free gold.
A work that will be of great benefit to the mining industry of Oregon in a general way, and to the mining men of Southern Oregon in particular, is that now under way by the United States Geological Survey. This is the surveying of a large area of unsurveyed mineral territory in the vicinity of Grants Pass. Congress has made an appropriation for the purpose, and the work will be completed. The particular section to be surveyed is that known as the Grants Pass Quadrangle, lying to the south and west of Grants Pass, on Applegate River. The topographical map of this quadrangle has already been completed, the engraving of which has been submitted by the engineers to the government surveyors. The completed survey will show in detail not only the exact topographical condition of this almost unknown territory, but will give in detail the amount of timber, water supply, ravines, canyons and various formations of the several districts.
The Harms Mining Company is making preparations to install a full complement of machinery on its properties in the Gold Hill district. The holdings of the company consist of the Blossom, No-Name, Our Dick, Little Don, Jolly and Pedro. In addition to these claims in the Gold Hill District, the company also owns and is developing the Wounded Buck and Pay Streak claims of the Briggs district, on which Ray Briggs made the famous strike of three years ago. In the Blossom mine there was recently cut at a depth of 180 feet a vein which gives promise of becoming one of the richest pay streaks in Southern Oregon. This ledge has a width of from 12 to 14 feet, and the ore carries average values of $10 a ton. Manager Harms will arrive here from the East during May to make a personal inspection of the properties of his company, and to lay plans for the summer's work. The management is preparing to place a vast amount of equipment. It has already equipped one of its mines, and has this mine in constant operation. It expects to have four or five other mines fully equipped and operating before the close of summer.
Northwest Mining Journal, May 1908, page 87
SOUTHERN OREGON.GRANTS PASS, Ore.--Excitement continues over the remarkably rich strike made by Harrison brothers, prospectors on Williams Creek, 16 miles from Grants Pass. This is proving to be the richest find made in Southern Oregon for several years. Bob Harrison, one of the brothers, states that the two have taken out over $30,000 during the past three weeks, and have $75,000 more in sight. They took out $7,000 in one day. One pan of dirt yielded $1,300. The veins are from nine to 100 inches wide. The ore chute is opened for a distance of 100 feet. The rich strike has started a rush to Williams Creek. It is one of the very oldest districts in the state, and has been scratched and mined over for the past 50 years. The strike was made within a few yards of an abandoned mine. A score or more of prospectors are now at work on adjoining claims. Some of these have made good finds. One man, Henry Cooper, a Colorado miner, has struck a rich vein, from which he took out $1,200 in one day. C. C. Jones, another prospector, has struck a good ledge, from which he has already removed several hundred dollars in pure gold. The scene of the strike is only two hours' ride by automobile from Grants Pass.
Dennis H. Stovall.
The Amalgamated Metal & Exploration Co., which has headquarters at Urbana, Ill., and of which J. Monroe Layman is president and general manager, is preparing to install development equipment on its Southern Oregon properties, which are located near Grants Pass, and consist of the Jeter and the Comstock. Over 1,200 feet of work has been done on these claims, and the vein system is proving a large one, with unvarying values in both free gold and sulphurets. A steam power plant, hoist, compressor and machine drills will be placed on the claims. As the mine is located but a short distance from Grants Pass, the richest of the ore will be shipped till a reduction plant is installed. Mr. Layman, the manager of the company, is an experienced Southern Oregon miner, as he was identified for several years with the tellurium mines of Canyon Creek district.
A bunch of claims under development on Canyon Creek near the old mining camp of Kerby, gives promise of big things in the near future. The ore is telluride, similar in character and composition to that of the famous Cripple Creek district of Colorado. Assays made on recent samples taken from these claims prove values of from $2,000 to $8,000 a ton. The samples were taken at random from the several properties of the district. They are all comparatively new properties, and until recently very little work was done on any of them. The veins range from one to three feet in width, the tellurium appearing in all portions of the ore.
The quartz mines of Galice district are very active this spring. The Almeda Mining Company is placing a smelter, and has a large crew continually employed. This company has also built a new road connecting with the main highway at Galice. These mines will be producing heavily before the close of summer. The Oriole Mine, of this district, continues to produce exceptionally rich ore from the strike made on the main ledge several weeks ago. Much of this ore is giving returns of $400 a ton. Manager Mattison is making regular shipments to the smelter, the ore being hauled out by wagon to Merlin, the near railway point. Near the Oriole are several rich quartz mines under development, and all are making a good showing.
R. E. Dean and associates of Los Angeles are spending a large sum of money in the development of the several claims they have taken over in the Gold Hill and Lower Rogue River districts. These consist of both quartz and placer, and also coal fields. The mines of the Gold Hill district, particularly in quartz, are unusually active this spring. The cleanups from the Lucky Bart, Tin Pan, Braden and Hammersley for the past month were reported better than usual. Considerable machinery and equipment have arrived at Gold Hill for installation on the properties of the district. The Braden, which is now operated by J. W. Opp, has its new mill and concentrating plant at work. The levels have been deepened, and the ore bodies better developed. There is ore enough in sight to keep the plant steadily at work.
The Rogue River Electric Dredging Company is moving its ponderous dredging equipment from the railway station at Central Point to the Centennial Mine of the Gold Hill district. As the machinery weighs over 22 tons, its transportation over rough roads is necessarily slow, and only one mile is covered in a day.
Almost every bridge has to be retimbered to allow the safe passage of the great bulk of steel and iron. Two powerful traction engines supply the motive power. The dredge is of the dry gravel type, and will be employed in working the rich gravel deposits of the company on Rogue River.
Jackson County.The Harth & Ryan group of the Consolidated Mines Co., according to the company's report, got 9.12 oz. gold from a mine run test of thirteen and a half tons. The report recommended the building of a three-stamp mill.
Northwest Mining Journal, July 1908, page 102
OregonThe Windy Hollow mining district, which has been idle for some time, is again a scene of great activity. The most important mining claims have been purchased by Nevada mining men and will be developed by them, These men have ample capital behind them, and will give the claims adequate and extensive development. J. J. Reily [sic] came into Windy Hollow several months ago from Nevada. He prospected the district thoroughly, and sampled the ores of the Jumbo, Butte and other claims of the Loftus group. He liked these claims so well that he took a working bond upon them. This past week he and his associates purchased the claims. The consideration is not given to the public, but it is known that the properties were held at $200,000.00. Associated with Mr. Reiley [sic] are several other Nevada mining men, also T. H. Oliver of Spokane, M. R. Jennings of Buffalo and Marcus Gilliam of New York. Their sinking on the Butte is highly satisfactory. The ledge is a wide one, ranging from twenty to fifty feet. The ore is nearly all milling. Besides the main ledge, several narrower and richer veins have been struck. A few days ago a strike of this character was made, uncovering very rich gold ore.
By Dennis H. Stovall.
The Windy Hollow mining district is one of the most remote in the state of Oregon. It is located near Lakeview, southeastern Oregon. The first discovery in the district was made by Loftus brothers, cattlemen, two years ago. They took out a small fortune from the surface prospects within a few weeks. They later deeply developed the claims. The strike on the Jumbo caused a considerable rush to the district, and a number of claims were located. Subsequent development proved several of these to be splendid properties. The quartz ledges of this district are different in character from the usual run of lode veins in Southern Oregon. The ore resembles the Nevada quartz; in fact, the district is not very far away from the corner post that marks the dividing line between Oregon, Nevada and California. The men who recently purchased the Jumbo and Butte groups state emphatically that the Windy Hollow ore is as good, all things considered, as the ledges of Rawhide and other famous Nevada districts. It is evident that a number of good mines will be developed in Windy Hollow.
The big bedrock mining machine, which is being built by the Gilman Mining Co., is fast nearing completion, and will be placed on Rogue River by the middle of July. The barge for the machine is being built in Grants Pass, but the main portion of the machinery and equipment is being built at Sacramento. This machine is a patent of L. F. Gilman president and manager of the company, and will introduce a new phase of mining in Southern Oregon. It is a well-known fact that the bed of Rogue River is rich in gold, but there has been no available method of obtaining it. The gold could not be dredged in the ordinary way, owing to the bedrock bottom of the river. This machine merely dries a portion of the river bed, thus exposing it for mining. There is a portable cofferdam, made of steel slides working in grooves. There is also a double dome arrangement, one working inside and independent of the other, so that it will adapt itself to all irregularities on the bottom of the river. The machine will work between two ponderous barges eighteen feet wide by eighty feet long, being hung to an overhead framework in such a way that the domes can be readily lifted from the bottom of the river and shifted from one point to another. The first operations of the company will be on a rich stretch of the river, forty miles below Grants Pass.
The hydraulic placer mines of Southern Oregon have nearly all completed their annual spring cleanup. There has already been brought in for exchange at the banks, or direct shipment to the mint, almost $750,000.00. It is believed that the total output of the placer mines of Southern Oregon, for this season, will be close to $1,000,000.00. Several of the bigger properties of the district, notably the Sterling, Deep Gravel, Columbia, Royal Group, Simmons & Logan and Sturgis, will clean up from $20,000.00 to $60,000.00 each. There is also considerable platinum being cleaned up with the placer gold in Southern Oregon; in fact, three-fourths of the total output of platinum for the United States comes from Southern Oregon placer mines. The platinum is caught in the sluices with the gold, and is secured by careful panning in vats and tubs of still water. As the hydraulic placer mines of Southern Oregon are never-failing in their returns, the yield from these forms a most important source of revenue for the mining industry of this district. As it is pure gold, and passes the same as coin, it goes immediately into the channels of trade and ensures good times for this section of the state, irrespective of the financial condition of the country at large.
Northwest Mining Journal, August 1908, page 15
SOUTHERN OREGON.GRANTS PASS, Ore.--An evidence of prosperity and the resumption of good times in Southern Oregon mining circles is the beginning of operations again on the big Blue Ledge mines, of the Upper Applegate District. The properties are located on the Oregon-California line, and are owned by New York people, C. S. Towne being manager. A considerable crew has been placed on the property, continuing the development began two years ago, and men will be added as fast as places can be made for them. The company intends to have the mine well developed by next spring, at which time a large smelter will be installed. Since the present company acquired the Blue Ledge, there has been about $600,000 expended in general prospecting work, sinking shafts and driving tunnels and drifts. In addition to this, the company has installed a modern water system, which supplies plenty of mountain water for the camp, both for domestic and fire protection purposes. A number of elegant offices and residences have been built in the camp, and as it is located at an altitude of almost 5,000 feet, and but a short distance from the snow line, it has become a popular resort, as well as a mining camp. Daily stages reach Blue Ledge from Medford, carrying passengers and mail. The company is planning to place a smelting plant that will cost $1,000,000. It will be located on Joe Bar, or near Joe Bar, about two miles below the main camp, to which the ore will be conveyed by gravity tram. Besides the building of a smelter, the company is also contemplating the construction of a railroad connecting the camp with the main Southern Pacific line, either at Medford or Grants Pass, the exact route not being determined as yet.
(By Dennis H. Stovall.)
The big Black Butte quicksilver mines, of the Calapooia mountain district, are now in operation, and are shipping mercury. The first carload left the mines this past week, and other shipments will be made regularly. Both the new reduction plant and the mines are proving highly satisfactory. The Black Butte properties are the deepest developed and best equipped cinnabar mines on the Pacific Coast. They have been under constant development for the past ten years, and under one management all the while. W. B. Dennis, an expert metallurgist and mining engineer, has had personal charge of the properties. Over five miles of tunnels, upraises, shafts and winzes have been driven. Hundreds of thousands of tons of ore are blocked out. The great smelter is completed and in operation day and night. The camp is one of the neatest, most sanitary and well-kept in Oregon. Black Butte Mountain, on which the mines are located, rises to an altitude of almost 3,000 feet. The whole mountain is practically one huge mass of cinnabar. The main vein is 400 feet wide. and has been opened for a depth of two miles into the heart of the mountain. The development of the property and its equipment with a reduction plant suited to the particular requirements of the ore has cost hundreds of thousands of dollars, but the company persisted, and has won out. There is no doubt but that it will soon take rank among the very largest quicksilver producing mines in the world. The reduction plant differs from all other cinnabar reducing plants in that it uses wood instead of coal for fuel. It has a capacity of 100 tons daily, but will soon be increased to 400 tons daily.
Longwell & Son, Southern Oregon prospectors, after patient and persistent work in the Applegate District near Provolt, twelve miles south of Grants Pass, have uncovered a five-foot ledge that carries values of from $50 to $200 a ton. Some of the ore is thickly shot with gold, and runs up into the thousands. It is one of the richest strikes made in Southern Oregon this season. The ledge has been traced for a long distance on the surface, and though it has been opened by shallow tunnels only, the general character of the quartz and the contact prove it to be a permanent proposition. Several claims have been located, and the property will be deeply developed. The discovery is made but a short distance from Williams Creek, where Harris brothers made their rich strike last March. The Harris claims are under development and are proving very rich. Both strikes are made on old districts, and on ground that has been prospected for placer diggings since 1855.
A tract of 600 acres of mineral land. located near the railroad in Douglas County, has been purchased by a Minnesota company, of which W. H. Miller and P. A. Eva are managers. The company will begin the development and equipment of the property at once. The land is desired for its placer gold and sandstone. The latter will be quarried in great quantity. Right of way for a spur track from the quarry to the main line of the Southern Pacific has already been secured. and the sandstone will be removed by the trainload. Considerable quantity of this stone has already been used for building purposes; several large structures in Portland have been constructed of the material.
Northwest Mining Journal, September 1908, page 32
SOUTHERN OREGON NO. 2.
(By Dennis H. Stovall.)GRANTS PASS, Ore.--The extensive copper-gold deposits of the Pickett Creek District. on Rogue River, some 14 miles below Grants Pass, are to be fully developed and shaped for extensive smelting operations by the United Copper Gold Mines Company. Though the officers of this company are principally South Oregon mining men, the bulk of the capital will be supplied by Seattle capitalists. The Pickett Creek copper mines have been under development for several years, but the men who have had them in charge were not able to give them the attention their size and richness warranted. The new company will begin at once in driving the tunnels deeper, and opening up the ore body, both for shipping and smelting. Considerable ore has already been shipped from these mines, and the returns are sufficient to prove the ledges of exceptional value. O. S. Blanchard, of this city, is president of the new company; O. A. Thomas, who has had charge of the mines for the past three years, is secretary and manager.
Assays made on the ore from the Pickett Creek mines give returns of $30 to $100 in gold, and from 6 to 8 percent copper. The ledges are from five to ten feet in width. The ore is of about the same character as that of the Waldo mines, where the Takilma Smelter is located. Pickett Creek has been mined for years for its placer gold, some of the richest surface diggings of Southern Oregon being located there. It has been known for several years that there were the rich ledges in the bills, but not until recently was any effort made to develop the quartz veins. There is much activity in the district this summer, and a number of claims have been located and are under development. C. B. Glover and G. L. Smith, who are developing a group of claims adjoining the properties of the United Copper-Gold Company, have uncovered a rich body of ore, with values running from $25 to $200 a ton in gold, besides the copper.
The big hydraulic placer mines, on Paradise and Half Moon bars, of lower Rogue River, which have been under development for the past year, are now fully equipped and ready for operation. As soon as the fall rains bring the water of Mule Creek and supplying streams to a sufficient level the giants will be turned on and operations begin. Two placer mines were developed and equipped in this district last year, and the results from the past season's mining were highly satisfactory. It was largely the success of the first ventures that led to the recent mines being opened up down there. Los Angeles capital is behind the several enterprises, and fully $500,000 is invested in the development and equipment of the four mines. Equipping these properties was an expensive procedure, as all of the piping, giants and machinery had to be carried in by pack pony over the mountain trail from West Fork. An attempt was made by one company to float the machinery by barge down the Rogue River, but the experiment proved a failure. As the diggings are very rich, the placers will give full returns for the heavy outlay after two seasons' work.
From all indications the old Greenback Mine, of Grave Creek District, will resume operations again in the near future. Five of the forty stamps have been operated of late, and it is reported that the. remainder of the battery will begin dropping before long. W. H. Vrevoort, the New York capitalist who owns the Greenback, was here recently looking over the property, and laid plans for its future operations. A few men are employed. and operations have begun in a small way, but this is but a beginning to the real work that will follow. The Greenback's suspension almost three years ago came about through no fault of the mine itself. The property was producing heavily when work stopped, and the forty stamps had been pounding day and night on good ore. Internal troubles were responsible for the shutdown. The main ledge was opened up to a depth of 1,500 feet, but the bulk of the ore came from the levels down to 900 feet. Most of the ore between the 900 and 1,500 foot levels is yet to be removed, and it is this that will supply the rock for future operations. The Greenback lode is remarkable in that it sustains its free-milling values on the deep levels. Some of the richest quartz found in the mine came from a depth of 1,000 feet.
The American Gold Fields Company, of which W. J. Murphy is manager and which owns the Granite Hill Mines, of Louse Creek District, near Grants Pass, was unable to resume operations on the property this summer. The inability of the company to resume was due to lack of funds, caused by the tightening of finances in the East, and particularly among the stockholders of the company. The company, however, has cleared up all its obligations, and has a clear and clean title to the property. It has also kept everything in splendid shape on the mine, the mill being in splendid condition, and all of the machinery and equipment is ready to begin operation on a day's notice. Superintendent Charley Morphy has remained on the mine, and has employed a few men. Several hundred cords of wood has been out, new boilers installed, and the pumps set for clearing the mine of its surplus water. The company now hopes to begin work this fall, and is getting everything in readiness to begin pumping the water from the mine.
Considerable interest is being manifested this summer by outside capital in the coal fields of Southern Oregon. The deposits near Medford are being fully developed, as are several of the claims on Evans Creek. near Grants Pass. Though all of these deposits are lignite, the coal is valuable for fuel and is already being used for this purpose. The coal beds of N. D. McDowell, near Eagle Point, have been leased by a California syndicate, whose headquarters are at Pasadena. The company has already brought in its equipment and will begin work at once in the development of the property. The price paid for the lease was $100 an acre. There are 200 acres in the tract, and the experts who reported upon it are of the opinion that a wealth of coal underlies the land.
Northwest Mining Journal, September 1908, page 32
Southern OregonNorthwest Mining Journal, October 1908, page 46
Dennis H. Stovall.
GRANTS PASS, Ore.--Another gold strike has been made near Grants Pass as a result of the intelligent and extensive prospecting being done in this section. The last strike was made in Fiddler's Gulch, near the old mining camp of Kerby, and only a short distance from the place where gold was first discovered in Oregon in 1852. The strike was made by John Neal and Bal Cannon. Assays made on the sacks of ore brought in give returns of from $5,000 to $13,000 a ton. Gold is visible in all parts of the rock, occurring in stringers, layers and wires.
The character of the ore is telluride. A considerable quantity was brought in by pack animal to Grants Pass, and has been shipped to the smelter. Other shipments will be brought in soon, and the owners are deriving handsome returns in the working of the proposition by the crude method of shovel, pick and mortar. Returns are being regularly derived. The owners have driven in a tunnel to a depth of 40 feet, following the vein. This shows up well the whole length of the tunnel. The ledge has been traced on the surface for a distance of 1,000 feet. The strike has caused a general rush of prospectors toward Fiddler's Gulch and that section of the county. Though the district was mined over 50 years ago, the old-timers overlooked everything except placer, and so but little quartz prospecting was done until recently. Besides this strike several others of lesser importance have been made in the district. Nearly all are of the same character, the ore containing tellurides.
The Gilman Bedrock Mining Company, whose bedrock gold mining operations have been watched with intense interest by mining men of this section for several months, now has all the machinery and equipment on the site of the dredging field, and will soon begin active work. The first work will be done on a rich section of Rogue River, just below the confluence of Galice with the larger stream. The two barges reached this point safely from Grants Pass, being set up and a camp established. The stage of water in the river is lower than it has been for several years, and the machine will go into operation under very favorable conditions. The machine will dry about 1,000 square yards of the river bed at a time, exposing it for placering by sluice. The enterprise is backed by California and Southern Oregon capital.
The Wilson & Anderson hydraulic placer mines, of Waldo District, are being greatly improved for next season's work. Several hundred feet of 24-inch steel piping, new giants, gates and machinery are now being added. The ditches are being widened and deepened and the flumes rebuilt to increase the water supply. Four giants will be operated on this mine in the future, and to increase the night capacity an electric lighting system is being placed. The Wildon is one of the oldest placer mines in Southern Oregon. It has produced good returns for almost half a century, and still has a vast acreage of diggings.
W. W. Hale and J. H. McDonough, Seattle mining men. who have been inspecting the Southern Oregon Mining District for several weeks, have taken over several very promising claims in the Josephine Creek District, near Kerby, of western Josephine County. The two men are highly pleased with the district, and will back their faith by hard cash and hard work. The claims taken over will be well developed and put in shape for active operation. The ledges on the group, like those of Fiddler's Gulch and nearby districts, carry their values in tellurium.
Unprecedented activity is now manifest in the Santiam Mining District. Work is being done, both in the development of the individual mines and in bettering the condition of the camp. One splendid improvement is the building of a better wagon road into the district. A force of 60 men is now at work on the highway from Gates to Elkhorn. This new road will give the miners an open exit to the Corvallis & Eastern Railroad, and direct connection with be outside world. Its completion means the building of a smelter in the district at a very early date. Several of the operating companies of the camp have already united on a plan for the construction of a reduction plant. Four mines are operating on the Santiam--the Gold Creek, Freeland Consolidated, Electric and Black Eagle.
SOUTHERN OREGON.GRANTS PASS, Ore.--An event of importance for Southern Oregon was the launching in Galice district this past week of the Bedrock gold mining machine or dredge by the Gilman Bedrock Mining Company. The launching "ceremony" was witnessed by all the miners of Galice Camp, and a number of interested visitors from the outside. Miss Ruth Harlow, daughter of a Galice mining man, christened the "gold ship," naming it the Maud G., in honor of the wife of President Gilman of the Bedrock Company. This machine is the first of its kind ever put in operation, and is the invention of Mr. Gilman. It is 38 feet long, 16 feet wide, and covers 250 square feet at one setting. It is built entirely of steel, and weighs 20 tons. It is carried between two 80-foot barges. These barges, besides supporting the machine, also carry the sluices, riffles and other mining equipment. The steel slides, which are provided on both the outer and inner domes of the machine, are jacked down to conform to the uneven surface of the river bed. Mr. Gilman has spent six years' hard work perfecting this machine, and has great confidence in its success. The preliminary tests prove it to be all that was expected of it, as it clears the river bed of water and allows the mining of the rich gravel so easily as could be done with an exposed bar. The company is now building similar machines to launch on other Pacific Coast streams and Alaska waters.
Dennis H. Stovall.
Because of the extensive development being done in the camp, Galice continues to hold first place among all the growing districts of Southern Oregon. Many thousand dollars have been expended this past summer in the equipping and opening up of properties of this old district, particularly of the quartz mines, and the winter season will be the best the camp has ever known. The Almeda, Oriole, Golden Wedge, Sugar Pine, Cold Springs and other properties of the district are being deeply developed and equipped with reduction plants. Many of these will be in active operation before the close of this year. The Golden Wedge will soon have five stamps added to its equipment, and its concentrating and cyanide plant will be enlarged. Paul Bright is manager of this mine. The capital behind the enterprise is furnished by Eastern men, among them being W. J. Cleland, John Lantz and B. B. Tyler.
The Almeda Consolidated Mines Company will place a smelter of 200 tons capacity as soon as the manufacturing company can deliver the machinery. Everything in the mine is in readiness for the reduction plant. So extensive has been the growth of the Almeda camp that a lively town has sprung up. Its location is on a broad shelf at the base of the mountains overlooking Rogue River. The mine and camp are on the south bank of the stream. The mines on the north bank will be connected to the town by a bridge, which is now under construction. The development work done on this mammoth mine is the most extensive on any Southern Oregon copper property. On the Almeda claim alone over 3,000 feet of underground workings--tunnels, crosscuts and drifts--have been driven. These workings have uncovered vast bodies of ore, carrying values in gold, silver and copper, running from $8 to $20 a ton. The richest ore in the mine is found in a vein that averages 20 feet in width, and which has been opened for a distance of 2,000 feet.
Considerable mining activity is manifest in the Gold Hill district, near the town of Gold Hill. James Davis and Thomas Hagan, who recently acquired the old Bowden Mine of that district, and who have been industriously developing it, report an exceptionally rich strike on the property. On the 70-foot level they struck an entirely new body of ore. The ledge is two feet wide and carries values of from $40 to $50 a ton. They have been following this vein for two weeks, and it shows no signs of pinching. A five-stamp mill will be placed on the property before the close of the year. The Corporal G. is another Gold Hill mine that is making a good showing. L. A. Carter, manager of this mine, brought in a gold brick from the property a few days ago, the result of the regular monthly cleanup. During the run of the mill this past week, three tons of ore netted $140 as a test. The mine is more than paying for its development, and in the meantime is being shaped for operation on an extensive scale.
Northwest Mining Journal, January 1909, page 13
Southern Oregon"Cleanup time," the golden harvest of the southern Oregon hydraulic placer miner, is now on; the output is the best for many seasons. This past week about $75,000 was shipped out of Grants Pass alone, this all being virgin gold. and principally from one camp. It was consigned to the mint at San Francisco. Most of the local miners prefer to ship in this way, rather than disposing of their output to the banks.
By Dennis H. Stovall
Grants Pass, Oregon.
The Sterling, of Jacksonville district, will clean up $60,000; the Old Channel mines, of Galice district, will product a like amount; the Columbia, of Grave Creek district, $50,000; while scores of others will come in with from $5,000 to $10,000, and some will have from $20,000 to $30,000. As has already been told in these columns, the season for placer mining has been very favorable. This was due to the copious and continued rains, and the soft snows on the mountains; in truth there still remains much snow on the higher ranges, and some of the hydraulic properties will operate from two to three giants till the latter part of May or middle of June.
In southern Oregon, cleanup always comes in the spring or early summer, though a few miners clean their sluices once a month through the running season. The bedrock race is first swept down, using a high-pressure nozzle, and every particle of precious yellow gathered up. The riffles are then lifted from the sluices, thoroughly rinsed and laid aside. Most southern Oregon miners use specially prepared riffles made of steel though some still remain faithful to the old-time but always reliable "block" and "pole" riffle. The latter are desired because of the ease with which they can be made, for the material needed is always ready at hand. After the riffles are taken out, and with a small stream of water flowing through, the mass of gold and dirt on the sluice floor is swept gently to and fro with a brush-broom and shovel. The dirt and refuse is lifted and carried off over the dump by the waste water, revealing the black sand and the gold nuggets. The larger pieces are picked up and bottled, while the smaller particles and "dust" are panned out more carefully over settling vats or tubs, into which the platinum sands are caught and saved by a second or third panning.
The Greenback mine, of Grave Creek district, which was idle for over a year because of litigation, is operating again. It is being worked under lease, though the original Greenback Mining Company, of New York, of which W. H. Brevoort is general manager, remains owner of the property. Ten of the 30 stamps are dropping, but more will be operated later. The cyanide plant of the property is also being operated, the tailings of the dump being the base of supply, in addition to the slimes from the mill. Only a small crew, in comparison with the number of men formerly at work, are employed, but it is believed that within a few months old Greenback camp will be as lively as ever. A few years ago, and for several seasons, it was the largest and richest mine in southern Oregon. There were over 400 people in Greenback, all supported by the mine. The ledge was opened to a depth of 1,500 feet, though but little ore was removed from below the 1100-foot level. While the values are more base, they are just as stable on the deeper levels as they were nearer the surface, and there yet remains a vast body of workable quartz to mill.
C. L. Mangum, who has been identified with southern Oregon mines for a number of years, and who has opened up some of the largest properties of the district, is preparing to fully develop the great "Silver Creek lode," as it is known. This is undoubtedly one of the largest propositions of its kind on the coast. Mr. Mangum will have associated with him other western mining men with the capital and energy necessary to develop and equip the gigantic property. Though immense in size, the big ledge stands revealed on both walls of Silver Creek canyon for a height of several hundred feet. In fact, there are countless tons of milling ore in sight. In this respect the proposition is unique, as the owners feel confident that it will only be necessary for them to install a reduction plant and begin work on at producing basis at once. The ore values are carried principally in gold, and are both free and base, but not held so stubbornly but that they can easily be reduced by milling and concentration. Besides the immense ledge itself, the several claims of the property include a vast acreage of splendid timber, unexcelled water rights and all other natural advantages for cheap mining on a huge scale. The remoteness of the district and property from the railroad is alone accountable for its remaining so long overlooked. Mr. Mangum has a crew at work, and expects to have the property fully under way before the close of the coming summer season.
Northwest Mining Journal, May 1909, page 12
STERLING MINE IS DISCUSSED AT LENGTH
The Department of the Interior has just issued a bulletin relating to mining in Southern Oregon, in which the mines in Jackson County are described as the result of a geological survey. The bulletin is replete with valuable information, giving as it does a history of all mines in the neighborhood of Medford.
The pamphlet first deals with the gold quartz mines, from the description of which the following is taken:
"The most productive gold quartz mines which were in operation in this area during the summer of 1908 were the Braden and the Opp. The Granite Hill and Mountain Lion mines, although not now being worked, have also been fairly important producers within the last few years. There are many mines and prospects on which work is not now being done, some of which have never produced, some of which have produced values of a few hundred dollars, and a few of which have produced values of several thousand dollars. At present some development is in progress on new prospects and on mines which were until recently closed. The total gold production of the gold quartz mines of the area in 1907 was about $70,000.
"Many of the veins and veinlets have never produced important bodies of ore, but only 'pockets,' some of which, although filling but small spaces, were remarkably rich, the gold usually having been coarse. In general, the main part of the gold in these pockets has been taken from depths less than 25 feet from the surface.
"The veins and veinlets run in all directions. However, a comparison of the more persistent of them showed that more lie in an east-west direction than in a north-south direction. The dips of the veins vary greatly; most of them are nearly flat and some are vertical. The width of the veins is usually less than one foot; a great many are considerably less, and in some places they form an intricate network of stringers. On the other hand, there are veins with widths of more than 10 feet; in such veins either 'horses' are present, separating the vein into several parts, and there is a decided brecciation of the materials."
Following this introduction is a description of the Braden, Granite Hill, Mountain Lion and other mines. In regard to the placer mines, the pamphlet says:
"The placer mines of Jackson and Josephine counties produced in 1907 gold to the value of $229,575, of which $107.722 came from Jackson County and $121,853 from Josephine County. More than 75 percent of the production of Jackson County and more than 30 percent of that of Josephine County came from the area described in this report. The chief districts contributing to this production are the Gold Hill, the Foots Creek, the Applegate and the Jacksonville districts, in Jackson County; and the Althouse and Sucker Creek, the Williams Creek, the Waldo and the Kerby districts in Josephine County.
"The gravel deposits that are being mined in these districts vary in thickness from a few feet to more than 50 feet. The average thickness of the gravels of all the important mines is more than 20 feet. The material of the deposits ranges from fine clay with but few boulders to gravels that contain boulders weighing several tons. The boulders are, as a rule, fairly well rounded where the gradients of the stream are steep, but where the gradients are flatter, they are subangular and even angular. The predominating boulders in the gravels are greenstones, but the kinds of boulders vary in the different streambeds in accordance with the various kinds of rock in which the valleys have been cut. In many of the deposits the coarsest material is at or near the bedrock, but in some the boulders are somewhat uniformly distributed throughout the section of the gravels.
"The gold content of the gravels varies greatly. In some of the best mines the average value is from 20 to 40 cents a cubic yard. The best values have usually been found at or near the base of the deposit. Much of the gold is fine, but nuggets are frequently found.
"Placer mining is carried on chiefly during the first half of the year, when the supply of water is most abundant. A few mines are so equipped that there is sufficient water to operate them for a greater part of the year. Only one mine, the Champlin, on Foots Creek, is equipped for dredging; the other important mines are equipped for hydraulicking. The ground sluicing method is used only in the small mines.
"In many of the mines from three to five men are employed, but as many as fifteen are employed in some of the larger mines during the mining season."
Among other mines described is the Champlin mine, on Foots Creek, about two miles from its junction with Rogue River. It is owned by the Champlin Dredging Company, of Chicago, which bought the property in 1903 from Mr. Lance, of Gold Hill. In the same year the company constructed a bucket dredge equipped with steam power. In November, 1905, electric power was installed, the cost of mining being thereby reduced about one-half. Thirty-six buckets are used, each of which holds 8 cubic feet of material.
The average depth of pay gravel is about 33 feet, but deposits to depths of 46 feet have been mined without reaching bedrock. Much of the material is less than five inches in diameter, but boulders of large size are numerous. The best values are to be found in a bluish gravel, which is generally reached at a depth of about 12 feet. This gravel is from 8 to 18 inches in thickness. Below it is a fine plastic clay, which is difficult to handle, and which carries practically no gold. In the present workings this clay is not being mined. The property contains more than 1200 acres of placer ground, much of which has been thoroughly prospected and found to carry gold.
The Sterling mine is also described, though since the pamphlet was prepared J. D. Heard has severed his connection with the company. It says:
"The Sterling mine is on Sterling Creek, a branch of Little Applegate River, and is about eight miles from Jacksonville. It is owned by the Sterling Mining Company, of which J. D. Heard is manager. The property includes about 2000 acres, extending from a point below the mouth of Sterling Creek and over the divide to Griffin Creek. The gravel bank on the west side of the present workings is more than 40 feet in thickness, but on the east side it is only about 20 feet thick. The section consists of gravel and boulders, the latter being rather uniformly distributed throughout the section. Many of the boulders are small, but some are more than two feet in diameter and few exceed eight feet. They are mainly of greenstone.
"Much mining has been done on Sterling Creek by the present company. The main stream was mined up from its mouth for more than three miles, then a channel to the east of this stream was followed for about half a mile. Here a channel, which is named Boulder Channel, was struck, and this has been followed for about a quarter of a mile to the present workings. The bedrock of these workings is a little higher than the present streambed and is about 100 yards east of it. The values are found across a width of nearly 200 feet. The gold is of medium coarseness and is usually well rounded, although angular nuggets are also present. The average thickness of the gravels in the Boulder Channel is about 40 feet. It is of interest to note that in these gravels the tusks and jaws of a mammoth, as well as other mammalian bones, have been found. The bedrock at the mine is greenstone, in which are patches of slaty tuffs. These rocks have been considerably sheared and veinlets of quartz are present. The strike of the slaty rocks is north eight degrees east; the dip about 60 degrees west. In the present workings is a dike running north 20 degrees east, containing cross veins which do not extend beyond the dike. The slope of the bedrock is about 2 feet in 100 feet. In 1908 mining was in progress from March until August, during which time about one acre was mined. The value of the gravels was about 40 cents to the cubic yard.
"The mine is well equipped with giants, ditches and flumes. The longest ditch is about 27 miles in length. The water enters the ditch from Little Applegate River about 12 miles above the mouth of Sterling Creek. At the mine the head of the water is now only about 80 feet. A pipeline is being planned to carry water from Squaw Lake to the mine, a distance of 17 miles. The mine has been equipped for hydraulicking for about 30 years. The Sterling Mining Company was incorporated in 1872. There were issued only 40 shares of stock, which have been held by a very few shareholders. The total production of the mine is said to exceed $3,000,000."
Southern Oregonian, July 10, 1909, page 2
A strong organization of mining men of the southern districts of Oregon has been formed with headquarters in Grants Pass with a view to giving accurate information about the mines of this section of the state. It is believed that if the members will make weekly or periodical statements of development, operation and production, this information can be sent to all publications which give the mining news, and wildcatting will find little chance to live.
Estimates of the gold production from the surface mines of Southern Oregon during the present season are placed at a total of $1,000,000. This includes Josephine, Jackson, Curry and Douglas counties.
Mt. Lion--An electro-cyanide plant has been installed at this property to work on the tailings and low-grade ores. The mine has been idle since 1905.
Construction work has started on the Grants Pass & Applegate Railway,100 men with 80 teams being employed grading.
Northwest Mining News, April 1911, page 57
W. Ralph Pittock has gone to Southern Oregon to demonstrate the utility of his gold trap, which is used in connection with placer mining, saving time in cleanup and preventing loss by robbery.
"Trade Notes," Northwest Mining News, April 1911, page 60
OREGON.Northwest Mining News, May 1911, page 74
Kerby--C. L. Mangum, who recently visited the Higgins mine, which is about 20 miles northwest from Kerby, reports it to be a porphyry dike lying between serpentine and andesite and to have a total length of 350 feet which is heavily mineralized for the whole distance. Other parties who have visited this new discovery report it to have a value in sight of about $2,000,000 and that pans of the disintegrated mass will run as high as $100 to the pan. The present method of mining is by sluicing, although a considerable loss of values must result, being carried away in the gangue. L. G. Higgins, the owner, was formerly in the assaying business at Grants Pass.
In the same vicinity a more recent strike was made on a claim owned by Henry Brazile and John Shade, the vein being opened at surface at intervals for a distance of about 400 feet. The vein is four feet wide with an eight-inch streak of ore which shows the gold in wires and chunks, the length of this rich chute being undetermined. Dr. J. F. Reddy of Medford has taken an option on the claim and already has a crew of men at work. Crowds of prospectors and others are rushing into the district, going from Grants Pass to Selma, thence over the old Copper trail.
COL. RAY WILL IMPROVE MINE
Sets Aside $20,000 to Develop Braden Mine--
Good Values Have Been Found Throughout All of the Apartments of the Mine.
For 50 years the Braden mine, near Gold Hill, has been a gold-producing mine. It has produced between $600,000 and $700,000 in gold and it is still a mine, not a worked-out proposition, but a real mine possessed of probably more gold values than have ever been taken from it.
The surface croppings have been worked out, but the real value lies lower down, and Colonel Ray, who is its present owner, is going after those values, not on the surface, but deep down on the ledges.
Mr. Ray has set aside $20,000 to be expended in sinking a 200-foot shaft on one of the several ledges in the mine. When he shall have gone down 200 feet he will drift for 100 feet in several directions, and by doing this he hopes to have opened up one of the best gold quartz mines in southern Oregon. Dr. Ray is now at the mine with an engineer making surveys preparatory to a commencement of this work.
Medford Mail Tribune, January 23, 1912, page 3
TO DREDGE FOR GOLD
Bar Below Gold Hill to Be Scene of Operations by Huge Craft Costing $50,000.
Medford, Nov. 26.--Arrangements have been practically completed for a new and bigger departure in mining operations on Rogue River near Gold Hill, the site selected being the big bar just below the Lyman ranch, and the method of recovery to be a huge dredge, designed and built expressly for the purpose by the Sutherlin capitalists who are interested in the venture. These men are J. K. Moore, H. H. McLean and C. F. Reynolds, all of whom have had wide practical experience in dredging operations, and who will invest from $50,000 to $60,000 in the construction of the dredge and preparations for the work.
Mr. Reynolds, representing the trio, was in Gold Hill for several days the first of the week making a final survey of the project and conferring with Henry Ray, who has been largely instrumental in directing interest toward one of the most neglected and undoubtedly profitable systems of mining in Southern Oregon. He is now in Oroville, Cal., at which point some 50 or 60 dredges of varying types are engaged in operations upon the rich sand bars of that river, and where he intends to make a final determination of the type of dredge which will be constructed for work on the Rogue.
Ashland Tidings, November 28, 1912, page 5
A deal was made Tuesday afternoon whereby the mines of the Jacksonville Mining & Milling Co. will be transferred to Messrs. James McChatka & R. H. Bailey of Grants Pass, whom it is presumed represent a wealthy syndicate. The papers have been signed up and together with the certificates of stock have been placed in escrow in the Bank of Jacksonville. The purchasers are to have immediate possession and work will be commenced at once upon the property. Mr. Bailey is a mining engineer of experience, and after a thorough examination of the property is well pleased with the outlook and says that it is surely a mine. This property has lately been under lease to Mr. Rhinehart, but his lease having expired the deal above mentioned was made this week.
"Local News," Jacksonville Post, June 19, 1915, page 3
FAMOUS MINE AT JACKSONVILLE TO BE OPERATED
The mining property of the Jacksonville Milling & Mining Co., one mile west of Jacksonville, has been purchased by James McChatka and R. H. Bailey of Grants Pass, Or., who will commence immediate operations of the same.
The property was well known in the early mining days of Jacksonville, as it is the ledge from which the famous Bowden pocket was taken, which yielded over $60,000. On top of the ridge near the same property a pocket known as the Johnson pocket was also taken out, and is reported to have yielded $30,000.
The property is located near and in the same mountain as the well-known Opp mine, on which stands a twenty-stamp mill and cyanide plant, but this plant is not in operation, although it is reported that plans are in progress for starting up again in the near future.
Professor A. N. Winchell in the August number of the Mineral Resources of Oregon last year gives considerable space to a description of these properties.
There has always been a feeling among old miners of Jacksonville that some very rich strikes would someday be discovered in this region, and much surface prospecting has been done there.
Medford Mail Tribune, June 30, 1915, page 6
It is reported that recent development work at the old Jacksonville Mining & Milling Co.'s mine, recently purchased by McChatka & Bailey, has uncovered a vein of rich ore and that work on a large scale will be immediately begun. This property was well known in the early mining days and yielded several rich pockets of gold, one of which contained $60,000 worth of the yellow metal. Further development of the mine will be watched with interest by the miners of this vicinity.
"Local News," Jacksonville Post, July 3, 1915, page 3
RICH GOLD STRIKE ON BIRDSEYE CREEK NEAR GOLD HILL
If the hardy miners of pioneer days had set their stakes forty feet either way when prospecting their claims along the banks of Birdseye Creek, in an extensive area known to be mineralized, they would have found gold-bearing ore yielding from $285 to $15,000 a ton. They mined within a few feet of the ledge on each side of it, and then abandoned the territory to look for something richer. Many of them found rich deposits of ore in various parts of this vast mineral region, including gold, copper, silver, iron and coal, some of which were developed as far as it appeared to be profitable to work them in the absence of facilities for shipping the ores to a smelter. Scores of valuable claims are found in this condition today--still awaiting the advent of transportation facilities to make their operation worthwhile. It is the opinion of well-informed mining men in this region that many excellent claims of early days have been abandoned because of the absence of railroads in the district.
But the claim on Birdseye Creek now being worked by Swacker & McReynolds had never been disturbed until a few weeks ago, when an indifferent surface indication suggested examination.
Startling Results AnnouncedThe result is that the Swacker-McReynolds Company are taking out ore from that claim that runs as high as $15,000 to the ton. The poorest rock they have taken out yields $285.72 to the ton. It is rock in which there is no gold apparent to the naked eye. Refuse accumulations shoveled out of the way of the main dump assay over $5 to the ton.
After sinking a shaft twenty-three feet, during which depth the character and value of the ore were unchanged, the company has begun to tunnel into the mountain on the ledge. The only change in the ore is that of increase in values so far. It is pockety, and the vein is enlarging as depth is attained.
F. C. Elliott, who has driven out to Birdseye Creek two or three times lately, brought in some of the ore. It may be seen at The Pantorium and Dye Works, on North Fir Street.
Mr. Elliott also brought in a quantity of specimens of ore from the Highland mine, on Foots Creek, now on exhibition at the Commercial Club rooms. This, too, is a very promising property, the prospect showing better results as depth is attained. An offer has been made for this property, but the deal has not yet been concluded. Whether or not it may be between the parties to it in this case depends somewhat on the success of present plans to develop it under its present management.
New Life in Old MinesThe Sterling mine, owned by S. S. Bullis of Medford, the oldest and most reliable producer in this part of the country, is being operated day and night by the largest force and equipment of greatest capacity ever used on it. Great electric searchlights enable the workmen to pursue operations at night as well as during the day. It is the scene of greater activity now than for many years. Thirty men are at work and three giant nozzles, each throwing a five-inch stream, are constantly washing the precious dirt from the walls of Sterling Creek.
The Opp and Norling mines, also in the vicinity of Jacksonville, are being operated on full time, the ore from each being treated at the Opp mill.
Work will soon be resumed on many of the mines in this district, preliminary preparation now being made for it on properties that have for years been idle.
The lure of gold has again invited the prospector to search the mountains of southern Oregon and northern California as in the days when the element of chance was less promising. Many representatives of capital in the East are in this district at this time inspecting properties with a view to buying and opening them up for substantial development, much reliance being placed on the prospect of transportation facilities in the near future.
Tungsten Recently FoundTungsten, a rare metal, has been recently found in the Gold Hill district, according to the reports of G. L. Huff and H. A. Ray, two industrious prospectors of this region. This discovery is said to have been made about three miles above Gold Hill. Two veins have been opened up showing this metal, which is properly classified as scheelite and is free from any other forms of this ore, such as huebnerite, wolframite and ferberite. The principal vein is from eight to ten inches in width. Four chutes have been exposed, showing workable ore of good values. Assays from these chutes have given values per ton of $800 to $3000 at the prevailing prices--and the prices are steadily rising.
This ore is found in heavy-looking sands and will cling to the pan the same as gold. It is white or creamy in color. In certain formations it may be yellowish.
Special search is being made for cinnabar wherever quicksilver may be found in the mining territory.
There is no doubt that this season will develop extraordinary activity in mining matters throughout the entire southern Oregon cluster of districts.
Medford Mail Tribune, March 20, 1916, page 2
Mr. Walsh, representing the Drexler estate of San Francisco, which is operating dredges at Oroville, Chico and other California points, has been in this district for some days investigating conditions on Foots Creek with a view to locating a dredger on that stream if optional rates are not too severe. The conclusion reached apparently puts it up to those who own the lands affected. If their rates are reasonable, a dredger will be installed on Foots Creek, involving a monthly payroll of $1600 to $1800.
"Local and Personal," Medford Mail Tribune, March 20, 1916, page 2
Fred Moore is hauling lumber, brick etc. for the new retorts on the Blue Jay mine. The retort is expected Saturday next.
"The Meadows," Medford Mail Tribune, May 25, 1916, page 5
DOWN ROGUE RIVER FROM GRANTS PASS
GOLD BEACH, Ore., May 30.--Completing a hair-raising voyage down Rogue River from Grants Pass in a homemade watamaran [sic], after shooting rushing waters, threading narrow canyons and rapids, dodging rocks and whirlpools where the current ran white, Captain John Aubery and his crew of four arrived here Friday.
The object of the trip was to deliver a stamp mill, weighing three and one-half tons, to the Blossom Bar mine, three miles below Mule Creek. The heavy stamp mill steadied the vessel in rough water, but added to the difficulties of steering.
The crew was made up of volunteers who desired to get to the mouth of Rogue River and were willing to save the time and expense incident to the conventional trip overland. They were not concerned with the dangers involved. Besides the captain, they included J. G. Van Horn, Frank Stone, Commodore Fleming and C. C. Ponting, and they took Van Horn's dog along.
The craft was modeled along the lines of a double Venetian gondola, but of more ample proportions, with a length of 38 feet and 9½ feet beam. Captain Aubery, who has had years of experience in navigating the Rogue, declares the boat was the largest that ever descended the river.
The expedition was a succession of thrills and narrow escapes. The party left Grants Pass Saturday, May 13, and all day Sunday was spent getting the boat over Rogue River falls. At Almeda it was necessary to weigh down the boat before it could be gotten under the bridge.
The country is sparsely settled, but news of the expedition was telephoned ahead, and at every accessible point along the river bank the adventurers were cheered by the settlers.
Medford Mail Tribune, May 30, 1916, page 3
Fred Moore hauled a couple of wagon loads of brick from Tolo for the new quicksilver retorts on the Bertelson group of mines, and then finding 700 pounds more needed, ran over Sunday morning and brought them in the Ford.
"The Meadows," Medford Mail Tribune, June 8, 1916, page 2
Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
A few days ago J. Willis Hay of Gold Hill sold to Robert Spencer and associates of Boston his holdings at the head of Sams Creek. The claims run a very good assay of cinnabar, and were traced very definitely by Mr. Hay.
The discovery of tungsten mines about one and one-half miles east of Sterling mines by Mr. and Mrs. Steven Kromitz has been announced. They also located a 12-foot ledge of galena ore that holds gold, silver, nickel, zinc and lead. Mrs. Kromitz was formerly Mrs. Crews-Carlson of Texas. The couple expect to open up their mines on the Missouri Gulch just as soon as they find a company with money enough to handle their tungsten prospect.
Gold Hill News. Last week Joe Beeman reported the sale of a bunch of quicksilver claims known as the "73" group, located near the head of Sams Creek. The discovery was made by "Bill" Hay, one of the oldest miners in this section. R. H. Spencer and associates are the new owners and have taken charge and are working the property. The claims run a very good assay of cinnabar and will no doubt add quite a little to the mineral wealth of this section.
Ashland Tidings, August 28, 1916, page 6
RICH GOLD BODY FOUND
PROMISING ORE IS UNCOVERED NEAR GOLD HILL.
Strike Said to Ensure Future Stability of Sylvanite Mines Now Under Lease.
GOLD HILL, Or., July 31.--(Special.)--The uncovering of a large body of rich ore in the Sylvanite group of gold mines two miles north of Gold Hill, under lease to Victor W. Brown and associates of Pittsburgh, Pa., and owned by J. W. Davies and local people, ensures the future stability of these mines. This property is the only quartz mine at present in active operation in this region. Gold mining has been almost wholly suspended in this district since 1914, excepting the large hydraulic placer mines which have extensive water rights.
The new find was made in the lower level of the old works, at a depth of more than 500 feet, running in value from $26 to $50 a ton in gold and silver, and compares favorably with the rich galena ores of the southwest states. The several mines constituting the group, known as the Simmons, Cheney, Haff and Ray mines, have been extensive gold producers for 30 years, but worked in a crude way until the present owners and lessees began development.
There has been considerable interest in this property since the discovery in 1916 of tungsten along with the gold ores by Ray & Haff of Gold Hill, who were operating the mine. The mineral occurs in small stringers with quartz, and ore running from 2 to 40 percent tungsten was extracted. The veins carrying the best grade of tungsten have been developed only to a small extent, and the tungsten resources of the mine, therefore, have not yet been determined.
Sunday Oregonian, Portland, August 1, 1920, page 18
Gold Hill, Ore., August. 6,1921.
The recent sale of the Sylvanite group of gold mines near Gold Hill to the Oregon-Pittsburgh Mining Co. and the reopening of other old-time producing mines is evidence of a general resumption of the industry. Local lumbermen are looking hopefully to this industry for demand for lumber and timbers. Other mines now operating and resuming are the Braden, the Millionaire, Gold Ridge, Roaring Gimlet and Centennial.
"Jackson County, Ore.," The Timberman, Portland, August 1921, page 124
OREGON QUICKSILVER MINES RICH PAY,
CHUTES PRODUCING 70 PERCENT ROCK
History of Industry in State Dates Back to 1878, When Cinnabar Ore Was Discovered
Twelve Miles from Gold Hill by Early Settler--War Lends Stimulus to Owners of Deposits.
BY A. E. KELLOGG.
The history of the quicksilver industry in Southern Oregon dates back to 1878, when an early settler in Rogue River Valley, well versed in the industry, discovered cinnabar ore in an area known as the Meadows, 12 miles out from Gold Hill. The Meadows is now the center of the quicksilver-producing area in this region. Since 1878, up to the recent development of the industry, the early settlers distilled quicksilver from the Meadows ore and disposed of it to the local miners, who used the metal in the recovery of flour gold and platinum in the placer diggings of the region. By the crude process of roasting these ores in open furnaces usually about 50 percent of the metal was recovered, while the other 50 percent escaped in the fumes, causing the deadly mercurial poisoning to the operator.
It was due to the consistent efforts of Dr. William P. Chisholm of Gold Hill that the industry was successfully launched. He acquired the claims where the original strike was made in 1878, about 20 years ago, and in 1912 erected a 12-pipe mercury furnace on the property, which was the first commercial furnace installed in the region.
Deposits Are Examined.Through his effort an examination of the cinnabar ore deposits in the Gold Hill district was made in 1913 by A. N. Winchell, in charge of the field work of the Oregon Bureau of Mines. H. M. Parks and A. M. Swartley of the same bureau made mention of these deposits in their 1916 "Handbook of Oregon Mines," and are jointly responsible for the development of the industry in this region.
That quicksilver existed in Southern Oregon up to the beginning of the war was known only to a few local operators and the scientific mining bureaus of the state of Oregon and the geological survey at Washington. It was during the early days of the war that the government, in its dire need of quicksilver as a war metal, and in ransacking for new deposits, fully demonstrated that the quicksilver zone in California extended into Oregon. This discovery disclosed large and rich deposits of the metal, which the state and federal mining bureau experts reported outclassed anything yet uncovered in the United States.
Up to the time of the war California contributed more than half the quicksilver produced in the United States. Nevada had a few producing deposits, while Texas produced about a quarter of the domestic production. The average grades in the three states named above are less than .01 percent, or less than 20 pounds to the ton of ore. The Spanish carries 14 percent, and subsidiary ore bodies .02½ percent; the Italian about .01 percent, and the Austrian .85 percent.
The greatest cinnabar dikes extending through Southern Oregon average less than .01 percent, but these dikes are rich in chimneys, or pay chutes, which produce large bodies of ore that reduce to as high as 70 percent quicksilver. Three furnaces in the Gold Hill district operated during the war on ore that averaged 17 percent, while in Douglas County the operators found conditions there about the same as in the Gold Hill district, but less rich in pay chutes.
The largest produced during the war period was the War Eagle mine, which produced 565 flasks of 75 pounds each, or 42,375 pounds of quicksilver, which was sold on the open market for $59,325.
Elevation is 2500 Feet.The Meadows is at an elevation of 2500 feet, on the south slope of the Umpqua Mountains, in a heavily forested and well-watered area. The quicksilver-bearing deposits extending through the district occur along a granite-sandstone contact, where the granite is in part pegmatic. It strikes north 53 degrees west, and most of the mines on this deposit are less than 100 feet in depth. The mineralized zone is from 100 to 200 feet wide. It is not a well-defined vein, but is a mineralized dike along an irregular contact.
The ore or mass contains cinnabar, native quicksilver, pyrite, gold, silver, zinc, nickel, arsenic, cobalt and a heavy, black mineral resembling metacinnabarite. Samples as a whole taken from along this dike assayed about $5 in gold to the ton, 5 ounces of silver, 2½ percent zinc, 1 percent quicksilver and traces of these other minerals. The cinnabar appears all through the ore, in the hanging and foot walls, in the forms of seams and kidneys. The seams are from a well-watered trace up to 20 inches in thickness and average from 17 to 70 percent quicksilver. The larger bodies of this rich ore are found chiefly in chimneys and pay chutes, which are in the faults of the main dike, or veins and stringers of the main dike.
This dike makes its first appearance in Oregon extending from California in the bedrock of the famous "49" placer diggings four miles northwest of Ashland. There it is in a calcite formation. These dikes, which are very faulty, appear as laterals or stringers from the main strike through the country; on the west in the Applegate district;, extending down into Josephine County; and on the east in the Butte Creek Mountain King mine, six miles north of Gold Hill, next in the Meadows, thence extending through the Umpqua Mountains into Douglas and Lane counties, still holding its rich values in cinnabar ores.
Geologically, the Gold Hill district is an area chiefly occupied by old Paleozoic sediments interbedded with sills or flows of andesite and greenstone, the sedimentary rock striking northerly, usually about N. 15 degrees E., and dipping eastward at angles ranging from 65 degrees W. upward. Diller has shown that Jurassic beds west of this district have been overturned so that the oldest strata now overlie the younger formations.
It seems possible that the Paleozoic sediments are also overturned, and that the limestone found in the southern part of the district probably is of early Paleozoic age, and fossils found in limestone lenses in the district indicate that they are not Devonian. Diller suggests that they are Silurian rather than Carboniferous in age. Accordingly, the Paleozoic sediments in this district are referred to as the Devonian or Carboniferous or to both periods.
Long after the formation of the sedimentary rocks, the region was intruded from below by a mass of molten igneous formation which is now exposed to view in the mountains by the same agency, the bedded rock solidified beneath a considerable thickness of sediments or other rocks which have since been removed in some places. The igneous mass is now exposed to view in the mountains, and it seems probable it underlies, at considerable depth, the major part of the Gold Hill district. This igneous intrusion and intense folding appear to have elevated the region sufficiently to cause a new cycle of erosion and the formation of coarse sediment which could not be transported far by ordinary agencies. Therefore conglomerates were produced, and these were succeeded by feldspathic sandstone during part of the Cretaceous period.
The greatest menaces to the quicksilver industry in this country are the Almaden mines in Spain, which yield mercury from ore averaging 11 percent, at a cost of $16 a flask of 75 pounds. The ore reserves at Almaden are good for 40 years on a basis of an output of 1000 tons of metal annually. These deposits are owned by the Spanish government and operated with convict labor. The entire output of the mine is contracted to the Rothschilds in London at £7 sterling for a flask of 75 pounds, and this concern has the privilege of regulating the output of the mine.
Oregonian, Portland, November 19, 1922, page D10
Special Dispatch to The Chronicle
CHICAGO--The largest and richest deposits of quicksilver ever discovered in the United States recently have been uncovered by the Medford Reducing and Refining Company in the Rogue River Valley, in the Meadows district, near Medford, Or., according to a statement by Draper, Stevens & Co. of Chicago. Samples of cinnabar ore taken from this area assayed from 1.75 percent to 9.1 percent mercury. Considering that mines in California have been operated successfully for many years on ore assaying ½ of 1 percent and less of quicksilver, the deposits in the Meadows district offer a peculiarly favorable field for development.
San Francisco Chronicle, October 18, 1926, page 15
The Sterling Mine, Near Jacksonville, Oregon
Begins New Operations After Years of Idleness
THE STERLING MINE, FORMER CHIEF PLACER PRODUCER,
BEGINS A NEW PERIOD OF OPERATION
By A. E. Kellogg
While the recent entering of the Ludlum Engineering Corporation of New York in the mining field of Southern Oregon and its active operation in the construction of a $500,000 gold dredge at Foots Creek, 20 miles below Medford, is a very important event in the resumption of mining in this region, yet the entry of Fred J. Blakely and associates of Portland in this district in the recent operations in the reopening of the famous Sterling placers, twelve miles out from Medford, also marks a new era of mining in this region.
The Sterling mine, which has lain idle for some time, is now being worked. This will be welcome news to the mining interests of Southern Oregon, as the Sterling was always shown to visitors, and when in operation it showed what quantities of gravel can be moved by water.
In the early days of mining of Southern Oregon, Sterling Creek was the scene of the most active mining operations in and around Jacksonville. There was a large camp on Sterling Creek; in fact, it was a real live mining town. It was reported that 600 votes were cast at the time Lincoln ran for President the second time.
Early in the '70s an ancient river channel was discovered. It was very rich in gold values. The find was reported all over the country. A syndicate of Portland capitalists, M. S. Burrell, Governor Grover and Levi Ankeny, afterwards U.S. Senator from Washington, became interested in the proposition. A ditch line to convey the waters of the Little Applegate River to a point of sufficient height to mine this newly discovered channel by hydraulicking was surveyed. The survey showed it would take a ditch 27 miles in length to answer this purpose. In those days a ditch of this length, and a large portion to be cut through solid rock, was a stupendous undertaking. The Portland men had made a thorough test of the ground, which showed the gold values were about 45 cents to the yard. So the ditch was constructed, giants installed, and mining operations on a larger scale than ever before known in that section of the country was started.
For nearly a half a century the mine was operated, more than $2,500,000 in gold being taken from the mine during this period. Those conversant with the property declare that not one-third of the values have been taken from the ground.
Mr. Mathews, or as he is familiarly known and called in Alaska, Jack Mathews, believes that the Sterling property is one of the richest placer properties on the Pacific Coast. He backs up this by taking an interest in the property. New mining equipment has been installed, and it will be interesting to the miners of Southern Oregon to see how the gold was saved in Alaska. In Mr. Mathews' opinion, a great deal of the gold, especially the finer gold, in the old Sterling operations was not recovered by the system that was used at that time for saving gold.
If under Mr. Mathews' management, and his plans for handling the gravel, the Sterling mine lives up to its own record as a producer, it will do much to stimulate and revive mining in Southern Oregon.
Mr. Blakely recently in Medford said:
"At the time gold was discovered in Alaska, mining men from Oregon, as well as from all over the United States, flocked to the northern country. Then later, when the Goldfield and other camps were discovered, it was another rush to these camps; practically all of them are things of the past, with the exception of some mining that is still being done in Alaska, but the records show that the production of gold in the Alaska region has fallen off greatly in the last few years.
"From some of those who take the boats to Alaska every spring, this report has come that few people are now going into that country, and business is on the ebb in that northern territory. The great gold-producing states are now California and Colorado, both of them far outdistancing Alaska.
"The time is now opportune for bringing to the attention of the people throughout the country the vast riches that are to be found in Southern Oregon. Not only has this section shown that gold is to be found along all the streams that flow into Rogue River, but there is also great deposits of gold and other precious metals in the hills and mountains, where numerous quartz mines are constantly being opened up.
"If the people of the country, especially those interested in mining, would visit this territory, they would be surprised at its richness. In Alaska they were able to mine only about sixty to ninety days in a season, then the cold set in, and it was everything but pleasant to live there. Where these Goldfield and other camps have been discovered, they were in a bleak and barren country, where no one cared to reside. Many of the Rogue River Valley's best citizens are the descendants of the early miners who located in this country, and there is no doubt that if people came to the Rogue River country now to investigate the mining possibilities, they would eventually decide to become citizens of Southern Oregon.
"For many years past, a great deal of money has been spent in advertising Rogue River pears, apples and other fruits. It has brought many people from many parts of the country who have located here. It is now in order for the people to start an advertising campaign in which the mineral products of this section should do more to bring in outside capital and new people than any other plan that could be devised.
"With the Sterling going, the giants knocking down the gravel and which has been mined on this property, it is a sight sure to impress anyone."
An editorial in the Oregonian of the issue of May 17, 1905, recites:
"The Sterling mine in Southern Oregon, which is reported sold at a high figure, was well named. There are a great many other mines in that part of the state, as well as in eastern Oregon, which possess 'Sterling' qualities and which are appreciated at their true worth because their merits have not been noised abroad. There has been such conservation in operation as well as exploiting our mine, and they have kept right on producing, not spasmodically, but regularly for many years. There has never been a mining boom in the state such as have drawn thousands of people to camps like the Black Hills, Leadville, Klondike and Tonopah; but the mining industry in Oregon is on a much more legitimate basis than it was in most of the boom camps. There has been a vast amount of exaggeration regarding the wealth-producing qualities of some of the camps, especially those in Alaska.
"The output from Alaska this season is estimated as high as $25,000,000, but this is believed to be considerably in excess of the amount that will be in evidence at the final cleanup. From estimates submitted to the director of the mint by officers of the several mints and assay offices, it is shown that the 1904 gold production of Alaska was $9,000,000, while Colorado produced $26,000,000 and California $19,000,000. These figures are somewhat surprising, considering the extensive advertising that has been given the Alaska country. No gold strike ever made was more thoroughly exploited and boomed than those of the Klondike, Nome and Tanana. The frozen north has for a number of years been producing great quantities of gold, and it has turned out many millionaires as well as a few thousand bankrupt miners who were not so lucky. And yet the mint returns shown that the Alaska country last year produced only about one-third as much gold as was produced in Colorado, and less than one-half as much as was secured from the mines of California.
"Neither of these states enjoy anything like a mining boom, nor did either of them attract crowds of gold seekers as rushed to the Far North from all parts of the world. The discovery of gold in Alaska has been one of the greatest factors in the rapid growth of the Puget Sound cities, and the entire Pacific Coast has shared in a degree of the benefits arising from this discovery, but the returns per capita in comparison with what has been spent in getting in and out of the country will not make a favorable showing. There is but little doubt that if all the toil and money expended in the Alaska mines had been used in the mining camps of some of the western states the result would have been much more satisfactory.
"The Sterling mine in Southern Oregon has never made any such remarkable cleanups as were made on the Klondike, but its regular annual output, in the many years since its discovery, aggregated a vast sum of money, equal to, if not exceeding, that of the best mines in Alaska."
Pacific Coast Miner, March 1, 1928, page 1
Newly Discovered Process Produces 6½ Percent Tin
From Southern Oregon Rock
DISCOVERY IS RESULT OF LONG RESEARCH AND EXPERIMENTS
ON THE PART OF LOCAL ASSAYER AND MEMBERS
OF MINE OWNER'S COMMITTEE
An entirely new process for the recovery of tin and other metals from the tin-bearing ores of Southern Oregon has been announced by members of the research committee of the Mine Owner's Association of Grants Pass, which will definitely prove the oft-disputed claim that tin is to be found in commercial quantities in the large deposits of mineral-bearing rock which abound in Southern Oregon and other sections of the Coast. Dozens of experiments have been made with tin recovery by this process, and in each instance the results have checked or showed an increased recovery as the chemists became more accustomed to the use of the process.
Just what this process involves has not been divulged by the committee nor by Charles Lull, the local assayer who was largely responsible for its discovery, nor will it be divulged except by legitimate operators who can convince the holders of the secret that they intend to develop the tin industry in this section. While the process has only been tried in the laboratory, the sponsors claim that they are convinced that its use on a larger scale assures a simple and profitable manner to make the tin recoveries commercially. In addition to recovering high percentages of the tin in the ore, the process is also said to make recoveries of the gold and other metals with but little additional handling of the pulp.
Recent tests of this process in the process of Mr. John Beede, a prominent Portland chemist, are said to have shown the presence of six and one-half percent tin in samples of ore gathered by Mr. Beede from properly located on Iron Creek in Josephine County. Subsequent tests are said to have increased this already high percentage of tin in the ore.
Pacific Coast Miner, March 1, 1928, page 2
THE WESTERN MINING COMPANY INSTALLS NEW EQUIPMENT
The Western Mining Company of Grants Pass, Oregon, which is operating a bench placer property near Hell Gate on Rogue River, is just completing the installation of additional equipment to handle the gravel which is carrying rich gold values. The operation has been under way with but one oil-operated shovel, but it has been found that additional equipment will materially increase the production and profit in the operation of the mine. The Western Mining Company's property has long been known as the Flannagan mine.
Pacific Coast Miner, March 1, 1928, page 2
OREGONA recent strike made in the Continental mine, near Myrtle Creek, Oregon, is said to show values as high as $327 per ton in gold and silver. By weight, these two metals exist in about the same amounts, but this high grade will not prevail throughout the mine. It is understood that a shipment is being prepared for consignment to the Tacoma smelter.
P. B. Wickham of Grants Pass, Oregon, has taken a lease with option to purchase the Ashland and Shorty Hope mines, near Ashland, Oregon, from E. D. Briggs, owner. A general survey is to be made at once and the property placed in shape for systematic development and mining. The principal problem will be draining the main shaft, which holds about 500 feet of water.
The Edwards Mining Company, near Grants Pass, Oregon, has been remodeling its flotation mill and plans putting in an additional flotation unit, according to General Manager D. Potter. New stopes have been opened up, and a shaft is to be sunk to provide a new haulage way.
James P. Noonan and S. E. Heberling of Central Point, Oregon, will start about April 1 to complete the tunnel in the Red Ribbon group of gold claims, near Gold Hill, to intersect an ore chute at greater depth. This tunnel has already been driven 345 feet. A 25-foot tunnel has been driven in the Union claim and a 45-foot tunnel has been made in the Eureka property. Some time ago the operators built a trail to the mine about one and one-half miles, installed a Fairbanks-Morse compressor and a building to cover the same.
K. Dean Butler of the Robertson Gold Mine, Inc. has placed 18 men at work at his property in the Galice district in Oregon. A road is to be built to the mine so that heavy machinery can be taken in next spring. Some of the recent finds in the mine have carried particularly high values and have attracted considerable attention. Mr. Butler makes his headquarters at Grants Pass, Oregon.
Zane Grey, noted western author, is said to be planning the development of the mining claim on his property on the Rogue River in Oregon, according to B. B. Irving, United States mineral surveyor, Roseburg. The property was worked several years ago and can be reached from West Fork, Douglas County. A domestic water system is to be put in and about 20 cabins built.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, March 30, 1929
ASBESTOS IN SOUTHWESTERN OREGONFollowing the war, requests of the manufacturers addressed to the Oregon Bureau of Mines for asbestos properties aroused holders of asbestos deposits in the Gold Hill district to activity in renewing work at abandoned deposits in which, before the war, they saw possibilities. The Gold Hill deposits are said to be the most important in the region.
By A. E. Kellogg
Asbestos is found on Upper Evans Creek in the Umpqua Mountains in the Gold Hill district and other points in Jackson County, also in the Galice district in Josephine County. It occurs in serpentine areas in close proximity to diabase. Amphibole asbestos in the Gold Hill region has been exploited, while the chrysolite exists, but has been lightly reported.
Notwithstanding these known occurrences, the state bureau of mines, during its existence, now defunct, was not aware that a single asbestos property in the Gold Hill district had been sufficiently developed that the bureau could recommend for examination by a prospective operator. It is now believed that the increasing uses for asbestos, together with favorable prices, which prevail at the present time, warrant development of some of the southwestern Oregon deposits.
Samples of the local deposits have been submitted and stood the usual test as to fireproofness, ample in length of textile, but the staple lacks the elasticity and flexibility when it comes to spinning qualities, which the Canadian and other foreign deposits possess.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, March 30, 1929
OREGONArrangements are being made to continue the 60-foot crosscut tunnel in the Alta Vista claims, near Galice, Oregon, according to L. S. Hansen, who is the sole owner of the property. This tunnel will cut several ledges of ore, which have been traced on the surface. Mr. Hansen is financing the work himself, and during the last 23 months he has built a two-room house, woodshed, blacksmith shop, etc., and has graded 2,000 feet of trail.
Any machinery that is taken to the property will have to be packed in on mule-back, as the mine is about 10 miles from any road. Three other claims will probably be added to the property this summer.
The Bonanza Quicksilver Mining Company plans the early erection of a 5 x 72-foot rotary furnace, according to Manager J. W. Wenzel of Sutherlin, Oregon. Tunnel No. 9 has recently encountered the vein at a distance of 25 feet from its portal. This is the main working tunnel for the south end of the property. An electric transmission line crosses the property about 500 feet south of the No. 6 tunnel, but it is said that the power company prefers extending a line from the Sutherlin substation instead of tapping the line near the property.
The new line will cost approximately $3,500. Water is available at the mine nine months out of the year and during the remaining three months will have to be pumped into tanks at an elevation of 100 feet to ensure a gravity flow. Fuel oil for the furnace can be delivered at the mine at not more than 5½ cents a gallon.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, April 15, 1929
OREGONThe Columbia Mine on Grave Creek, near Grants Pass, Oregon, has been taken over by a new company, known as the Bullion Mountain, Inc. Twenty men are putting in a ditch and dam to give ample water with a 650-foot fall. The Bullion people have also taken over 70 percent of the holdings of the Oregon Metals Corporation, A. W. Yount, manager, Grants Pass, and George Bouton of Victoria is president of the Bullion company.
Through the persistent efforts of D. H. Ferry, manager of the Rogue River Gold Company, there will be no more mud deposited into the Rogue River from the dredge, which is being operated by the company on Foots Creek. From October to December 10 last year the river was kept clean by means of settling basins, but these have filled, and other means were necessary. Several devices are combined in the new system, including the disposition of the mud and clay from the dredge back into the tailings, instead of running it into the pond, and the building of a large basin below the dredge, which will capture any overflow and filter the mud.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, June 30, 1929
OREGONPat Jennings and his son, George, have purchased the Crystal Mine in the Bohemia District, Lane County, Oregon, from George McQueen, and have organized the Lead Crystal Mining Company. A crew has been engaged to begin development on a 2,000-foot tunnel, and the work is expected to start soon.
The Millionaire gold mine, four miles east of Gold Hill, Oregon, which has been closed down due to litigation for a number of years, and sold last year by the court to the lien holders with M. S. Johnson of Gold Hill at the head, has been sold to Alexander Moe and associates of Los Angeles, California. Engineer Knotts, R.F.D. Central Point, Oregon, is in charge, and is unwavering the 400-foot working shaft to the 200-foot level. This property is equipped with electrically driven machinery, including two 1,500-pound stamp mills. A new type mill will be installed when the mine is in readiness. It will be manufactured by Moe, featuring a stamp mill and oil flotation. The ore bodies are large and of low grade. The new owner announced that he will spend a large sum in developing the mine.
Thomas A. Sweeney of Portland, Oregon, hydraulic contractor, has been awarded the contract for the construction and installation of a 600-horsepower power plant, dams, and canals, at the Blue Ledge Copper Mine, near Copper, California. The cost is said to be approximately $100,000. The Consolidated Copper Company is operating the mine and maintains headquarters at Medford, Oregon. George F. Hughes is local manager.
The road from the mine to Medford, the shipping point, and which is 45 miles distant, is being repaired at an expense of $9,000, to resume shipping copper ore to the Tacoma smelter. Plans are to build a 100-ton reduction plant at the mine and a power plant for its operation. Initial shipments will be from ore mined and placed on the dump that runs less than 15 percent copper. A crew of 12 men has been employed for some time.
It is understood that a new ledge of ore has been cut in the Randall Group mining claims in the Mormon Basin in Oregon, operated under lease by G. F. Bodfish of Rogue River. Development work on this and other properties is progressing favorably and indicates that the Mormon Basin is coming back into prominence.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, September 30, 1929
CONSOLIDATED COPPER HAS ACQUIRED BLUE LEDGE MINEConsummation of the sale of the Blue Ledge copper mine, 45 miles from Medford, Oregon, has resulted in the organization of the Consolidated Copper Company, which will reopen and operate the property. The new concern is made up of eastern, and middle western investors, with George F. Hughes, local manager, Liberty Building, Medford, Oregon. While the Blue Ledge is four miles south of the Oregon-California state line, in Siskiyou County, California, the outlet to shipping is through the Oregon country.
The property was formerly owned by the American Smelting and Refining Company, which acquired the property late in 1928 from the Mexican Smelting and Refining Company, a subsidiary of the Compañia Metalúrgica Mexicana. Dr. J. F. Reddy of Medford, representing a syndicate who made the recent deal involving nearly $750,000, took an option on the property from the late owners about the first of the year.
A Los Angeles group headed by J. B. Root and B. F. Miller, Jr. were bidding on the property for several months and it had been reported that they had exercised their option, but recent developments indicate that they have pooled their interests with the eastern and middle western investors. The Blue Ledge was a heavy shipper of copper ore to the American Smelting and Refining Company's smelter at Tacoma during the war period, and continued until the total suspension of the copper industry in 1920. It has been closed ever since.
The new owners have incorporated a subsidiary Oregon company, the Consolidated Light and Power Company, to supply the mine with electric lights and power. Waters of Elliott Creek and the middle fork of the Applegate River, in California, and Carberry Creek, in Oregon, will be utilized to develop the power. Siskiyou County in California, Jackson County in Oregon, and the national Forest Service are spending approximately $30,000 in rebuilding the road from the mine to the shipping point at Medford.
Many new hotels and office buildings are being equipped not only with brass piping, but copper radiators as well.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, October 15, 1929
OREGONIt is understood that the War Eagle Mine in the Meadows District, near Gold Hill, Oregon, is being cleaned up, under the direction of George Schumacher of Medford, Oregon. The Chicago Trust Company recently acquired the property by mortgage foreclosure proceedings.
The Oregon Exploration Company, William Cavanagh, president, 531 Railway Exchange Building, Portland, Oregon, has appointed a committee to estimate the money needed to develop its property near Riddle to the point where the work can be financed through the shipments of ore. F. Reed McBride of Portland is one of the shareholders. He recently visited the mine accompanied by a Spokane engineer.
The Preston Peak copper mine, lying just over the California line and accessible only through Waldo, Oregon, 20 miles from the mine, has been sold to Mark Killiam of Santa Barbara, William H. Thompson of Pasadena, and Edgar Wallace of Los Angeles, all California mine operators. Twenty years ago the mine was a heavy producer, but has been idle since and owned by a New York estate. Sixty miles to shipping has proved prohibitive, but the recent completion of the Redwood Highway within 20 miles of the property, and modern trucking facilities, have made reopening possible. The new owners will reopen the mine at once and ship ore to the Tacoma smelter. Waters Creek, 15 miles out from Grants Pass, Oregon, is the nearest shipping point.
Four suits have been filed against the Wearea Mining Corporation and C. M. Huddle, one of the largest stockholders and former manager of the Almeda Mine, near Grants Pass, Oregon, to restrain operations on the Riverside placer extension claim, and the Fraser placer claim. The Wearea Company recently announced the reopening of the Almeda Mine, which has been closed since 1916.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, October 15, 1929
OREGONA permit has been granted to the Lucky Boy Mining Company to sell 25,000 shares of its stock at $1 par value. Funds will be used in equipping the mine and bringing it into production. The officers of the company are: W. N. Long, president; J. S. Miller, vice-president and engineer in charge; C. G. Larsen, secretary and treasurer. Headquarters are in the Tiffany Building, Eugene, Oregon.
Two carloads of machinery, including a 120-horsepower diesel engine and an air compressor, have arrived at the Reeves mine, in the Silver Peak district, near Riddle, Oregon. Lotz and Larson own the mine and have made several shipments of ore, carrying silver and gold values.
H. C. Wilmot and associates of Vancouver, British Columbia, have purchased the Bonanza quicksilver mine, east of Sutherlin, Oregon. The sum of $200,000 is said to have changed hands in the deal. The same interests are said to have taken an option on the Shirley Ranch of 117 acres, adjoining the Bonanza property on the north. Tentative plans are to install a furnace of about 100 tons capacity and some other equipment.
Col. Frank M. Leland has been purchasing machinery in San Francisco for the Lone Star Mine in Star Gulch, about five miles from Grants Pass, Oregon, where tests have been made of the gravel during the last six months and average $1.25 per yard. Richard M. Reeves is in charge at the mine, and as soon as there is enough water mining will be started.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, October 30, 1929
The Ashland Mine, 4 miles from Ashland, Oregon, has been sold. The property consists of about 430 acres that has produced over $1,000,000 from $15 to $50 ore.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, June 15, 1930
The West Coast Metals Company has started production on its property in Southern Oregon, near Althouse Creek. A five-mile road has been built to the property, supplies and equipment hauled in, ditches repaired, and hydraulic plants built, with enough water to power two giants up to mid-July. The streambed of the Althouse will be mined out first, then bench ground, and then the Old Blue Channel, which parallels the Upper Althouse.
Frank Meyers, new operator of the Argo Mine, near Galice, Oregon, is to start production again in a few days. This property has produced gold profitably in the past, and is equipped with a 16-ton rotary ball and tube mill.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, July 15, 1930
A 100-ton flotation plant is to be built at the Queen of Bronze mine, near Takilma, Oregon, after 185,000 tons of moderate-value grade gold and copper ore has been blocked out for milling. Values are stated to be around $41/ton.
A crew of 10 men is working the Llano de Oro mines, near Waldo, Oregon. On behalf of the drainage is cut, 50 feet deep and 2 miles long, is now completed. Regular operations consist of open-cut hydraulic placer mining work to recover values in gold and platinum. 1500 tons of gravel are handled daily. The company owns 4300 acres.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, August 15, 1930
The Marion-Bell gold mine on Poorman's Creek, five miles from Jacksonville, Oregon, is reporting ore worth $120/ton. The mining claim comprises 160 acres.
$400 worth of gold has been mined from a hole 20 feet deep at the Big Six mine, three miles west of Jacksonville, Oregon. The gold was reduced from 2½ tons of ore.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, October 30, 1930
The Deep Channel gold placers, better known as the old Sailor Diggings, has been reopened in the Waldo District, with new ownership.
Applegate Mines, Inc., are about to operate three hydraulic mines in the Buncom District, not far from Medford, Oregon. The old China Ditch from the Little Applegate River has been reconditioned with new 30-inch pipe, connecting with the scene of operations.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, January 30, 1931
C. A. Hartley of Medford, Oregon, has recently opened valuable gold quartz property on Foots Creek, out from Gold Hill. This property is located over the hill from the famous Kubli gold mine on Galls Creek, rich in high-grade telluride ore.
Considerable free-milling gold ore has been blocked out in the J. C. L. Mine near Glendale, Oregon. The ground is being reopened and operated by the Lewis family of Portland, who own valuable gold and copper mines in the Glendale, Galice and Grants Pass districts.
Principals have made the final payment on 1300 acres, known as the Osgood and Fry Gulch placers, in the Waldo Mining District in Oregon.
The famous Black Channel gold placers on Foots Creek, 7 miles from Gold Hill, Oregon, have been leased to L. L. Smith. This property adjoins other rich placers in the area.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, February 15, 1931
Free-milling ore, running $500/ton in gold, has been opened on the west fork of Mule Creek, not far from Gold Beach, Oregon. The discovery was made in a drift tunnel, not far below the surface.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, February 28, 1931
GOLD MINING IN SOUTHERN OREGON PUSHES AHEAD;
OLD PROPERTIES BEING DEVELOPED
Eastern Concern Has Extensive Project Under Way;
Heavy Pay Lode Discovered in Back Yard of Jacksonville's Mayor.
Convinced that beneath the mountainous and green-clad terrain of the Rogue River country there reposes a vast treasure of wealth in gold, copper, chrome, cinnabar and coal, men of vision in Southern Oregon at last have arrived at some realization of the great future that will come from proper development of these resources.
Doubtless it will be a revelation to many to hear that at present gold mining in Southern Oregon is in a stage of development such as it has never known before, and the fact is that before long gold mining activity in the Rogue River Valley will be at its height. Southern Oregon, with its placer mines, is destined to rank as one of the foremost gold mining regions in the West.
Jacksonville, once the seat of government for the old Oregon Territory [not true], where that well-known cry, "Thar's gold in them thar hills" was a familiar one, today is witnessing a revival of gold mining, and many an old-timer has returned to the task with a will, wielding a pick and shovel in his own back yard. Backyard mining is nothing new in Jacksonville, but since the discovery only a few weeks ago of a heavy pay lode just off the main street, behind the frame house of John R. MacIntosh, mayor of the town, digging has been well under way in the yard, and MacIntosh and two of his pals have been hard at work, and making excellent wages.
Gold Mine in Back Yard.Although the yard is littered with empty bean and milk cans and little chicks hop hither and yon, while sleek, snub-nosed porkers create their share of excitement, it's a gold mine just the same, and the drift on which the men are working 12 feet down on bedrock is four feet thick, containing an extremely rich ore.
The men are using the same old rockers which were so widely utilized in California and Oregon during gold rush days. Even with this crude equipment, the three are able to pull out $10 or $12 apiece each day. They are saving up to buy equipment which will enable them to operate with a net profit of approximately $20 a day, on a larger scale. A piece of mining equipment known as a "long tom" would do the trick, they say.
However, the Jacksonville backyard miners provide only a very small view of the entire picture. Mining men who know declare that the numerous creeks in the Rogue River Valley are fairly choked with gold, and with dredging operations would yield approximately $50,000 a month as regularly as clockwork. Such operations in a comparatively small acreage would provide eight or ten years of work for a powerful dredge.
There are many mines in the Jacksonville, Applegate and Myrtle creek areas of Southern Oregon, and these mines have never been worked, although their owners dream dreams of untold wealth someday when the big boom comes. And this boom, it is indicated, is not far off.
The mere fact that powerful eastern interests with unlimited capital are backing one of the greatest mining projects in the West, and that the importance of this project is being minimized to keep the value of Southern Oregon mines at a lower level, is one indication of the mining possibilities in that region. These possibilities are far more vast than mining men in the past have ever dreamed they could be. But the perfection of mining equipment now makes it possible to derive the utmost from a good-producing property.
Take the Rogue River Gold Company, for example, operating a 100,000-ton dredge on Foots Creek near Gold Hill, a famous gold mining center. This dredge operates at full capacity for 24 hours a day, halted by no obstacle, eating its way stubbornly into the loamy soil to bedrock, digesting the gold from the rich deposits in the Foots Creek area in its ponderous and complicated maws. Whole forests must be leveled to make way for this monster of steel and electricity.
The dredge has been there for two years, but few people who have known that the dredge even existed have no more regard for it than they would have for a mud scow.
Project Little Publicized.The reason for this ignorance of what is going on in the Foots Creek district is doubtless that the operators of the dredge have succeeded in carefully preventing any information from emanating to the public or the newspaper concerning its operations. Big-scale gold miners do not care to permit the knowledge of their operations to become general, because of the fear of gold robberies and other troubles.
Newspaper men who have endeavored to obtain details of the operations, such as data on costs and profits, have been rebuffed in every attempt. Furthermore, when the state bureau of mines recently issued the figures for gold production in Oregon during the last year the yield taken from Foots Creek by the Rogue River Gold Company was not listed and the figures given, according to mining men, fell far short of what they actually should have been.
Of course, that is the way of big business. And the gold mining industry of Southern Oregon is big business, indeed, if it is what the Foots Creek dredging project indicates. The fact is that publicity enhances the value of mining property, and when the worth of certain diggings becomes known the sum which eastern capital must pay for such mining property is considerably more than it would be otherwise.
Recently the Medford Daily News carried a front-page story under an eight-column headline in which it was stated that the same capital financing the Foots Creek dredge was planning to construct two large stamping mills, one in the lower Applegate country at the Humdinger mine, which, by the way, is a famous old producer, the surface of which has hardly been scratched as yet.
The other property is the old Continental mine in the Myrtle Creek sector between Grants Pass and Roseburg, another famous producer. Both mines have been shut down for many years, due to lack of capital and lack of interest in the dormant gold mining industry. The Humdinger, according to the story which appeared in the Medford newspaper, was purchased at a cost of $20,000, but the ore which is already blocked out there for milling is said by mining men who know the property to be worth $1,000,000, and contains an unknown quantity of ore as yet unblocked.
The eastern interests financing the Foots Creek operations paid $400,000 for the dredge which is now in operation there, and purchased the land on which the project is being carried out for $200,000. Nearly a year was spent by the company in sinking shafts and prospecting. When engineers reported the creek was worth working, capital literally was poured into the venture, and the project has been steadily functioning ever since. It is estimated that the dredge will operate at tremendous profits for the next eight or ten years in the same vicinity.
There is little money in the Rogue River country for mining purposes, although the banks are amply able to finance them. The fruit industry, however, has detracted from interest in the mines. It is for this reason that the profits taken from Southern Oregon's chief mine developments are sent to eastern interests, while the people who live next door to this gold field have the privilege of selling their mines for a mere pittance, and of working in the mines for $5 a day.
Oregonian, Portland, March 15, 1931, page 48
P. B. Wickham, owner of the Ashland Mine, Ashland, Oregon, has purchased the Wagner Ranch, which adjoins the Ashland Mine in the north, and which covers the continuation of the Ashland vein system for ½ of a mile. This brings the entire holding up to 600 acres. A 10-stamp mill is on the property, and with the acquisition, the workings will be dewatered and developed further after the south shaft is reopened. Three veins, the Nutshell, Rogers, and the Roach, will be further explored, and the vein intersection exploited.
The Osgood placer mine, under the supervision of J. T. Logan, Takilma, Oregon, has completed the installation of elevators and has started working three shifts of miners. The property is operated by the Plateureke Mining Company.
The Western Metals Mines Company is resuming work on its Black Jack and Sugar Pine claims, near Grants Pass, Oregon. The company is stockpiling sufficient ore to continue operations during the coming fall and winter. The property is equipped with a 10-stamp mill, amalgamating plates, and Wilfley tables, driven by water power. An additional battery is to be built on the site, doubling reduction efforts.
J. J. Siedel of Grants Pass, Oregon, reports a strike of high grade free-milling gold ore running $4000/ton in gold, on the Victor Mine. Excessive water flowing into the mine is hindering full development of the stope. The Victor Mine is located on Birch Creek, one of the pioneer bonanza diggings in southwest Oregon. Much of the 1000 feet of underground workings in the mine were done by hand methods, though overall production is a history of strikes on rich ore.
For the first time in 50 years of production, the Medford Water, Power, and Development Company, Medford, Oregon, is idle at present for lack of water for placer mining.
Fred Voit of Agness, Oregon, is pushing two tunnels on his Indigo gold property, and on the Gold Ridge property. Higher grade gold ore is more consistent on the Indigo, while the Gold Ridge produces alternating milling grade and high-grade pocket gold.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, March 30, 1931
Charles S. Klingaman and J. W. Light have taken a lease on the famous granite deposit carrying gold and platinum on Pleasant Creek, six miles from Rogue River, Oregon, owned by J. D. French and W. E. Mosby, local men. The property is several hundred acres of mining ground, formerly operated and deeded by John C. Haynes of Pontiac, Mich., and several Michigan mining investors. Ore production is to start on May 1, 1931.
Sixty placer gold claims have been filed on a new find in the extreme northeast corner of Jackson County, Oregon, seven miles from Prospect, on a plateau of the basalt Cascade Mountains, at an elevation of 5000 feet. Due to its geological formation, the area was always considered to be devoid of gold and other metals. C. W. West, of Portland, Oregon, decided to test ground that others ridiculed him over wanting to test, and made a rich find in virgin ground, carrying large and coarse gold nuggets. West has 56 of the claims that were filed.
Robert Pepper and his brother are testing the mouth of China Creek on the South Fork of the Coquille River, for gold. The property is owned by the Coos Bay Lumber Company, and a deal to lease a portion of the ground near the Gant place is being worked out after favorable test results.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, April 15, 1931
The South Umpqua Mining Company announces reopening of the Banfield gold-copper mine in Douglas County, Oregon, four miles south of Drew. The Banfield and several other prominent old-time mines in the Trail-Tiller District were discovered by the Umpqua Indians, and developed into production in the late 1890s. Due to isolation and lack of roads to Riddle, 35 miles away, also the nearest shipping point, mining in the district has been unsuccessful. However the recent completion of the Trail-Tiller cutoff road from the Pacific Highway is helping the resumption of mining in the district.
Count George Hay DuBarry has purchased control of the Empire Mining and Development Company, which controls the Mule Mountain and Keystone groups of 21 mining claims in Curry County, Oregon. The main office of the company will be at Gold Beach, where DuBarry will spend most of his time. Paul G. Bischoff, metallurgical engineer, will be resident engineer on the project. The mine machinery at Keystone is to be repaired, along with the construction of an assay office, and the mill is to be reconditioned and enlarged so as to handle about 100 tons of ore per day. Company employees have blasted large rocks in the Rogue River, which has rendered the river more navigable from Gold Beach.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, June 30, 1931
Black sand deposits containing placer platinum and gold, adjacent to Wedderburn and Gold Beach, Oregon, are soon to be processed now that a suitable recovery has been made by experimentation on the deposits. The four concentration units will be installed on Macleay Beach.
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, November 30, 1931
A Gold Rush
A "gold rush" is planned for Jackson County. It is to be a project to supply jobs to the jobless.
County-owned land near Jacksonville will be worked under expert direction, with the county supplying lumber for "rockers" and a steam shovel for gouging out a channel. Wages or better have been made this autumn and winter by many who have mined in the Jacksonville area. In December $978 in gold dust and nuggets was cashed in one store in Jacksonville.
What about gold, anyhow? What about deposits of gold in the many old mining camps in Oregon mountains and in many districts in which new mines might be opened?
All the world is grasping for gold, clamoring for it and clinging to it whenever possible. There is anxiety in every nation about gold and the gold supply. The gold supply has become so scarce that a dozen nations have abandoned the gold standard.
Who knows what might come of a "gold rush" planned in Jackson County for the unemployed?
Lost so long ago that it came to be regarded as a myth, the famous "lost mine" of Little Applegate was recently found. For more than 60 years it was sought. Hundreds of gold hunters had vainly scoured the district.
When nature created Jackson and Josephine counties they were literally underlain with gold. Rogue River from its source to its mouth was apparently lined with the yellow metal. Hidden deep in the gulches and hillsides are undoubtedly lodes and veins of ore from which time and the elements have strewn free gold through gravel on almost every stream in Josephine and Jackson counties.
Someday the hidden sources of gold that filtered out in the many rich placer diggings in the two counties will be found. Who knows but the "gold rush" of the unemployed may uncover some of them.--Oregon Journal.
"Press Comment," Medford Mail Tribune, January 15, 1932, page 8
Fifteen men are working at the Black Channel Property on Foots Creek, working placer gravels to depth of 20 feet..
The Mining Journal, Phoenix, Arizona, November 15, 1932
Pumping gold out of the Rogue River is an experiment to be tried by Seattle men who are assembling equipment at Almeda. The most modern gold-saving devices will be used, and the plant will be equipped to handle 75 yards of gravel per hour.
"Town Briefs," The Tattler, Medford, July 7, 1933, page 1
STREETS CAVE IN AT JACKSONVILLERogue River Valley farms benefited yesterday by the most substantial soaking in two years, but at Jacksonville "backyard mines" and a portion of California Street crumbled.
MEDFORD, Jan. 26. (Special.)--As the result of backyard mines causing the streets to settle, the Jacksonville city government is contemplating damage action against property owners held responsible for tunneling under the city streets.
Caution signs were placed today around one or two places on [California] Street that were starting to settle. It is feared tunnels underneath may develop holes. Several spots are sagging on Fourth Street, and caution is being taken in traveling over it, Mayor Wesley Hartman said.
The Dave Dorn residence on East [California] Street and his woodshed suffered most from a tunnel cave-in. Thirty-two truckloads of dirt were used to bring his house to a normal position from a dangerous angle. A corner of the Johnson dwelling sank badly. One light pole was a victim of a cave-in.
The city council in an attempt to stop street tunneling learned from the state highway commission that property owners possessed ground halfway across the street.
Oregonian, Portland, January 27, 1935, page 1
Dave Dorn lives on East [California] Street in Jacksonville, Southern Oregon's history-wrapped mining capital of early days. Last week when the walls of Dave's house started to crack he was mildly interested. When the domicile commenced to tip and the woodshed assumed a crazy angle he began to suspect that something might be wrong.
Dave dashed outside, took one look and hollered for help. After 32 truckloads of dirt had been hauled to his lot and tamped down the perpendicular lines of his abode again became what the builder intended them to be.
Dorn was not the only Jacksonville resident who got a big surprise last week, for the pioneer town was literally falling into itself as water from recent heavy rains percolated through the surface and carried the soil into the honeycomb of tunnels which underlies the city.
STREETS DEVELOP DIPSHad the caving-in been confined to back yards, where the phenomenon was most pronounced, little notice would have been taken. But when chunks started to fall out of the streets the council and citizenry in general grew perturbed.
Fourth Street had several dips in it, and signs warning the public were placed on [California] Street, where similar manifestations were indicated. The bottom fell away from light poles, leaving them suspended by the wires on the cross arms.
The Chinese, who burrowed like rabbits under a section of San Francisco, as the earthquake--pardon--fire revealed, also had a part in making Jacksonville porous, according to pioneers. One whole street in the Oregon town has been settling since the '80s, but so gradually that it caused little comment. A tunnel dug by sons of Cathay 30 feet under the surface in their search for gold is held responsible for this settling.
Local historians report that scores of tunnels, some of them crisscrossing, some of them diving under or zooming above when they met a crosscut, underlie Jacksonville. For years small sections of these have been caving in.
GOLD SUN RISINGGold worth millions has been taken out of Jacksonville and nearby districts, and new strikes worth millions more may be made any day. Several concerns are now engaged in large-scale operations with modern equipment.
The most glamorous attractions, however, are the backyard mines manned by a couple of men equipped with pick and shovel, hand windlass and bucket. When hard times hit, dozens of men went to work in an effort to make "ham-and" wages. Then official ukase made gold worth $35 an ounce, and for many of these primitive operators "ham-and" became chicken.
Some backyard diggings are said to produce from an ounce up in dust daily with a few, whose owners maintain the greatest secrecy, reported producing as much as five ounces daily on occasion.
Meanwhile Jacksonville is becoming a big molehill. Sensing the situation, the town council made an effort to stop tunneling under the streets, but was informed that property owners' rights extended halfway across the streets.
Now the council is considering possible damage actions as the result of the cave-ins.
Arthur Jones, "The Week in the Northwest," Oregonian, Portland, February 10, 1935, page B1
"Blizzards Rake Central Oregon," Oregonian, Portland, February 5, 1937, page 2
Gold Fever Rises in Oregon Town: Historic Church May Hide Nuggets
Building Will Be Razed if Sold to Private Interests; More Than $1,000,000 in Ore Still Available.
By United Press.
JACKSONVILLE, Ore., April 3.--The Methodist Church here, built in 1853 and said to be the oldest Protestant church west of the Rocky Mountains, may be razed to make way for another of Jacksonville's "backyard" mines.
During the Depression almost every resident of Jacksonville, the second oldest city in Oregon, sank a shaft in his yard and went into gold mining on a small scale. Some made as high as $500 in a single day working over territory that had been combed 50 years before.
It has been estimated that more than $1,000,000 in gold nuggets rests in the three unexploited spots in Jacksonville--the site of the old church, the old courthouse grounds now abandoned since the county seat moved five miles east to Medford, and California Street, the main thoroughfare.
The county court has rejected hundreds of applications to mine the courthouse grounds, the church had refused mining rights, and the city council had vigorously protested all efforts to mine under California Street, which in 1850 [sic] rang to the boots of miners at one of Oregon's richest gold strikes.
Two rich creek beds run through the town--Daisy and Jackson creeks--carrying placer gold. The church and the courthouse are near these creek beds, but their grounds are as yet unworked and a mystery as far as the yellow metal content is known.
A few years ago, despite the efforts of the city council, amateur miners "drifted" their tunnels under California Street and a large block of paving caved in. Cave-ins over abandoned mines are not uncommon.
If the church is sold to private interests--and the Methodist council has announced it is on the block--the building probably will be razed and several shafts sunk. Residents hope to retain the building as an historic landmark and make a museum of it. It is said gamblers helped to build it.
The Repository, Canton, Ohio, April 4, 1937, page 15
Quartz and granite were quarried steadily during 1949 by the Bristol Silica Company of Rogue River. The output was used for poultry grit and foundry furnace linings.
Reporting on exploratory operations, in this part of the state [director of the state Department of of Geology and Mineral Industries F. W.] Libbey said development work was undertaken in the area of the Gold Hill "pocket," where a lenticular body of molybdenite was uncovered in bulldozing. A nickel deposit at the Shamrock mine in northern Jackson County was explored on the surface and by underground work by the United States Bureau of Mines. The bureau's work at this property was a continuation of work started in 1948 following an investigation by the state Department of of Geology and Mineral Industries. Ore there is said to consist of pyrrhotite carrying nickel, copper and a small quantity of cobalt.
Early in 1949 scheelite was found in the granite area near Ashland. Two shipments of the ore were made to a tungsten concentrating mill in California. Libbey said his department is making an investigation of the area including topographic and geologic mapping designed to obtain a structural pattern of the occurrences in order to assist prospecting.
Oil prospecting was carried on during 1949 in the Harney Valley near Burns, where Weed and Poteet No. 1 was drilled by the United Company of Oregon, a Medford firm, to a depth of 6,480 feet and abandoned. A fire destroyed equipment at this test early in December 1949. Previously the United Company had drilled to a depth of 4,500 feet in Fay No. 1 and suspended drilling in favor of Weed and Poteet No. 1.
Commenting on Oregon's waning gold mining industry, Libbey says there are only a few remnants of what was once the backbone of the state's metal production. He said the decline was caused partly by the ill effects of the war production board order which closed gold operations down without recourse in 1942, and partly by the fixed price of gold in relation to the low value of the dollar measured by what it will buy in labor and supplies.
"Lack of Incentive Chokes Off Production of Metals in State; County Mine Development Cited," Medford Mail Tribune, April 2, 1950, page 17
Explorations Start in Illinois Valley
Cave Junction--Gold, which in the 1800s was mined in the Illinois Valley, may again enter the mining picture here if explorations at historic old Browntown and other portions of the once-rich Althouse area prove successful.
Virgil Peck, president of the Peck Publishing Company, Salt Lake City, Utah, and Barr Smedley, a Utah engineer, have joined with Elwood Hussey, former mayor of Cave Junction, to start a development company in the Illinois Valley.
With gold as their first objective, they have brought in a shovel, truck, compressor drills and pumps to the Browntown location, and exploration work will start as soon as revolving screens are in place.
Medford Mail Tribune, September 6, 1957, page 11
Last revised March 26, 2017